07/08 Baby G AMPS 304

babyg

Member Since 2019
Previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...what-does-high-and-flat-mean-weight-q.265449/

Well today will make a full week on this dose! :) So far the ear pokes are showing her at a relatively flat curve around the 240s. Clinical signs are good: eating good, solid poops, gaining weight. Sent her spreadsheet to the vet. From what I read about chronic pancreatitis, sounds like dose increases need to be conservative because if the cat starts to improve, they could need less insulin compared to when they had a flare-up, so debating whether to raise her this weekend to 3.75 or whether to give her current dose a little more time?
Also, ordered some tegaderm so if I put another sensor on her in the future, I may try putting that on top. So far her sensor is still on, but the edges are kind of peeling.
All I know is TGIF! :joyful: Hope everyone has a happy Friday.
 
In my opinion provided you test enough, you will be able to react quickly to decreasing BG values and decrease the dose if needed :) If it was me i would already be asking the more experienced people on the forum if i should increase.

I am just curious: do you have some reasons to believe that the pancreatitis will start improving these days?

Good luck whatever your decision might be :)
 
I never gave Max’s pancreatitis a thought when deciding upon dose. His bouts could last days, weeks, or even months. When he started to feel better I don’t recall ever seeing a quick drop in bg. Follow the method. SLGS is a conservative method and you don’t want to risk glucose toxicity by holding doses too long. If that happens more and more insulin will be needed. I’d increase to 3.75 on Sunday. You want to start to see blues.
 
I never gave Max’s pancreatitis a thought when deciding upon dose. His bouts could last days, weeks, or even months. When he started to feel better I don’t recall ever seeing a quick drop in bg. Follow the method. SLGS is a conservative method and you don’t want to risk glucose toxicity by holding doses too long. If that happens more and more insulin will be needed. I’d increase to 3.75 on Sunday. You want to start to see blues.
Do you think tomorrow is okay? I could do Sunday but if I do tomorrow that will give me one extra day I'd be home all day with her.
 
I am just curious: do you have some reasons to believe that the pancreatitis will start improving these days?
I think it's already improved quite a bit and may even be gone, judging by her appetite and since she doesn't have diarrhea anymore. Hopefully she doesn't get any more flare ups.
 
Kind of irritated now.
So the vet called me back. She said to keep her on the 3.5 for at least another week if not longer. She said she likes diabetic cats to be in the 200s and not the 100s. I was like, what about organ damage. She said no, it won't happen. She said cats that get into the 100s might crash and usually don't do that well. But then she later admitted if a cat were three years old, she'd try to get the numbers better. So what is she saying then? That because my cat is 13, she's not going to live as long as a cat that's 3 so no need to care as much or try as hard? The more I think about it, the more offended and angry I am. I'm not going to treat my cat subpar just because she's not a kitten anymore. She can still live a long time. She's not some old shoe to throw away. I remember vets acting like she was old when she was just nine. What is wrong with these people.:mad:
I have a recommendation from someone for a new vet to try. I just don't want to put my cat through a visit just yet, but if she needs any future tests or services I'm going to try the new recommended vet.
 
I suppose your vet also wants you to haul her in for curves and spend money on fructosamine test? Many cats live to 19 or 20. Wouldn’t it be better to get them into remission if possible? Her comments make me so red!

My vet was happy I got Max tightly controlled and showed his ss to his veterinary students who spent a week with him.

To get vet recommendations you will need to say about where you live.
 
Back
Top