07/05/11 Zener PMPS 254; +2 259; +3 340 ATrak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's Condo 07/04/11

Yesterday's recap
07/04/11 Alpha Trak
AMPS 403
+3 369 Has eaten a 3 oz can of wet food since AM shot
+6 349 Hungry - though at mid-point in cycle, I'm just happy he wants to eat!
+11 299 - ate about an ounce of wet food
PMPS 325 - ate about an ounce of wet food - Gave new dose 1.75 u
+2 328 - ate about 0.5 oz wet food, had to hand feed to get him going
+3 343 - not interested in eating

This morning, starting 2nd cycle at new dose of 1.75 u
AMPS 420 (with food on board)

How many cycles does it take for changes to start to show?

Zener became more interested in eating during the night. I left some wet food and a little dry food (Wellness Core) out for him, just in case. He ate the wet food, about an ounce, and a few bits of kibble before his AMPS, so not sure if that had an effect on another red value this morning. He ate about another 1 oz of wet food right after his AM shot.

Will be trying to get him into the vet today to get a sterile urine sample to test for UTI. Also, I realize the last litter we bought is scented, so off to get new unscented litter, scrub out the old litter boxes and buy a new one for inside. He is continuing to have problems with urination inside the house instead of in his litter boxes out in our garage, that he and the other cat get to through a cat door. He did urinate in the plastic box I set up in the house last night, but it's too small and his aim isn't that great. Thank goodness for piddle pads!

We're leaving for 6 days mid day tomorrow, with detailed instructions for our pet sitter, who will do BG testing. I'm very nervous about leaving with his values still so high!
 
Re: 07/05/11 Zener AMPS 420;+3 393 ATrak change with new dos

This morning, starting 2nd cycle at new dose of 1.75 u
AMPS 420 (with food on board)
+3 393 ate about 2 oz of wet food between shot time, +1 and +2

We are off to vet in an hour to check about UTI.
 
Re: 07/05/11 Zener AMPS 420;+3 393 ATrak change with new dos

Just back from vet. All clear on the urine, so no UTI and no ketones.

Nice to have some good news on that before we leave! :-D
 
Re: 07/05/11 Zener AMPS 420;+3 393 ATrak No UTI

Here are the latest values - this is 2nd cycle on 1.75 u
AMPS 420 (with food on board)
+3 393 ate about 2 oz of wet food between shot time, +1 and +2
+6 253 going down at last :!:

All clear from vet on UTI and ketones. :-D
 
Re: 07/05/11 Zener AMPS 420;+3 393;+6 253 ATrak No UTI

See if the petsitter can come on here to the board & post at least Zener's number once a day--And we are here if you need some help--OK? Have a good trip!
 
Re: 07/05/11 Zener AMPS 420;+3 393;+6 253 ATrak No UTI

Hi Roni, the petsitter will email me Zener's BG values AMPS, +6 and PMPS and I will be able to post from where I am, then get in touch with the experts on the board for dose advice. My pet sitter is also a vet tech and will be able to take him right to the vet, if an emergency should arise. Thanks!
 
Re: 07/05/11 Zener AMPS 420;+3 393;+6 253;+10 180ATrak Dose?

Be careful for what you wish for, for you may get it!

Here's the latest values and down we go, this is the end of the 2nd cycle on 1.75u. We use the Alpha Trak meter.

AMPS 420 (with food on board)
+3 393 ate about 2 oz of wet food between shot time, +1 and +2
Trip to vet around +4 - tests were good, so no UTI
+6 253 going down at last :!:
+10 180 - we haven't seen blue in a couple of days

I was advised by Jill to aim for a peak in the 130-180 range, so this is an improvement over the past few days. I was also advised if BG was 180-210, not to shoot and to post for advice. We have two more hours to go, so I will post if the BG is not on the way up. I am not able to stall because we leave tomorrow mid-day and the pet sitter will be taking over so I need to keep his shots on the current schedule if possible because of her work schedule. The last time this happened I shot a reduced dose and kept Zener on the same time schedule.

I'll be back with PMPS values.
 
Re: 07/05/11 Zener PMPS 254 ATrak Dose Question ?

At PMPS, Zener's BG increased, here's the summary:

AMPS 420 (with food on board)
+3 393 ate about 2 oz of wet food between shot time, +1 and +2
Trip to vet around +4 - tests were good, so no UTI
+6 253 going down at last :!:
+10 180 - we haven't seen blue in a couple of days
PMPS 254

This is the end of the 2nd cycle on the new dose of 1.75. I plan to give the same dose in just a few minutes and monitor at +2 and +3. We will be here in the morning for AMPS, shot, +3 and +6 and then I will leave instructions with pet sitter based on how tonight and tomorrow goes. Any suggestions if his BG values continue to get lower as far as leaving dose the same or decreasing? I am a little nervous to see blues, it's been awhile!
 
Re: 07/05/11 Zener PMPS 254 ATrak Dose Question ?

nice blue! :mrgreen:
thank goodness he doesn't have a UTI! one less thing to worry about. :-D

I was advised by Jill to aim for a peak in the 130-180 range, so this is an improvement over the past few days.
when you get back, we may want to aim for nadirs a little lower... in the 110 - 160 alphatrak (80 - 130 human meter) range in order to get enough insulin in zener to pull the whole range down.

Any suggestions if his BG values continue to get lower as far as leaving dose the same or decreasing? I am a little nervous to see blues, it's been awhile!
i understand being a little nervous seeing blue the day before you're leaving. however, the 180 (alphatrak) was a beautiful number to see. 180 is nowhere near being dangerous. i was more concerned about him hanging out in such high numbers.

you have a good plan in place for while you're gone. cypro should solve the appetite problems and you have a vet tech who will be getting preshot and mid-cycle tests staying at your home with zener. make sure she knows to leave food out for him before she leaves for work and before she goes to bed.
 
Re: 07/05/11 Zener PMPS 254 ATrak Dose Question ?

AMPS 420 (with food on board)
+3 393 ate about 2 oz of wet food between shot time, +1 and +2
Trip to vet around +4 - tests were good, so no UTI :!:
+6 253 going down at last :!:
+10 180 - we haven't seen blue in a couple of days
PMPS 254
+2 259

Having a little trouble getting the big guy to eat tonight. He probably can tell we are getting ready to leave tomorrow. Used the appetite stimulant and got him to eat about his normal at +1 and +2.
 
Re: 07/05/11 Zener PMPS 254 ATrak Dose Question ?

Thanks for taking a look Jill, and for calming my jittery nerves! I will make sure our vet tech knows about leaving food out for him when she goes to work and at night. She will be emailing me his BG values from her mobile phone so I should be able to post to the FDMB while away, just in case.

Thanks for the plan for when I return and for getting lower numbers. I will not be traveling again until the end of August, and am still off work until school begins mid-August, so less stress on Zener and his moms in trying to get this values lower. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 07/05/11 Zener PMPS 254 ATrak Dose Question ?

i just had another thought...
does zener hang out in a particular room during the day and /or at night? if so, you could ask her to put a dish of food out for him in that room (in addition to his regular place for meals). in other words, make it easy for him to find food if he feels himself dropping. most kitties will self-feed.

enjoy your trip! you actually have better coverage for zener than most of us do when we're away.
being able to post if you have any questions or concerns while you're gone is a bonus.
 
Re: 07/05/11 Zener PMPS 254 ATrak Dose Question ?

Jill & Alex said:
i just had another thought...
does zener hang out in a particular room during the day and /or at night? if so, you could ask her to put a dish of food out for him in that room (in addition to his regular place for meals). in other words, make it easy for him to find food if he feels himself dropping. most kitties will self-feed.

I always like you thoughts, such good information! He has about three places these days he likes to eat. And often I am following him around with a small bowl, putting it in front of him in all sorts of locations. He has been enjoying a "picnic" lately, when I put his bowl outside on the back porch. That's a great idea to have his food in more than one location!

Jill & Alex said:
enjoy your trip! you actually have better coverage for zener than most of us do when we're away.
being able to post if you have any questions or concerns while you're gone is a bonus.
Thanks, I feel better about leaving now. :smile:
 
hi anne,

great to see that nice little 180 today! yay zener! i hope you can get away and have a good vacation. i'm leaving friday for a couple of weeks, so won't be by to check on zener, but i trust all is going to go well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top