07/10 Blackie PMPS 144, +1.5 75

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's #s:

AMPS 145, 1.25u, 40g Evo 95% C&T
+1 - 37g Evo 95% C&T, Cosequin
+2.5 61
PMPS 100, 1.25u, 40g Evo 95% C&T, Zobaline
+1 - 37g Evo 95% C&T, Cosequin

WCR: All is well with Blackie. AMPS weight=10.82 lb. and maintaining between 10.79 lbs. to about 10.85 lbs., which is good. No issues with giving her the shot this morning; no biting, hissing, or growling. She even did her customary stretching as I laid her on her side. That's what I was waiting for, and got. Good girl! I'm glad to see her AMPS # coming down this morning; a 15 point decrease is a good decrease. I think it was just an isolated incident last night. She's not one for being aggressive towards humans.

I will be taking her Cosequin to the vet's on Saturday and will ask the question about extra dosing, and what would be the benefits and/or drawbacks about it. This way, the vet can see the bottle, and can advise me right then.

Sending tons of healing vines, positive thoughts, and prayers to whoever needs them.

MY WISH: For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.​
 
Re: 07/10 Blackie AMPS 130, +2 65

Nice start for Blackie. So glad it was a one time thing with the biting. Maybe she was just cranky. I guess they are allowed bad days too. Have a great day Angela!!
 
Re: 07/10 Blackie AMPS 130, +2 65

HI guys .. nice drop this morning blackie! Glad that she is acting more like herself .. I guess everyone is entitled to an off day every now and then! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 07/10 Blackie AMPS 130, +2 65

I asked on the p'itis list about cosequin since Max has had chronic panc for 4 1/2 years and was told to get the regular strength capsules without flavoring for small dogs to start. Some cats don't like the sprinkle taste and the additives might not agree with him. Others have given it without any issues. I was all set to send it back but now I'm not sure what to do. I'l be watching to see what you do for Blackie. Nice numbers for him today.
 
Re: 07/10 Blackie AMPS 130, +2 65

Nice numbers for Blackie today. The lagoon is so lovely on a hot summer day! :mrgreen:

I'm glad the biting episode is forgiven and forgotten. I'm sure it was a temporary aberration. Sweet Blackie is back again!

I hope you get the answers you need from the vet. I didn't know there were unwelcome additives in the feline Cosequin. I'll have to read my package when I get home. Cinco doesn't get it, but Harvey and Sasha do,

Have a great day, Angela.
 
Re: 07/10 Blackie AMPS 130, +2 65

Many gets do fine with the feline version but the small dog one has less ingredients. It's not that they are unwelcome. It's one of those if it ain't broke don't fix it kind of things. Also apparently the dog ones are less expensive.
 
Re: 07/10 Blackie AMPS 130, +2 65

I'm glad Blackie is doing so well. It's great to see her PS numbers coming down some. I'm glad she didn't give you any trouble with her shot this morning. Hopefully it was just a one time incident.
 
PMPS 144, 1.25u, 40g Evo 95% C&T, Zobaline
+1 - 37g Evo 95% C&T, Cosequin
+1.5 75

This product has the following ingredients in it: Glucosamine hydrochloride (derived from shellfish), sodium chondroitin sulfate (derived from bovine cartilage), gelatin, natural flavor, water, manganese ascorbate, mixed glycosaminoglycans, magnesium stearate, titanium dioxide, FD&C Red #3, and FD&C Blue #1.

I took a brief look at the Cosequin for dogs on Amazon, and the prices are beyond our budget. They mostly sell the chewable tablets, but did find a sprinkable kind in there. Still can't do it financially. Either this works for her, for I take her off of it and she goes back to moving around less. I don't want that for her, and I'm going to keep her on it.
 
Angela, I think I found the capsules for small dogs at Entirely Pets and they don't have any flavor. I'll look again and let you know as I don't think the price was bad and you got more capsules than with the cat ones. Someone else said they use the human form and buy it at Costco. I'm looking in to that as well. Since Blackie isn't having any negative reaction to what you are doing I'd continue with it too. I was told though that the higher dose works better and that is when it is cheaper to buy the dog capsules as it was more economical. I'm going to ask about that and where it was purchased.
 
I'm glad Blackie went back to cooperating for her shots. She must have just had a grumpy day. FWIW, I asked my vet how much glucosamine to give Buster and she said there's really no point in giving more than 200mg per day. I don't know that I believe her, because I did see a difference in our dogs when I increased their doses on my own. Just another opinion for you to ponder. I hope your vetty visit goes well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top