07/10 Nala PMBG 122 (+24), +26 167, +28 128

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 07/10 Nala +11.50 148 SHOULD I SHOOT?

I don't know about this one. Normally I would say shoot the .5u but since you're not going to be home, that would make me nervous. I'd skip this shot and see what happens at PMPS. You may need to give .75 again to help make up for this morning's missed dose and then test frequently again tonight to make sure she doesn't dip to 40's again.

Then again, I don't have much experience and would listen to people who are better at this than I am.
 
Re: 07/10 Nala +11.50 148 SHOULD I SHOOT?

Thank you MauiGuppy for the response.

+12 was 166

I'm too nervous to leave Nala home for a cycle without someone testing her after what happened last night. I'm going to skip this AM dose and see how she does this evening when I can test a bit more frequently.

Rosanna
 
Re: 07/10 Nala +11.50 148 SHOULD I SHOOT?

I'll bump you up for more help from the wise ones! After reading yesterday's condo, I'd be nervous shooting, too, since you might be gone up to 12 hours. How much longer will you be home?
 
Re: 07/10 Nala +11.50 148 SHOULD I SHOOT?

This post on handling low pre-shots may help with your decision making.

First, I disagree with Bonnie (MauiGuppy). Don't increase the dose tonight.

What you saw between your +11.75 and +12 was a rising number. I might has stalled a bit longer (say to +12.25) and gotten another test to see if numbers continued to go up. If so, shooting would have been fine.

I would evaluate 2 factors.... First, Nala did not earn the dose reduction to ) 0.75u. You have been adjusting dose based on pre-shot numbers. I've mentioned this before -- Lantus dosing is based on the nadir. With the drop below 50, Nala DID earn a dose reduction. The lower pre-shot numbers today were probably due to Nala's shed not having caught up. Given your schedule, it is probably safest to reduce the dose to 0.5u tonight.

Also, are you still feeding dry food and if so, why?
 
Re: 07/10 Nala +11.50 148 SHOULD I SHOOT?

Glad Sienne popped in! And this is why I still ask for dosing help!
 
Re: 07/10 Nala +11.50 148 SHOULD I SHOOT?

Thank you all the response. I'm still at work, sick with worry, and trying to stay awake since I got such little sleep.

I hope to get off work in another 1-2 hours of I'm lucky. I will respond to all of your questions then, thank you!

Rosanna
 
Re: 07/10 Nala +11.50 148 SHOULD I SHOOT?

If you didn't shoot, the worst that can happen is Nala's numbers are high when you get home.
 
Re: 07/10 Nala +11.50 148 SHOULD I SHOOT?

Yeah! Finally got home, and did a test

So

AMPS 166 - decided not to shoot
+9.5 140

So it didn't go up that much from AMPS?

I'll respond to the other questions soon - trying to update my computer right now so it won't crash anymore.

Thanks,

Rosanna
 
Re: 07/10 Nala +11.50 148, AMPS 166 (NS), +9.5 140

I can't say it enough - thank you all for all your replies!

@Sienne and Gabby: Yes, I am still feeding Nala a very small amount of dry food (1/8 cup of Wellness Core dry) that is in an automatic feeder that is set off to open usually +4.5 after her insulin shots.

The reason is that Nala is able to knock over her automatic feeder and can often flip it on its side. The times I have tried wet food - it had spilled over and it was difficult for her to eat. However, I will be trying again tonight. I have created a way to tie down Nala's feeder to a large textbook that she shouldn't be able to open. Of course, with any cats, she may surprise me and still flip it over! I am testing it now to see if it will work - if it does, then I'll start an all wet food diet - yeah!

I will be taking some more tests soon and hopefully figure out if it's safe enough for me to give her a shot tonight.

Thanks again,

Rosanna
 
Re: 07/10 Nala +11.50 148 SHOULD I SHOOT?

Okay, so another update:

AMPS 166 - decided not to shoot
+9.5 140
+10.5 126

Nala is decreasing, so I'm not sure if I should really give her a PM shot. I will check again at +11.50 and see if anyone has some advice.

Rosanna
 
Re: 07/10 Nala +11.50 148 SHOULD I SHOOT?

see you at +11.5.

I hope you'll be able to figure out a solution to the feeder. At this point, the little bit of dry food may be the only thing keeping Nala on insulin. She is doing well!
 
Re: 07/10 Nala +11.50 148 SHOULD I SHOOT?

Update:

AMPS 166 - decided not to shoot
+9.5 140
+10.5 126
+11.5 123

So she is even lower. She's so weird, I think I may skip her PM shot. And since I may have finally outsmarted Nala, I think I have secured her feeder enough that I'll try only to feed her wet food tonight.

I secured the feeder to a large book, wrapped it around with ribbons to keep it from moving, rubbed the ribbons with lotion so she won't bite it, and I surrounded it with bricks. I'll be amazed if she can flip it, but we'll see!

Rosanna
 
Re: 07/10 Nala +11.50 148 SHOULD I SHOOT?

Update:

AMPS 166 - decided not to shoot
+9.5 140
+10.5 126
+11.5 123
+12 122 So, No Shot. Fed Nala 3/4 can FF Classic

I'm perplexed. I'm going out to dinner and will try to do a +3 and +6 tonight.

Rosanna
 
Re: 07/10 Nala +11.50 148 SHOULD I SHOOT?

Update

AMPS 166 - decided not to shoot
+9.5 140
+10.5 126
+11.5 123
+12 122 So, No Shot. Fed Nala 3/4 can FF Classic
PMPS - NS
+2 167

Nala seems to be doing OK without either her AM or PM shot so far. I'm still waiting around to see if anything changes. I'll probably be able to get a +4 before I sleep.

Rosanna
 
Re: 07/10 Nala +11.50 148 SHOULD I SHOOT?

Rosanna --

It's really helpful if you can update your subject line with recent test numbers or to eliminate a question once it's been answered. To edit, go to your first post, click on the "edit" button and make whatever changes you need to make. Then click on "submit." This will allow you to change the content. To bump your thread to the top of the board, you need to add a new post.
 
Re: 07/10 Nala PMPS 122 (NS), +2 167

Hi Sienne and Gabby:

Thank you for the suggestion! I realized I was changing the subject line for my replies but not for the entire post.

Rosanna
 
Re: 07/10 Nala PMPS 122 (NS), +2 167

Here's another one of those technicalities (or quirks!). Since you didn't shoot, you don't really have a "pre-shot" number for this evening. There are 2 ways you can note this. You can list an (AM or) PMBG -- you have a PM Blood Glucose test -- just not a PMPS. Or, since you didn't shoot either this morning or tonight, if you were counting the hours from your last shot, the 122 would be your +24 and the 167 would be Nala's +26.
 
Re: 07/10 Nala PMPS 122 (NS), +2 167

Hi Rosanna: Welcome to Lantus Land!! Nala is doing great.

I know there is a lot to learn. When you don't shoot, then you would just put the hours since your last shot so if you didn't shoot this morning then the number you have as PMPS is probably +24 and what you have as +2 is probably +26. Using "AMPS" or "PMPS" means you shot. So if you change it to have the number of hours since the last shot, you don't need the "NS".

Great job!!! Thanks!!
 
Re: 07/10 Nala PMPS 122 (NS), +2 167

Update

AMBG 166
+21.5 140
+22.5 126
+23.5 123
PMBG - 122 (+24)
+26 167
+28 128

Thank you again Marjorie and Gracie and Sienne and Gabby!

I am signing off and will get some more readings in the morning.

Rosanna
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top