? 07/18 Baby G 7.25 92!! AMPS 247 leftover action gone now?

babyg

Member Since 2019
Not sure how to put previous thread here using my phone. I can add it on in the morning when I'm on my computer.
She might have had a little pancreatitis flare last night because she had a little diarrhea and sat mostly in a meatloaf position and just seemed like she wasn't feeling great. She hasn't been eating or drinking as much as usual.
So now she is at 164.
At first I was happy to start seeing blues again but now that it's Monday I'm starting to freak out over them. I can check her on lunch time, probably thinking hour 4 or 5 would be best, but I just feel uncomfortable overall. :nailbiting:
Edited to add: a short while after I posted this, she went and ate and drank, so that's good.
 
Last edited:
My thing is, if her clinical signs are good and haven't really changed since being in lower numbers, and apparently her organs are fine after years of being in the 200s/300s, is getting "better" numbers even worth it for us? What is the point? I'm just getting stressed and feel like it's playing around risking a hypo. Starting to question this dose and my end goal here...
 
Oh RJ, you are seeing beautiful blues, not even close to hypo (under 50), i think you are on a very good dose for this moment. Its not only Baby G that needs to get used to lower values, it is you as well, give yourself a bit more time :bighug:
High BG values are bad from a long term standpoint, you do not want to have them in the 200/300s because it is above renal threshold, the fact that she is ok now doesn’t mean that her body won’t start crumbling if you let her linger in those higher values. My point is, i believe your current goal is correct and you are being as safe as one can be :bighug:
 
Thanks. I'm trying to not overreact, but she's still dropping. I don't see how I can give her this same dose tomorrow morning and then go to work without worrying to death about her. Even if I come home for lunch to check her, if I see numbers like I'm seeing now, it's not going to make me feel better when I have to return back to work; if anything, I'll be even more worried. I can't believe the difference basically just one extra drop can make; I can see now why you guys do the quarter units.
 
I'm reducing her dose. She's now 92. This is just not for me at all. I'd rather have a cat that needs shots than no cat at all. Trying to get her to eat to bring her numbers back in. Gonna give her some temptations too. This is affecting my work as well...I havent slept. Can't live on the edge like this day after day after day.
 
She ate some food plus treats about an hour ago. Tested her now and she's 122. But after test what did she do...Just puked. Not sure what dose I'm giving her in the morning, if anything at all. I'll see what her preshot is.
 
Sensor has her at 232. I'll check her ear as we get closer to shot time, which will be in a bit. I worry a quarter reduction back to 3.5 might still not be enough. Won't there still be some depot action at work from the 3.75? Thinking 3.25 or 3 may be safer this morning? to allow for the leftover 3.75, until I talk with vet today and figure out what we're doing this evening.
 
Thanks, I appreciate it. Her shot is around 7 CST and I leave for work shortly thereafter so have to decide soon. :(
She's also not looking to eat any breakfast, so that makes me nervous.
 
She is eating now after having diarrhea with a little blood in it. Thinking the pancreatitis could have gotten irritated again from stress or/and treats.
 
I'm reducing her dose. She's now 92. This is just not for me at all. I'd rather have a cat that needs shots than no cat at all. Trying to get her to eat to bring her numbers back in. Gonna give her some temptations too. This is affecting my work as well...I havent slept. Can't live on the edge like this day after day after day.
I understand your stress and the fact that it is affecting your life as well, we all have been thru the same, some in a more intense manner some with more or less help, trust me there is no judgment here, whatever you will decide is best for you two will be respected. In order for us to care for them we have to care for us as well :bighug:

Just wanted to add that there was no imminent danger to Baby G tonight, she was all the way in very safe numbers, this was an active cycle and a nice one :cat:
 
Thank you, I really appreciate your kind words. I'm truly trying to help my cat the best I can. This has been really hard.
 
I guess I'll give her 3 to be cautious, though I don't like that it'll probably make her high later. Seem darned if I do, darned if I don't. But can't wait much longer. :(
 
I’m sorry you are so stressed about it all.
Just seeing the tag.
With DKA in the past I wouldn’t skip doses if I were you unless she was too low to shoot.
Do you have an auto feeder for her to meat out of when you are at work? Can you test during the day at all?
Are you at AMPS now?
 
I’m sorry you are so stressed about it all.
Just seeing the tag.
With DKA in the past I wouldn’t skip doses if I were you unless she was too low to shoot.
Do you have an auto feeder for her to meat out of when you are at work? Can you test during the day at all?
Are you at AMPS now?
No auto feeder. Food is left out all the time. Can check on her at lunch but that's only for 15 minutes. Wont be back until about 5 pm.
 
She should have gotten her shot at 7. It's now 718. Now I dont feel comfortable giving the 3.... 2.5? Why is she still dropping. I'm going to be late to work.
 
What dose would you be comfortable giving? The first half of the cycle wil be influenced by the previous cycle no matter what dose you give. pis she eating well.?
 
I think 3 is the max I'd feel comfortable at, but even then i dont know because that dose gave her some blues before. 2.5 doesnt give blues but i worry thatd be too much of a decrease. If I do 3, do you think that will be safe enough?
 
Sorry I was adjusting the dose in the syringe. It looked a little off and I'm a perfectionist. Shes eating ok I guess. I think her tummys bothering her though. Maybe 2.75? I'm thinking either 3 or 2.75.
 
I figure too shes getting a reduction of sorts as it is, considering she's a half hr late
 
Well I survived another day and thankfully didn't get fired...yet. Will try to make up my time tomorrow. I've been so fortunate they've put up with my being late or taking time off because of the cat situation, but I don't want to keep pushing it. Normally I am an extremely punctual person who never calls off.

So I've decided the 3.75 isn't for me. There's no way possible I can give her that again and go to sleep or go to work without losing my mind with worry. That 92 was so close to a 90, I'd personally consider it a reduction if I were looking at it from an SLGS perspective, but that's just me.
The local vet really disliked the 92 and said it was a good call to give the 3 and to keep her on the 3 for now. However, I was looking at her spreadsheet and think she was getting decent results with the 3.5 and am hesitant to go back to the 3. She had a brief dip in the blues once (maybe more that I didn't catch), but for the most part the 3.5 kept her in low to mid 200s, with an occasional high 200 or low/mid 300 for a preshot. Other than an occasional pancreatic flare, she's been eating good, drinking good, gaining and maintaining weight, and her coat looks good, so I'm going to be content and call it a day. Her numbers on the 3.5 were better than the numbers she had for the last 3-ish years since she first got regulated.

A couple extra things the local vet said that I disagree with are 1) she mentioned possibly switching her insulin, which I absolutely will not; I think Lantus is the best for her, and 2) the vet suggested maybe does she have a tumor on her pancreas to cause that drop to the 92 and for her numbers to be so weird? and did I get an ultrasound done? and I was like, yeah I did o_O They should have the results there. These vets really.... :facepalm: I don't think there's a tumor or anything weird to what happened last night. The dose was just too much, period, at least imo.

I really really appreciate all your guys' advice and trying to help us. :bighug: I know you guys liked the 3.75 a lot and I know you all love cats and want only the best for Baby G, but I personally feel extremely uncomfortable with the 3.75 and am going to go with the 3.5 (or a 3 if she doesn't eat well). The thing I don't like, though, about the 3.5 is that it's so close to the 3.75, just one drop away. :eek:

Do you guys at least think whatever leftover action from the 3.75 should be gone now, so I can give her the 3.5 tonight without worry of interference?
 
Well, guess it'll be 3 units for the next 3 or 4 days unless she's consistently over 280 for her preshot. Teaching hospital vet wants to see that dose again, and then if that's no good, put her back to the 3.5.
At least this time she didn't yell at me over anything; she was in a better mood lol. Never had a vet with a bedside manner like hers. I think she was really in awe of the FDMB spreadsheet, lol.
 
Yes, I agree the reduction should be 3.5. :) I personally think they want to see the 3 again just to be extra certain, since the 3.5 is so close to the 3.75 and vets aren't familiar or comfortable with the concept of measuring quarter units. They probably also are allowing for room in case she's bouncing from the lows she had the other day, and that could cloud the efficacy of the 3. The rate she's going, though, I think she'll be back on the 3.5 sooner than the 3-4 days because she keeps testing high, which doesn't surprise me at all, and they said I could raise her sooner if so. Pretty sure the 3.5 is her dose. :cat:
 
apparently her organs are fine after years of being in the 200s/300s,
I'm trying to catch up on a couple of your last posts. At this point, her bloodwork seems to indicate that her organs are doing well, but couldn't there possible be a "tipping point?" It is worth trying to at least keep her in blue numbers as much as possible.
 
Back
Top