07/13 Trey AMPS 147 +4.5 151 PMPS 153 +4.5 133

Status
Not open for further replies.

housecats4

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121646&p=1266603#p1266603

Trey seems to be himself but still not sure about getting down of off the chair or cathouse mmmm anyway he is looking for his food and doing the clean up of the other guys dishes and that is his normal.....forgot to tell you vet thought BG 180 is not too bad for a cat his age....I told her no that's not good enough for our Trey :cool: confused_cat ~O) :YMSIGH: Hugs Kath have a wonderful day with all sugarbabies on the way to fall Blue green light surround you to help you get there sweeties!!!!
 
Re: 07/13 Trey AMPS 147

Upon looking at your SS, it looks like that 2 things are happening here that I can see, and this is just a guess on my part. 1) He's bouncing because the shots aren't given at exactly the same time each day (ie. 6 a.m. and again exactly or at least 1-2 minutes as close to 6 p.m. as possible, not 15 minutes before the hour, in other words which is what it looks like on your SS), or... 2) Trey may need a bit more insulin. Please ask for insulin dosing advice if you're unsure on what to do, and want to increase his insulin safely.

I hope that Trey gives you a nice surf. Have a great day!
 
Re: 07/13 Trey AMPS 147

Angela wow do you think that 10-15 minutes every now and then can make this happen? I just never thought of that was at one point trying to move him back 15 minutes at a time to get to 30 minutes then next morning over slept and made it 30 minutes late .OMG I will be watching this for sure thank you so much for pointing this out...will see what others say about moving his dose up again...... ~O) ohmygod_smile Hugs Kath
 
Re: 07/13 Trey AMPS 147 +4.5 151

Trey got a nadir in the 70's yesterday - which isn't bad. If you do decide to increase, the most I'd do is to fatten the dose a bit and not go all the way up to .75U. I'm pretty happy with nadirs in the 70's, so for Neko I just stick to a dose that gets her there. But since she's an acrocat, I'm not trying to spend time in green to heal her pancreas. Ideally you'd like to find a dose for Trey that flattens him out and maximizes the amount of time in healing green.

As for timing of shots, I try to be consistent, but I'm often shifting Neko's shot time by 15 minutes a shot or even 20 minutes once a day and it doesn't make any difference to her. Some cats are more sensitive to changing shot times, but I think a 15 minute change once a day should be fine. And moving shot times that small bit does not cause bouncing. Bouncing is caused by low numbers or rapid drops in BG's.
 
Re: 07/13 Trey AMPS 147 +4.5 151

Thanks so much Wendy for that info I really feel bad if I caused him upset by moving his time 15 minutes or so....will be watching that but I do believe since he still acts a little different about getting down that it was more then this. Still leaning towards a mini stroke... he is doing ok. Next week end Friday I have a wedding to go to and would mean I have to leave about 4:30-5pm now since Trey doesn't get his insulin till 6pm would it be safer to skip that shot give a small amt or just wait till I get home around 10:30 -11 pm what do you think??? ..... be glad when these weddings are over and I can just stay put. In the mean time a new grandbaby will arrive tomorrow!!!! :smile: @-) ~O) confused_cat ;-) Hugs Kath
 
Re: 07/13 Trey AMPS 147 +4.5 151

How exciting on the new grand baby, :-D

To work around the wedding, another option is 18 hours between two shots. You'd give his normal shot in the morning then shoot 18 hours later at midnight, then nothing in the morning (sleep in) and resume again at 6PM that night.

Has the vet ever checked Trey for arthritis in the elbows? I had one old kitty who was reluctant to get down from things and that was his issue. Sending healing vines to Trey.
 
Re: 07/13 Trey AMPS 147 +4.5 151

Oh sleep in how lovely that sounds ...I like this option 18 hours gives me something else to look forward to. His reflex was really good and she did stretch and bend his legs with no issue he didn`t even bat an eye...but I guess anything is possible. Although he is just not acting like the old Trey. Now at supper time he didn`t even go to look what the other guys had left...he always does the dishes. Hugs thanks for the info too....Hugssssss Kath :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top