07/16 - Shen - AMPS 102, +2 73, +4 86, PMPS 75, +2 82

Nimi S

Member Since 2023
Link to previous condo: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-10-76-pmps-77-2-85-2-72.279553/#post-3088192

Posting late today.
Since the weekend’s almost over, a happy start of the week to everyone! :cat:

PMPS was 62, rechecked and got 75, which is within meter variance, I guess.

Today’s AM shot didn’t go as planned.
I was out today morning from PM+8 to AM+1. Had left my brother with instructions and a syringe filled with 0.1U. He tried but couldn’t get a droplet of blood and wasn’t able to test Shen. So he didn’t give the insulin. But he didn’t know not to give the food as well, so he fed Shen. He’d also fed the other cats with their dry food at the same time and Shen must have eaten some of it. He barfed it all out. His AMPS could have been food influenced since I came home 30 minutes after the feeding/barfing. AMPS was eventually delayed by an hour.

Shen also got an extra snack in the morning since I didn’t know my mom had fed him just 30 mins before I did. This has happened before too, so we need to get better at planning and communicating about this one snack :D

My ideal shot time has moved forward by almost 3 hours since I’ve had to make some adjustments over the last month to step out. Have to get better at teaching my brother to test and shoot Shen when I’m not home :D
 
Sounds like they had quite a party while you are gone :p
And look! I had to get one :smuggrin::smuggrin::smuggrin:


upload_2023-7-16_15-54-23.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-7-16_15-54-23.jpeg
    upload_2023-7-16_15-54-23.jpeg
    55.9 KB · Views: 129
Note for your brother for the future - considering how flat Shen has been and given that you would be back by +1 (before onset), he could have fed and shot even though he could not get the AMPS. Also, the no feeding 2 hours before the shot applies to newbies without enough data and/or experience with handling lower preshots/numbers. You don't need to follow that with Shen at this point - especially if you can feed/monitor after giving insulin.

Great to see that the dry food did not send him to the moon. :-)
 
Note for your brother for the future - considering how flat Shen has been and given that you would be back by +1 (before onset), he could have fed and shot even though he could not get the AMPS. Also, the no feeding 2 hours before the shot applies to newbies without enough data and/or experience with handling lower preshots/numbers. You don't need to follow that with Shen at this point - especially if you can feed/monitor after giving insulin.
Good to know, thanks! :)

Great to see that the dry food did not send him to the moon. :)
I think that’s because he barfed it all out :D
It seems to not agree with him anymore since he throws up even very small amounts - happened today morning too. One good thing is that he mostly ignores any leftover kibble these days, if he gets all his snacks on time.
 
Back
Top