? 07/19 Herman ... +8 32 (1.8mmol) +8.25 130 (7.8), +9 158 (8.8) , +11 337, pmps 328 …won’t eat

Amy & Herman

Member Since 2022
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mps-243-1-410-3-387-4-389-5-279-6-380.265858/

Adjusted dose to 2u sunday pm, feels like today it is kicking in.

I have been over-zealous with low numbers in the past (nervous mama gets panicky and whips out the temptations! which I know is wrong!) so I am trying to keep calm and see where this takes him. I feel like he tends to Nadir very late in the cycle (+9) - is that really unusual or still within a "norm"? If he stay on tht trajectory there is a chance he goes too low today given his +4 reading.

He is normally outside this time of day and I can usually count on him to visit me at my work desk frequently enough to runs tests throughout the day but as of +4 I have him locked in with me so I can keep testing without worry that he may not come in at his usual times. Is hourly sufficient or should I start doing half hour chekcs? Trying not to anger him either, I do think stress affects his numbers and not getting his way (locked inside) and extra pokes might have that affect.

Given Herman's data and previous bounces earlier in the month, at what number would I want to "intervene" with medium carb food (ie a FF gravy).

THanks from AMy and HErman
 
I just tested again at its 8.7 mmol (156?) I use mmol so I just timesed it by 18 as I can’t access SS on my phone to see its conversion) so hope that’s right
 
Can you get a second test and see if that was a faulty strip? That was quite a drop in 30 mins late in the cycle.
Yikes this the second time I’ve had potentially a faulty stick at a low number…on the day I was stressed it was heading low. Coincidence? Could the corn syrup bump him up that fast?
 
I can imagine. Next time you get a test that looks wrong, get another one. He has had a gentle curve this morning and that sudden dive of 80 points in 30 mins looked improbable.
Yes _ i must do that instead of my knee jerk panic of grab the syrup and temptations. Almost 2 hours later and I am still shaking I really look forward to getting to the point where I can trust the data and understand when to take a step back vs act immediately.
 
I can imagine. Next time you get a test that looks wrong, get another one. He has had a gentle curve this morning and that sudden dive of 80 points in 30 mins looked improbable.
He went up but then dropped again. Testing again in a minute but wanted to update this thread.
 
It's pretty strange. For the numbers to bob up and down like that. Just wanted to confirm that you are using a regular meter and not a Libre?

Btw, you don't need to feed higher carbs unless he drops below 50/2.8 - especially later in the cycle.

@tiffmaxee
 
So it looks like Herman did indeed get low today. I have a hard time with all the conversions since I measure mmol and I need to convert each but the run down is this. I will post then repost with all US numbers but just wanted to get this out there as i really need help!!!!!!!!!
:
At +5 he got a 2.2...I panicked, gave corn syrup and gravy, tested a few more times in next 5 minutes and it was 8.7 then 8 (note these are still very low compared to his usual - see world tab on SS)
At +6 9.5
At +7 3.9, tested again got 5.1, gave FF gravy then 10 min later got bg 7
At +8 1.8, he was very lethargic so I immediately gave Corn syrup because I thought how could I possibly get two bad strips in one day so wanted to act fast as 1.8 sent me for a tailspin. 5 min later he was 7.8 and stayed around there for next few checks over 20 minutes.
At +9 he is 8.8
I will be checking bg again shortly. Today's numbers terrified me. Could I be getting that many faulty tests? Or is he maybe truly diving and bouncing up with corn syrup? Is it possible? And as such....shall I reduce him tonight? I feel like should because I got a 2.2, 3.9, and a 1.8 at some point today...surely they couldn't all have been bad strips?

Herman is not himself but that could be because I've tested him so many times today.

I am so scared of what this pm dose will do to him - not he gets his next shot in 2.5 hours (430pm)

I hope someone can review his chart and help me. I'm very scared.
 
REPOSTING PREVIOUS POST INCLUDING CONVERTED NUMBERS
So it looks like Herman did indeed get low today. I have a hard time with all the conversions since I measure mmol and I need to convert each but the run down is this. I will post then repost with all US numbers but just wanted to get this out there as i really need help!!!!!!!!!
:
At +5 he got a 39 2.2...I panicked, gave corn syrup and gravy, tested a few more times in next 5 minutes and it was 156 (8.7) then 144 (8) (note these are still very low compared to his usual - see world tab on SS)
At +6 171 (9.5)
At +7 70.2 (3.9), tested again got 91 (5.1), gave FF gravy then 10 min later got bg 126 (7)
At +8 32 (1.8), he was very lethargic so I immediately gave Corn syrup because I thought how could I possibly get two bad strips in one day so wanted to act fast as 1.8 sent me for a tailspin. 5 min later he was 140 (7.8) and stayed around there for next few checks over 20 minutes.
At +9 he is 158 (8.8)
At +10 he is 273 (15.2, I will note I took two tests immediately back to back and the first one was 14 - I guess there is some margin of play there to be expected)

I will be checking bg again shortly. Today's numbers terrified me. Could I be getting that many faulty tests? Or is he maybe truly diving and bouncing up with corn syrup? Is it possible? And as such....shall I reduce him tonight? I feel like should because I got a 39 (2.2), 70.2 (3.9), and a 32 (1.8) at some point today...surely they couldn't all have been bad strips?

Herman is not himself but that could be because I've tested him so many times today.

I am so scared of what this pm dose will do to him - not he gets his next shot in 2.5 hours (430pm)

I hope someone can review his chart and help me. I'm very scared.
 
Last edited:
Hi Amy, I'll tag a couple of others for their inputs. His numbers going up and down like this is really odd. Of course, when you feed higher carbs, there is always a possibility that the numbers will dip after the carbs wear off. But you're seeing a huge variance in numbers within 5 mins of each other.

You could take a reduction tonight to be on the safe side. See what the others say.

@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
 
I should add that at 230pm +10 he had very significant diarrhea which is not normal for him. An after affect of low numbers that are foreign to him perhaps?
 
These huge humid snd falls are not at all common. Wondering if too much blood or not enough on the strips or meter is faulty? Syrup acts quickly and leaves quickly but you are giving with food which takes 20-30 to effect BG. Just in case I’d reduce.
 
These huge humid snd falls are not at all common. Wondering if too much blood or not enough on the strips or meter is faulty? Syrup acts quickly and leaves quickly but you are giving with food which takes 20-30 to effect BG. Just in case I’d reduce.
I did have a bit of trouble getting enough blood a couple times today I was also extremely nervous and my hands are shaking and maybe my hands were a bit sweaty I guess everything could have an impact …. I just opened a new glucometer and a new pack of testing sticks although I go through them so quickly that I’m sure mine weren’t old or bad or anything like that and I’ll use the new metre throughout the evening I’m thinking I should reduce the dose down to 1.75?
 
I agree with Bhooma, take the reduction for now and see how it goes. I'd rather see him a little higher as a result than dive down to the 30's because the tests were right and you didn't reduce. FYI - there are much better options than Temptations to get him up. Do you have high carb wet food on hand? Also when you say you gave syrup, how much did you give? You don't need much.

As for later nadirs, that is quite common if the bounce is breaking. Neko by nature liked to nadir later in the cycle, some cats just do.
 
I agree with Bhooma, take the reduction for now and see how it goes. I'd rather see him a little higher as a result than dive down to the 30's because the tests were right and you didn't reduce. FYI - there are much better options than Temptations to get him up. Do you have high carb wet food on hand? Also when you say you gave syrup, how much did you give? You don't need much.

As for later nadirs, that is quite common if the bounce is breaking. Neko by nature liked to nadir later in the cycle, some cats just do.
I know I shouldn’t give him temptations in those few panicked moments it’s the thing I know he’ll eat but I really gotta start controlling my fear as far as the syrup goes he got a couple dabs on his gums no real significant amount….
 
Hello Amy. I've been reading through your thread. It's natural to be scared when you first get blues... but especially greens. I remember when my Darcy first went to a green, I panicked and gave him an entire can of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast. I never thought about not needing to fill him up, of course. I thought... if a little is good then more is better. At that time, of course, I wasn't even on this Board yet.

But ANYWAY... I wanted to share with you this handy dandy BG conversion chart between the US and World numbers. I don't "do" world numbers very well since we use the US convention here, but this chart helps me when I am at my computer and can look at it to see how to help someone whose cat is dropping low. By the way, when you get a chance, can you manually input the correct numbers/colors on the US sheet where it says #VALUE. It's so hard to go to a spreadsheet and look and try to see what's happening only to see that #VALUE thing.

Here's the chart. I hope it will help :-)
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/attachments/bg-conversion-chart-xlsx.64353/
 
It’s now 15 minutes past usual shot time. he threw up hairball 15 minutes ago and is not interested in food at the moment which is not at all like him. I will wait until he perks up and eats before giving a reduced dose of 1.75 from 2. Is there a length of time one can stall to before you just skip the dose? Hope I’m doing the right thing.
 
Hello Amy. I've been reading through your thread. It's natural to be scared when you first get blues... but especially greens. I remember when my Darcy first went to a green, I panicked and gave him an entire can of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Beef Feast. I never thought about not needing to fill him up, of course. I thought... if a little is good then more is better. At that time, of course, I wasn't even on this Board yet.

But ANYWAY... I wanted to share with you this handy dandy BG conversion chart between the US and World numbers. I don't "do" world numbers very well since we use the US convention here, but this chart helps me when I am at my computer and can look at it to see how to help someone whose cat is dropping low. By the way, when you get a chance, can you manually input the correct numbers/colors on the US sheet where it says #VALUE. It's so hard to go to a spreadsheet and look and try to see what's happening only to see that #VALUE thing.

Here's the chart. I hope it will help :)
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/attachments/bg-conversion-chart-xlsx.64353/
Thank you yes I will. I added “notes” to the us sheet but will fill in the rest. It’s always when you are in a stressful moment that things like that seem more difficult than they are!
 
Thank you yes I will. I added “notes” to the us sheet but will fill in the rest. It’s always when you are in a stressful moment that things like that seem more difficult than they are!
Could you read the link/chart? It's just easier than always multiplying by 18! Or in your case... dividing by 18 :-)
 
Back
Top