07/18 Mister AMPS 127, +1 114, +2 74, +3 81, +9 181

Elizabeth & Mister

Member Since 2026
07/16 Mister AMPS 74, +1 67, +2 46, +2.5 53, +3 79, +5 78, +7 71, +10 117, PMPS 93, +1.5 108, +2 76, +3 71, +4 82, +5 106

I expected a bounce from the drops he had both cycles on 7/16 (a lime during AMPS and a fast hard drop at PMPS), but I was hoping it wouldn't be as bad as it was. He hadn't seen a pink number in awhile. But I was able to give his ears a break, and get some things done myself. Took my dogs out again, got their nails trimmed and pup cups from our local ice cream stand. I got to spend a good amount of time with my aunt and uncle while they were here too, so that was nice. Last night was also the first night since his dx that I was in bed before midnight. I did mean to wake up to give him a snack like he's used to getting, but I forgot to set my alarm. I wasn't as anxious about it since his drops were steady last night, and thankfully I was right, he kept it steady until AMPS.

Since he seems to be breaking the bounce I did add some HC to his breakfast this morning. When he had his lime, he refused to eat. His belly was full. Then later during his PMPS, he refused to eat when I was trying to slow his drop. That was a stressful time, his numbers were going down at a rate of 1 per minute and no food I had on hand interested him. I've realized I'm not going to be able to feed him as much at breakfast as I have been if I'm going to be feeding him at +1 and +2. I've wanted to keep his meals consistent, but that's been hard to do so far. Hopefully once this new dose evens out, it'll be easier. Paws crossed. I also have some new back up options. He loves fish and even though I don't use it in his diet often, I got some for emergencies. I can't see him turning down a MC tuna feast.

Would something like FortiFlora be worth having on hand to try to entice him to eat in times like that? I'm certain it's just been from his belly being full and possibly getting tired of certain foods, but it was a scary feeling and I want to be prepared for situations where he may have no appetite. So far we've been so blessed in that he's always been a good eater and very food motivated. Or anything else I could get that would help?

Maybe I'll take this time to ask about supplements too. I've been doing some reading and I know each cat has different needs for different things, and he eats "complete meals" but he doesn't get any added supplements, vitamins, anything like that. For a diabetic cat, are there any that are recommended and safe to give every day/regularly? I've heard about B12, fish oil (omega 3), but it's hard to know what would benefit Mister and what would just be an unnessary step in our routine. He does get powdered egg yolk for his coat/hairballs. He stopped eating the food I put S. Boulardii in. Even in the smallest amounts he would refuse it or even throw it up. So he's no longer on any time of pre/pro-biotic either.

I hope everyone enjoys their Saturday. I'm hoping I can sit down and catch up with everyone today, I've been away from the forum more this week. I think about all the cats here every day, check in on SS's, but I feel so out of the loop! Give them all head scratches and nose boops from me. Safe surfing little ones. 💞🏄‍♀️🏄‍♂️
 
Last edited:
Mister photo tax. He's been very stir crazy from being locked out of the catio during the air quality alert in our area. It went down this morning so I let him out for a little bit, but I'm an overprotective mom so it'll probably only be for short periods at a time today.

tempImageH7LJ9h.jpg
 
Just a quick note before I head out to the 🐘s.

You don’t have to feed him equal portions of his food. For early, fast droppers, we also suggest maybe a higher LC food (8-10%) and feed him, for example, a larger portion of it at PS and +1 and then smaller portions at +2 and +3 so he gets the overall same total of food but just spread out differently (really front loading). I know you are feeding a larger portion amount at PS but not really spreading out his total food from PS to +3 from what I can tell.

I’m not a fan of Forti Flora because of the ingredients. If you want a really good probiotic, Visbiome Vet is excellent but I don’t know if it will entice him to eat. I know Livia really loves it in her supplement slurry she gets.

Have a great day!
 
@Marje and Gracie what do you make of his numbers lately considering the amounts of HC/MC I give him? Obviously he earned his reduction on the 16th. And this is his 4th cycle on new dose. Is this normal for a bounce break? Is it dose related? I'm trying so hard to slow these drops, keep things consistent, not feed to prevent reductions, but I'm struggling with all of those things and no amount of LC is cutting it. I don't want to have to keep feeding him MC/HC/gravy every time to keep him steady, and still he drops quickly. Or am I looking too close, missing something, maybe his drops aren't as bad as I think today? I just want to prevent these bounces and keep him on on a consistent LC diet only needing higher carbs when his numbers are starting to get too low/dropping fast but that seems to be all the time.
 
Just a quick note before I head out to the 🐘s.

You don’t have to feed him equal portions of his food. For early, fast droppers, we also suggest maybe a higher LC food (8-10%) and feed him, for example, a larger portion of it at PS and +1 and then smaller portions at +2 and +3 so he gets the overall same total of food but just spread out differently (really front loading). I know you are feeding a larger portion amount at PS but not really spreading out his total food from PS to +3 from what I can tell.

I’m not a fan of Forti Flora because of the ingredients. If you want a really good probiotic, Visbiome Vet is excellent but I don’t know if it will entice him to eat. I know Livia really loves it in her supplement slurry she gets.

Have a great day!
I wrote my message to you before I saw your response😆

My issue lately though is that those larger portions at PS make his belly full and he isn't interested in eating at +1, at least that's been what's happening recently. I've given him 3/4 a can at breakfast (hence adding the HC since I fed a less amount total weight) and so far today he seems to be eating fine at +1 and +2. And LC options don't do much to slow him down, he was given 3% with 3 tsp. of 20% at breakfast, MC/HC at +1 and he is still at 74 at +3. A good number, but it's the drops/bounces I worry about. Again, maybe I'm too close, maybe this isn't a bad drop (-34% variance). It's hard to say when he's been so up and down and I get used to doing things a certain way.

Enjoy your day with the elephants! I'll catch up with you whenever you have time❤️🐘

ETA I'm going to send you a direct message with some more in depth questions I have, I don't want things to get buried in here, and also want to spend a little more time going over what you said. I do now have some 8-12% carb options I can start using. I've just not had experience trying that before and only can see him still dropping after using HC, so I assumed it would not be enough but I see what you mean now by spreading out the overall total of food. No rush at all to when you can get back to me, I appreciate your help so much.
 
Last edited:
Yes, toppers are great to have on hand when they don't have interest in food. There've been times for us when it's dinner and shot time and Jude just isn't into eating, and the toppers really help. Jude likes FortiFlora as a topper; we don't use it as a probiotic; instead, we use NOW Probiotic Defense. We have used Visbiome, and will likely go back to it, but I like to switch up the probiotics occasionally. NOW Probiotic Defense is recommended on this link, that I found on our forum. Visbiome is super pricey, and with five cats, I needed to find something a bit less expensive for all of them. A couple of other toppers most of mine like are INACTIVE Nutritional Yeast (we use Bragg's) and Stella and Chewy's Marie's Magical Dinner Dust.

Mister's numbers are looking really nice today! Keep it up, little guy!!
 
Yes, toppers are great to have on hand when they don't have interest in food. There've been times for us when it's dinner and shot time and Jude just isn't into eating, and the toppers really help. Jude likes FortiFlora as a topper; we don't use it as a probiotic; instead, we use NOW Probiotic Defense. We have used Visbiome, and will likely go back to it, but I like to switch up the probiotics occasionally. NOW Probiotic Defense is recommended on this link, that I found on our forum. Visbiome is super pricey, and with five cats, I needed to find something a bit less expensive for all of them. A couple of other toppers most of mine like are INACTIVE Nutritional Yeast (we use Bragg's) and Stella and Chewy's Marie's Magical Dinner Dust.

Mister's numbers are looking really nice today! Keep it up, little guy!!
Thank you so much! This is so helpful. I use FlortiFlora for one of my dogs when she’s being picky (which is every other day, if I told you guys the way I have to meal prep for her you would really think I’m crazy. It’s a good thing I haven’t had to get a pet sitter in the past, her instructions would be a page long in itself 😆) so I wondered if the one for cats might work for Mister. I’ve also seen Dinner Dust mentioned several times on here, i actually mistakenly thought that this was the “dust” left over from bags of freeze dried chicken - how funny lol. Bookmarking this, thank you!!

He was doing sooo well, until I just got a +9 and it was 180😭 I wonder if I just have a bouncy cat, or if that drop @+2 was enough to do it.
 
I’m so happy he broke his bounce!! Hope you’ve been doing well Elizabeth! 💜
Thank you sweet friend:bighug: I'm doing ok! I hope you are having a great weekend. Khloe has a nice surf going today yay!

He did and now I think he's bouncing AGAIN. I've got a running list of questions coming because I feel there's more I can be doing, something I'm missing. I know I could have left off that MC at +1.5 and let him come down some more, but the drop from 114 to 75 didn't feel all that drastic to me. He's had much steeper/faster ones. Maybe he is just that sensitive. Or that bouncy. 😞
 
Thank you sweet friend:bighug: I'm doing ok! I hope you are having a great weekend. Khloe has a nice surf going today yay!

He did and now I think he's bouncing AGAIN. I've got a running list of questions coming because I feel there's more I can be doing, something I'm missing. I know I could have left off that MC at +1.5 and let him come down some more, but the drop from 114 to 75 didn't feel all that drastic to me. He's had much steeper/faster ones. Maybe he is just that sensitive. Or that bouncy. 😞
Maybe it's a reaction from todays lows as he was so high yesterday? Either way, I feel for you. The bounces are so awful to deal with, I wouldn't wish them on my worst enemy.
 
Xander is a notoriously difficult eater and our #1 issue. In regards to your dog's meal prep, I would NOT think you're crazy because of how insane Xander's eating routine is 🫢I've had a few instances where I needed him to eat to keep him steady and he would refuse to eat.

Fortiflora or other low carb topper would absolutely be a great idea if it works. I use freeze dried chicken topper quite often, and he absolutely loves sprinkles of freeze dried chicken liver when I can't get him to eat great.
 
Maybe it's a reaction from todays lows as he was so high yesterday? Either way, I feel for you. The bounces are so awful to deal with, I wouldn't wish them on my worst enemy.
That could be too, didn’t think of that. I know his body sure did get used to being in such high numbers up until recently. I’m fairly certain he had diabetes for awhile before I caught it, unfortunately. That would also make sense.

I think my patience pants are coming apart at the seams.
 
Xander is a notoriously difficult eater and our #1 issue. In regards to your dog's meal prep, I would NOT think you're crazy because of how insane Xander's eating routine is 🫢I've had a few instances where I needed him to eat to keep him steady and he would refuse to eat.

Fortiflora or other low carb topper would absolutely be a great idea if it works. I use freeze dried chicken topper quite often, and he absolutely loves sprinkles of freeze dried chicken liver when I can't get him to eat great.
This is part of why I love this community so much, I feel so seen! Thank you Albert.

I just got some freeze dried chicken graciously gifted to us and he LOVES it, so I may also go that route first. And grab some toppers on hand for back up. I appreciate your help!
 
I’m fairly certain he had diabetes for awhile before I caught it, unfortunately.
Don't feel bad, I think the same thing with Khlo, thinking back I was complaining about the litter sticking to the box for a long time that I now realize was sticky pee.
I know it's frustrating to wait it out, those greens are addictive! Mister, same terms & conditions I gave Moonie!

I just got some freeze dried chicken graciously gifted to us and he LOVES it
Just a thought, when I first gave Khloe freeze dried chicken, she refused food for a few days after unless I put the dust on it. I personally had to stop giving it to her so she'd eat plain food again. Idk how long he's been eating it but maybe Mister is pulling the same strike with you?
 
I think the consensus around here is that fortiflora isn't great as a probiotic but a lot of cats like the taste of it, so if Mister likes it, might be worth a shot!

Edit: I see Mary had it covered :)
 
@Marje and Gracie what do you make of his numbers lately considering the amounts of HC/MC I give him? Obviously he earned his reduction on the 16th. And this is his 4th cycle on new dose. Is this normal for a bounce break? Is it dose related? I'm trying so hard to slow these drops, keep things consistent, not feed to prevent reductions, but I'm struggling with all of those things and no amount of LC is cutting it. I don't want to have to keep feeding him MC/HC/gravy every time to keep him steady, and still he drops quickly. Or am I looking too close, missing something, maybe his drops aren't as bad as I think today? I just want to prevent these bounces and keep him on on a consistent LC diet only needing higher carbs when his numbers are starting to get too low/dropping fast but that seems to be all the time.
A fast drop is really one that is coming down at about 50 mg/dL an hour. He’s had some cycles almost like that but mostly not.

He’s cleared the bounce and come into the 80s. That’s not bad but if you want him to drop lower, you might have to take the dose back up. I’d see what he does tonight and see how low he gets or if he bounces again.

Bouncing frustrates everyone. I tried everything and couldn’t keep Gracie from bouncing at times. I had to get really aggressive with dosing and also using R arrest the bouncing by stopping it as it got started. But my point is, try not to stress about the bouncing and just keep experimenting with different feeding times and amounts to see if you can front load and slow him down without using a lot of MC/HC. It’s tough when a cat is not at all carb sensitive.


I wrote my message to you before I saw your response😆

My issue lately though is that those larger portions at PS make his belly full and he isn't interested in eating at +1, at least that's been what's happening recently. I've given him 3/4 a can at breakfast (hence adding the HC since I fed a less amount total weight) and so far today he seems to be eating fine at +1 and +2. And LC options don't do much to slow him down, he was given 3% with 3 tsp. of 20% at breakfast, MC/HC at +1 and he is still at 74 at +3. A good number, but it's the drops/bounces I worry about. Again, maybe I'm too close, maybe this isn't a bad drop (-34% variance). It's hard to say when he's been so up and down and I get used to doing things a certain way.

Enjoy your day with the elephants! I'll catch up with you whenever you have time❤️🐘

ETA I'm going to send you a direct message with some more in depth questions I have, I don't want things to get buried in here, and also want to spend a little more time going over what you said. I do now have some 8-12% carb options I can start using. I've just not had experience trying that before and only can see him still dropping after using HC, so I assumed it would not be enough but I see what you mean now by spreading out the overall total of food. No rush at all to when you can get back to me, I appreciate your help so much.
From what I could see on his SS, you’ve been feeding reactively instead of consistently. That’s not a criticism, just an observation.

You know how much he should eat in a cycle so use that amount and give him four mini meals religiously at PS, +1, +2, +3. And when I say feed him more at PS, that doesn’t mean the majority of what he gets for the cycle. As an example, let’s say he gets 2 oz of food per cycle. Maybe you give him .6 oz at PS and +1 and then .4 oz at +2 and +3. You can use different %carbs if you need to but if you can find a 10% food & front load similar to that, maybe it will help.

I didn’t get a PM from you. But you can ask questions here so others can learn.

I’ve used FD chicken dust and also grated Parmesan cheese as toppers. Tobey 💔💔 loved both.
 
Back
Top