? 07/11 Baby G AMPS 291 +10 181 - Reduce Dose?

babyg

Member Since 2019
Previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-08-baby-g-amps-304.265540/#post-2973673

Hi, everyone,

Sorry I haven't posted in a while. Was suffering from terrible migraines the last few days and still just now recovering.
I was going to raise her to 3.75 over the weekend, but the local primary vet scared me about crashing so I decided to keep her on the 3.5 just a little longer since her numbers weren't bad and then potentially up her the quarter later.
The 3.5 was keeping her mostly consistently in the 200s.
Just got home today and checked her and she was 181. I can tell from the sensor that she must have dropped lower than that at some pI'm worried now because 1) why is the 3.5 kicking in now, over a week later? I feel like I can't trust it now. And 2) what if her preshot is lower than 200? She gets her shot in about an hour from now at 7 CST.
The teaching hospital vet said I can lower her to 2.5 or 3 units tonight, but ultimately she thinks she should go up to 4 units. She also literally yelled at me because I use BOTH the Libre sensor and the ear poke. I need to fire that vet. My thought is if the preshot is too low to shoot the normal dose at, then does that mean the 3.5 is too strong and she actually needs to be reduced to 3.25?
Btw, I could be jumping the gun and maybe her preshot will be fine but her being under 200 this late in the cycle concerns me. And great, I just realized I forgot to pick up the food so she might have eaten something before her preshot, which I'm going to check in a bit.
 
Last edited:
When following SLGS, you reduce if they go below 90. I don't see anything near that on the spreadsheet. In fact, she is due for an increase to 3.75 units. The goal of SLGS is to see nadirs (plural) in the 90 to 150 range. You aren't there yet.
 
When following SLGS, you reduce if they go below 90. I don't see anything near that on the spreadsheet. In fact, she is due for an increase to 3.75 units. The goal of SLGS is to see nadirs (plural) in the 90 to 150 range. You aren't there yet.
Shes now at 208. Might be food influenced. I thought if they're below 200 we can give a token dose?
 
If you read through the section on SLGS and shooting lower doses, there are two sections. The first starts "in the beginning" or something like that and is addressed to newbies. The following section starts "with experience..." and there it talks about shooting lower and lower numbers. You definitely don't fit in the newbie category anymore.
 
She was 291 this morning. That means she dropped over 100 points. If I give her 3.5 now, I'm worried shell drop another 100 points. I know you guys like double digits but I don't lol. I'm not home enough to handle my cat in low numbers.
 
That's not the way it works. If you shoot lower numbers, the cycles are typically flatter with less drop. And honestly, if she was to drop 100 points from 206, she's still be in safe territory and not earn a reduction. Remember, your goal is to get the nadirs or low points between 90 and 149. She's not there yet.
 
That's not the way it works. If you shoot lower numbers, the cycles are typically flatter with less drop. And honestly, if she was to drop 100 points from 206, she's still be in safe territory and not earn a reduction. Remember, your goal is to get the nadirs or low points between 90 and 149. She's not there yet.
Shes at 224 now. I know ultimately you're saying to raise her to 3.75, but I'm scared to even do the 3.5. You think the 3.5 will be ok? I'm terrified of a hypo. I'm about an hour away from emergency vets.
 
You can do 3.5 tonight if you want, but I still think she needs an increase. As long as you have high carb food and/or syrup/karo, you should be able to prevent hypos. And honestly, she's no where near hypo numbers.
 
I too would increase. Normal bg is 50-120 for cats not on insulin. Those following TR shoot anything over 50. Being too high for too much time can effect the kidneys. Look at other condos of cats following SLGS.
 
Thanks, Wendy and Tiffmaxee. I appreciate you guys getting me through this. I gave the 3.5. :nailbiting: This was hard to do; I was really waffling between giving 2.5 to 3. I know it's not the 3.75 but I'm proud I pushed past my fears and gave the full current dose instead of decreasing like I was initially going to. I'm clearly a real scaredy cat (pun intended) but am working on building up my comfort level and confidence. I don't want to set her back with her numbers just when we're starting to see blues again. If I can give her a dose at a level I'm not comfortable with like tonight and see that it works out okay, it can help me muster courage next time. I am worried about organ damage and agree it's something I need to avoid.
 
I still can't get over that vet yelling at me for using both the sensor and the meter. Libre themselves even say to use your meter if you see a number you're unsure of, and the reader will show a little blood droplet to indicate you should do a poke test. I'm definitely not using her anymore. :stop:
 
I think everyone is afraid of a hypo especially when first diagnosed and testing. I had no idea how dka and high bg are dangerous too. Soon greens become contagious. We will guide you through this whenever you aren’t comfortable or need guidance. Congrats on shooting .
 
Thanks. I'm really trying to listen; I know sometimes it probably seems like I don't. I appreciate you all being patient with me.
Well, here's to another night of testing and probably another migraine, lol. :coffee:
 
Back
Top