07/09 Butters AMPS 108/+7 81

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Last Post

Butters has been very busy, and therefore keeping me busy. She had a recheck with her vet for her dental surgery. Everything looks great there. Yay for that good news.

She stopped wanting to eat her raw food, so I went back to her old canned food, which she is thrilled with but it is too high in phosphorus. I'm trying to incorporate some raw back in as of tonight. She has vomited two mornings in a row, today and yesterday, but so far has continued to eat well. The vet wasn't overly concerned but thought it could be indicative of a pancreatitis flare. I gave her cerenia today. I have bupe and ondansetron if needed.

Her vet decided to do another cytology on her ears at her appointment, and found both a yeast and bacterial infection this time. I'm treating it with Surolan ear drops, which contains ingredients to address both and contains prednisolone. I started her on that two days ago. Hopefully it helps with the inflammation and makes her ears feel better.

Her vet said he would not have stopped the miralax even though she had diarrhea last week. But his office was closed so I couldn't consult with him. He wants me to give her a consistent dose of miralax and cisapride for a while to see if she becomes regular.

The dasuquin does not seem to be helping her suspected arthritis. But she doesn't seem to be in pain right now. This is on the back burner in terms of what is a priority.

She had a seizure two days ago, the morning of her vet appointment. This is now her fourth seizure in seven months. They are increasing in frequency. The vet would send her for a neuro consult at this point, but we decided this is on the back burner because again we need to prioritize. I can only do so much. He would give her a drug to see if it helps, but it's q8 dosing and I can't do a q8 dosing on top of everything else.

He still hasn't received the cardiologist's report from her echocardiogram. So I'm continuing with the taurine but there is no real plan on what to do next.

I've been wanting to talk to the vet about where we go from here in terms of managing her DM, but with so many other things coming up we never end up having time to discuss it. As a long-term diabetic, I'm not comfortable continuing to maintain her BG as low as I do and I'm not sure I see the point. But if anyone is reading this and disagrees with me, please convince me otherwise:bighug:

That's about all! I'm hanging in there:). Not sad just busy. I work also have other life commitments beyond Butters, so am just taking things one day at a time and trying not to be overwhelmed and just trying to do the best I can for her.

I just wanted to post in case anyone was wondering how things are going with Butters. I hope all the kitties and humans on the board are doing well. I think about y'all and try to peek in when I have a few spare moments.
 
Last edited:
Last Post

Butters has been very busy, and therefore keeping me busy. She had a recheck with her vet for her dental surgery. Everything looks great there. Yay for that good news.

She stopped wanting to eat her raw food, so I went back to her old canned food, which she is thrilled with but it is too high in phosphorus. I'm trying to incorporate some raw back in as of tonight. She has vomited two mornings in a row, today and yesterday, but so far has continued to eat well. The vet wasn't overly concerned but thought it could be indicative of a pancreatitis flare. I gave her cerenia today. I have bupe and ondansetron if needed.

Her vet decided to do another cytology on her ears at her appointment, and found both a yeast and bacterial infection this time. I'm treating it with Surolan ear drops, which contains ingredients to address both and contains prednisolone. I started her on that two days ago. Hopefully it helps with the inflammation and makes her ears feel better.

Her vet said he would not have stopped the miralax even though she had diarrhea last week. But his office was closed so I couldn't consult with him. He wants me to give her a consistent dose of miralax and cisapride for a while to see if she becomes regular.

The dasuquin does not seem to be helping her suspected arthritis. But she doesn't seem to be in pain right now. This is on the back burner in terms of what is a priority.

She had a seizure two days ago, the morning of her vet appointment. This is now her fourth seizure in seven months. They are increasing in frequency. The vet would send her for a neuro consult at this point, but we decided this is on the back burner because again we need to prioritize. I can only do so much. He would give her a drug to see if it helps, but it's q8 dosing and I can't do a q8 dosing on top of everything else.

He still hasn't received the cardiologist's report from her echocardiogram. So I'm continuing with the taurine but there is no real plan on what to do next.

I've been wanting to talk to the vet about where we go from here in terms of managing her DM, but with so many other things coming up we never end up having time to discuss it. As a long-term diabetic, I'm not comfortable continuing to maintain her BG as low as I do and I'm not sure I see the point. But if anyone is reading this and disagrees with me, please convince me otherwise:bighug:

That's about all! I'm hanging in there:). Not sad just busy. I work also have other life commitments beyond Butters, so am just taking things one day at a time and trying not to be overwhelmed and just trying to do the best I can for her.

I just wanted to post in case anyone was wondering how things are going with Butters. I hope all the kitties and humans on the board are doing well. I think about y'all and try to peek in when I have a few spare moments.
Hi Lyla. I am glad that you posted since I have been looking for a post from you. I understand about thinking that maybe you don’t need her to be as low as she is. Are you thinking low blues or what? Your spreadsheet makes it look easy! But if you work a full time job, I don’t see how you do it.

I’m glad that you had her ears swabbed and checked. I hope the ear drops won’t disturb her BG too much.
 
Thanks for the Butters update Lyla. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Regulation is a perfectly valid goal if you don't think remission's in the cards and/or it's too hard on you. That was my goal with Neko, below renal threshold as much as possible. I had done what I could to reduce her dose and the rest was up to her. We will support whatever you decide to do.

Keep up the periodic updates.
 
Oh Lyla, I'm so sorry to hear that Butters is still going through such a rough patch. Ever since Ruby's been on steroids, I've given up on tight regulation and aim to keep her in blues and occasional greens as much as possible given that she has so much else going on and I'm not around much anymore to watch over her. Do what you need to do for your life and to keep Butters safe. Big hugs to you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last Post

Butters has been very busy, and therefore keeping me busy. She had a recheck with her vet for her dental surgery. Everything looks great there. Yay for that good news.

She stopped wanting to eat her raw food, so I went back to her old canned food, which she is thrilled with but it is too high in phosphorus. I'm trying to incorporate some raw back in as of tonight. She has vomited two mornings in a row, today and yesterday, but so far has continued to eat well. The vet wasn't overly concerned but thought it could be indicative of a pancreatitis flare. I gave her cerenia today. I have bupe and ondansetron if needed.

Her vet decided to do another cytology on her ears at her appointment, and found both a yeast and bacterial infection this time. I'm treating it with Surolan ear drops, which contains ingredients to address both and contains prednisolone. I started her on that two days ago. Hopefully it helps with the inflammation and makes her ears feel better.

Her vet said he would not have stopped the miralax even though she had diarrhea last week. But his office was closed so I couldn't consult with him. He wants me to give her a consistent dose of miralax and cisapride for a while to see if she becomes regular.

The dasuquin does not seem to be helping her suspected arthritis. But she doesn't seem to be in pain right now. This is on the back burner in terms of what is a priority.

She had a seizure two days ago, the morning of her vet appointment. This is now her fourth seizure in seven months. They are increasing in frequency. The vet would send her for a neuro consult at this point, but we decided this is on the back burner because again we need to prioritize. I can only do so much. He would give her a drug to see if it helps, but it's q8 dosing and I can't do a q8 dosing on top of everything else.

He still hasn't received the cardiologist's report from her echocardiogram. So I'm continuing with the taurine but there is no real plan on what to do next.

I've been wanting to talk to the vet about where we go from here in terms of managing her DM, but with so many other things coming up we never end up having time to discuss it. As a long-term diabetic, I'm not comfortable continuing to maintain her BG as low as I do and I'm not sure I see the point. But if anyone is reading this and disagrees with me, please convince me otherwise:bighug:

That's about all! I'm hanging in there:). Not sad just busy. I work also have other life commitments beyond Butters, so am just taking things one day at a time and trying not to be overwhelmed and just trying to do the best I can for her.

I just wanted to post in case anyone was wondering how things are going with Butters. I hope all the kitties and humans on the board are doing well. I think about y'all and try to peek in when I have a few spare moments.
Good morning Lyla. As always you have both been on my mind. It’s seems there is a lot going on with Butters. Are you feeling because Butters is a long term diabetic that she won’t go into remission hence your reason to not try and maintain her low numbers? Sometimes I feel it’s a futile exercise in trying to get Dolly back into remission, she has so far to go and is a long term diabetic. On the hand I would love for her pancreas to be healthy enough to work on its own without the aid of insulin. I would love to go to bed normal hours when my husband does and not have to worry about her going too low. I don’t know if it is possible at this point. I am just so tired of being exhausted all the time. What are the options, Dolly and Butters are tightly controlled. Give less insulin in Butters case? I really understand the need to prioritize. So sorry and scary Butters had another seizure. I hope you get the Echo report soon. Seems like it’s taking way too long. So sorry about the ear infection. Did it not clear up from last treatment or is this new? Dolly had ear infections. I realized at that time that her vet never checked her ears as routine. Dolly needs to see a neurologist. She has sort of mini seizures with her paw (s). That’s what her old vet called it. They have increased. Her neck as well. Her new vet said her arthritis is minimal so her problems with walking may be neurological. He gave me a place to call for an appointment but they no longer have a neurosurgeon on board. They told me to call one of their other facilities that are a distance from us. I have not called yet. I worry her congestion after so many years has turned into possible polyps in her sinus track. Oh my head imagines all kinds of scary things. I hope you keep posting so we can see what’s going on with Butters. You as well. Sending big hugs and prayers for both of you. Whatever you decide for Butters I know will be in her best interest and will keep her safe :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Hi Lyla, it's so good to hear from you.
It breaks my heart that Butters has so much going on.
You are doing the best you can and you are doing an amazing job.
I hope the drops finally clear up her ears
I'm sorry she had another seizure. They are scary. When Perry would have them it was awful and my whole body would go weak watching him.
I hope the vomiting has stopped.
Thanks for the update and please take care of you.
Kisses for Butters ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Lyla, just wanted to check in and see how you and Butters are doing. I hope you can get the ECHO results in the next few days. How are Butters ears? Hope you had a good weekend. Take care of you two. I will watch for updates. Sending healing prayers and hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top