07/18/11 Znr PMPS 163;;2 110;;4 97;5 182;6 177;11 203 ATk

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's Condo 7/17/11

Yesterday's summary
7-17-11 Alpha Trak 20th cycle at 1.75
AMPS 275 - 20th cycle at 1.75 u
+6 287
+11 315
PMPS 314 - 21st cycle at 1.75 u
+2 252
+3 232

07/18/11 Alpha Trak 22 cycle at 1.75 u
AMPS 324

I am hoping this may mean he is settling in to the 1.75 dose!

Zener ate much better this morning. Still have not gotten him back into the litter box doing all the things advised, including Dr Elsey's clumping attract litter, Feliway, making the boxes even more accessible, and so on. Next to try, completely new boxes and those should arrive this week. The good news is he is using piddle/pee pads placed in the tops of plastic storage bins that work like trays so we aren't cleaning carpet at 3 am! And we can get fresh urine tests for ketones when he urinates on the plastic trays.

Hope everyone has smooth sailing this Monday!
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 07/17/11 Zener AMPS 324; +6 182 ATrak

Here's the midday report:

07/18/11 Alpha Trak 22 cycle at 1.75 u
AMPS 324
+6 182

He's eating freeze dried chicken as a post-poke treat and napping. Had a little playtime this morning and that was good to see!
 
Re: 07/17/11 Zener AMPS 324; +6 182 ATrak

Hi Zener!

I just looked at your SS and boy you are one bouncy kitty! I don't have enough experience in this but I wonder if it's time for an increase. You've been at this dose for awhile so Zener might need some extra juice. Hope someone can pop in and guide you better than I can.

Bonnie
 
Re: 07/17/11 Zener AMPS 324; +6 182 ATrak

MauiGuppy said:
Hi Zener!

I just looked at your SS and boy you are one bouncy kitty! I don't have enough experience in this but I wonder if it's time for an increase. You've been at this dose for awhile so Zener might need some extra juice. Hope someone can pop in and guide you better than I can.

Hi Bonnie, thanks for visiting. He is bouncier (is that a word?) than a superball and it has been driving us crazy. It seems like there is nothing predictable about him. He was born with cerebellar hypoplasia and has always been special, so I guess his FD will be no different! We had our first run with low numbers recently and now he seems to be getting a little bit more stable so perhaps a dose increase is in the near future and I will defer to what the experts say. Sienne, Libby and Jill have been helping me with figuring out my big guy. I'll put dose question in the header when I post his PMPS and ask about that. Thanks for stopping in!
 
Re: 07/18/11 Zener AMPS 324; +6 182 ATrak Dose Increase Ques

Oh good grief, I've had the wrong date in the subject line all day! It must be Monday...
:dizcat
 
Re: 07/18/11 Zener AMPS 324; +6 182;11.5 97 HELP Shoot? ATr

Well good grief, here we go again:
07/18/11 Alpha Trak 22 cycle at 1.75 u
AMPS 324
+6 182
+11.5 97

I'm thinking this is too low to shoot. I know my choices are no shot, give reduced dose or stall. We need to get him on a schedule that will work better with our work schedules so I'd prefer not to stall, if something else is safe. Could we check again in 30 minutes and consider a reduced dose? And if so, what would be appropriate on 1.75 u?
 
Re: 07/18/11 Zener AMPS 324; +6 182;11.5 97 HELP Shoot? ATr

I don't know that I would shoot a 97 on an AT. I would re-test at +12. Let's go from there.
 
Re: 07/18/11 Zener AMPS 324; +6 182;11.5 97 HELP Shoot? ATr

Okay, we did feed him right after the 11.5 thinking we were going to be shooting, so it may be elevated from the food spike. I'll get the +12 and post in a few minutes.
 
Re: 07/18/11 Zener AMPS 324; +6 182;11.5 97 HELP Shoot? ATr

For my way of thinking, if you test and get a lower than expected number, don't feed -- especially if you're going to post and ask for help. It kind of limits the options or obscures the data.
 
Re: 07/18/11 Zener AMPS 324; +6 182;11.5 97;+12 125 HELP ATr

Yes, I agree with you. We thought we would be shooting and just screwed up. Now @ +12 his BG is 125 and you right, the food obscures what is going on, dang it.
 
Re: 07/18/11 Zener AMPS 324; +6 182;11.5 97;+12 125 HELP ATr

Ordinarily, I'd say stall but I'm not sure that with food on board that will tell us anything and you said you're already off schedule. You could shoot a reduced dose. I'd probably drop the dose to either 1.5 or 1.25u (whichever you're comfortable with). The dilemma with a reduced dose is that you may see more of an effect tomorrow AM than now -- you don't know. I'd go with the reduced dose but you'll still need to keep an eye on Zener's numbers.
 
Re: 07/18/11 Zener AMPS 324; +6 182;11.5 97;+12 125 HELP ATr

Sienne and Gabby said:
Ordinarily, I'd say stall but I'm not sure that with food on board that will tell us anything and you said you're already off schedule. You could shoot a reduced dose. I'd probably drop the dose to either 1.5 or 1.25u (whichever you're comfortable with). The dilemma with a reduced dose is that you may see more of an effect tomorrow AM than now -- you don't know. I'd go with the reduced dose but you'll still need to keep an eye on Zener's numbers.

Thanks Sienne, I feel like an idiot having fed him and obscuring the data. Went with the 1.25 u and will test regularly tonight and post on his SS. So, seeing more of an effect tomorrow AM as in a spike in his BG? Before LL, our vet had us shooting 3.0 u in the AM, and anywhere from 0.5-1.5 in the PM, his AM values were usually pretty high. He started feeling so much better when we found the message board and got him on the same AM and PM doses.

07/18/11 Alpha Trak 22 cycle at 1.75 u
AMPS 324
+6 182
+11.5 97
+12 125 food on board, darn it
+12.5/PMPS 163 gave reduced dose 1.25 u

One last question about the reduced dose. Do we need to give his AM dose at the same time we did the reduced dose tonight (9 pm MST) or if the numbers are up, can we go back on the 8:30 schedule we were on today?

We also were trying not to feed him after +6 today, only freeze dried chicken treats so that he would be hungry at his PM dose. He asked for food several times in the late afternoon and I didn't listen. It's possible he may need a +9 or +10 LC small feeding. So the poor guy may have just not had enough to eat today.
 
Re: 07/18/11 Zener PMPS 163; +1 163 ATrak

See what he is tomorrow AM & come on board, hopefully someone will help with his dose--
He's doing well tonite--Look how consistant he is--Have a good night! :-D
 
Re: 07/18/11 Zener PMPS 163; +1 163 ATrak

~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) black tea with milk my caffeinated bevie of choice ;-)

07/18/11 Alpha Trak 22 cycle at 1.75 u
AMPS 324
+6 182
+11.5 97 :o
+12 125 food on board, darn it, shouldn't have done that
+12.5/PMPS 163 gave reduced dose 1.25 u
+1 163

Will check regularly tonight and in AM and post on SS.
 
Re: 07/18/11 Zener PMPS 163; +1 163 ATrak

Roni and Moonie said:
See what he is tomorrow AM & come on board, hopefully someone will help with his dose--
He's doing well tonite--Look how consistant he is--Have a good night! :-D

Hi Roni, thanks! After my royal goof at +11.5 when I saw 97 with the alpha trak and instantly went into "rise mode", he seems to be weathering the storm of a reduced dose. You are so right, "see what he is tomorrow". Somehow I think I will be able to anticipate or predict what will happen - silly bean! :roll:
 
Re: 07/18/11 Zener PMPS 163; +1 163 ATrak

On night time numbers watch ~O)

07/11/11 Alpha Trak 22 cycle at 1.75 u
AMPS 324
+6 182
+11.5 97 :o
+12 125 food on board, darn it, shouldn't have done that
+12.5/PMPS 163 gave reduced dose 1.25 u
+1 163
+2 110 fed 1 oz mix of MC and HC food

More to come...
 
Re: 07/18/11 Zener PMPS 163;+1 163;+2 110;+3 112 ATrak

There sure is a lot of bad TV on late an night ~O) ~O) ~O)

07/11/11 Alpha Trak 22 cycle at 1.75 u
AMPS 324
+6 182
+11.5 97 :o
+12 125 food on board, darn it, shouldn't have done that
+12.5/PMPS 163 gave reduced dose 1.25 u
+1 163
+2 110 fed 1 oz mix of MC and HC FF food
+3 112 fed 0.5 oz HC FF

The good news, Zener used the litter box twice today, with Dr Elsy's cat attract litter. Both times he was heading for piddle pads and I picked him up and placed him in the litter box where he promptly did his business.

And now back to the show...
 
Re: 07/18/11 ZenerPMPS 163;+1 163;+2 110;+3 112;+4 97 ATrk

07/11/11 Alpha Trak 22 cycle at 1.75 u
AMPS 324
+6 182
+11.5 97 :o
+12 125 food on board, darn it, shouldn't have done that
+12.5/PMPS 163 gave reduced dose 1.25 u
+1 163
+2 110 fed 1 oz mix of MC and HC FF food
+3 112 fed 0.5 oz HC FF
+4 97 fed 0.5 oz MC FF with 1t karo

I suppose these values are close enough to be considered about the same. Will check again at +5.
I-) I-) I-)
 
Re: 07/18/11 Zener PMPS 163;1 163;2 110;3 112;4 97;5 182 AT

07/11/11 Alpha Trak 22 cycle at 1.75 u
AMPS 324
+6 182
+11.5 97 :o
+12 125 food on board, darn it, shouldn't have done that
+12.5/PMPS 163 gave reduced dose 1.25 u
+1 163
+2 110 fed 1 oz mix of MC and HC FF food
+3 112 fed 0.5 oz HC FF
+4 97 fed 0.5 oz MC FF with 1t karo
+5 182
 
Re: 07/18/11 Znr PMPS 163;1 163;2 110;3 112;4 97;5 182;6 177

07/11/11 Alpha Trak 22 cycle at 1.75 u
AMPS 324
+6 182
+11.5 97 :o
+12 125 food on board, darn it, shouldn't have done that
+12.5/PMPS 163 gave reduced dose 1.25 u
+1 163
+2 110 fed 1 oz mix of MC and HC FF food
+3 112 fed 0.5 oz HC FF
+4 97 fed 0.5 oz MC FF with 1t karo
+5 182 fed 0.5 oz MC
+6 177 fed 0.5 oz LC

Looks like he is on the rise and stable, so going to sleep for a few hours.
 
Re: 07/18/11 Znr PMPS 163;1 163;2 110;3 112;4 97;5 182;6 177

Good morning.....looks like quite a night for you.
I don't think I have posted in your condo before so welcome. I hope you were able to get some sleep. :?

If you post your +11 or +11.5 it will give you a better idea whether or not you can shoot a little early to get back on schedule.
 
Re: 07/18/11 Znr PMPS 163;;2 110;;4 97;5 182;6 177;11 203 A

Yes, it was quite a night. Thanks for coming in! I edited my subject line a bit but here is the summary from last night.

7/18/11
PMPS 163 shot reduced dose 1.25u
+1 163
+2 110
+3 112
+4 97
+5 182
+6 177
+9 156
+11 203
I have on his SS when and what I fed him during the night.

What do you think about timing for his shot this morning and size of dose?
 
Re: 07/18/11 Znr PMPS 163;;2 110;;4 97;5 182;6 177;11 203 A

Anne: what a night for you!!! I'm so sorry I pooped out way early and didn't realize you were having such low numbers. You did an AWESOME job!!

Now you see what I meant about shooting a reduced dose....sometimes you still have a full shed and will still get low numbers. It might have saved him from being even lower, though, so that's good.

Can you give him his shot at 8:45 today and 8:30 tonight? That will get him back on schedule. If the lowest he got was 97 on the AT, then I don't believe he qualified for a dose reduction. I think it's 80 per the protocol for the AT. If that is the case, I'd give him his regular dose. IMHO.

eta: yes, I was correct; dose reductions using an AT can be done if the kitty goes below 80. He's just giving you some very nice, green cycles.
 
Re: 07/18/11 Znr PMPS 163;;2 110;;4 97;5 182;6 177;11 203 A

Thanks Marje, no worries about not staying up. You've had your share of late nights lately. Sienne got me off to a good start. Next time I might shoot a more reduced dose, if it's a night when I'm not able to stay up and check every hour, like in a few weeks when I get back to work. I teach physical therapy at NAU in Flagstaff.

Got another BG at +11.5 and it was 344. Seems like a big jump from 203 to 344 in 30 minutes, so not sure what that is about. So, I thought his +11 was 203 and on the rise from his +9, so went ahead with his regular 1.75u at 8:45. I liked your suggestion! Will move him to 8:30 tonight. We just need to get him on a 6:30/6:30 schedule in the next couple of weeks.

I'll start a new topic for today. Thanks again for all the information.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top