07/04 Mouse PMPS 244, +2 250, +4.2 139, +5 138, +7 194

Shot the whole half unit dose after a 244 PMPS... I don't know if I'm going to make it tonight... Barely made it through today and only got about a half hour nap in.:(
 
Saw your post on Facebook too. There is absolutely no reason you can't skip tonight. Tell yourself it was a furshot (and we never re-shoot a furshot). Get a good night's sleep!

You're not going to be helping Mouse if you make yourself sick.
 
Saw your post on Facebook too. There is absolutely no reason you can't skip tonight. Tell yourself it was a furshot (and we never re-shoot a furshot). Get a good night's sleep!

You're not going to be helping Mouse if you make yourself sick.
Already shot the full half unit dose an hour and a half ago :(
 
OK....get a +2 ....if he's dropping, carb him up, leave extra down and go to bed.

Tomorrow night, unless there's something really unusual going on, please just skip the PM shot. We have people skip shots so they can go to a concert, due to a birthday party, get home late and don't want to work back to their usual shot time and a million other reasons that are a lot less important than the caretaker's health.

Just a hint...when you post, if you have a question, be sure to use the ? prefix in your subject line (and you could also add something like "Should I shoot?" to your subject line. The people who scan the forum look for 911's first and then look for posts with questions. Once you get an answer to your question, you can remove the ? prefix.

If you still aren't getting replies, comment on your own post. Anytime anybody comments on a thread, it takes it back to the top of the page. This forum can move really fast sometimes so threads can get buried pretty fast sometimes.
 
+2 will be in about 7 minutes.... Can I let you know what the +2 is so you can advise on whether I should give mc or HC food out? Would breaking the cycle mess her up a lot, set her back in progress or put her in danger of developing keytones? The reason I asked about keytones is that I don't have a full understanding of them and although she has no history of keytones and has come up negative all 3 times she had urinalysis done at vets I can't take that chance because I can't afford DKA treatment or hospitalization.
 
Since she doesn't have a history of ketones, it's not something you should worry yourself sick over. If she were to stop eating, become very lethargic, started hiding, then you'd want to test her. They make urine ketone test strips and there are also meters that measure both glucose and ketones (but the ketone test strips are about $1 each).

ETA.....here's a good article explaining ketones so hopefully it will help you get a better understanding of them.
 
Since she doesn't have a history of ketones, it's not something you should worry yourself sick over. If she were to stop eating, become very lethargic, started hiding, then you'd want to test her. They make urine ketone test strips and there are also meters that measure both glucose and ketones (but the ketone test strips are about $1 each).

ETA.....here's a good article explaining ketones so hopefully it will help you get a better understanding of them.
I do have urine keytones test strips but can't afford to get a blood one right now. I had used the urine keytone strips a couple of times before her last urinalysis because she wasn't eating very well but always came up negative. Her +2 is 250.
 
Since she doesn't have a history of ketones, it's not something you should worry yourself sick over. If she were to stop eating, become very lethargic, started hiding, then you'd want to test her. They make urine ketone test strips and there are also meters that measure both glucose and ketones (but the ketone test strips are about $1 each).

ETA.....here's a good article explaining ketones so hopefully it will help you get a better understanding of them.
Should I give her some medium carb food. Or do you think it would be ok to just give her her usual LC food. I always leave out some frozen and fresh LC FF pate for her to snack on through the night.
 
Since she doesn't have a history of ketones, it's not something you should worry yourself sick over. If she were to stop eating, become very lethargic, started hiding, then you'd want to test her. They make urine ketone test strips and there are also meters that measure both glucose and ketones (but the ketone test strips are about $1 each).

ETA.....here's a good article explaining ketones so hopefully it will help you get a better understanding of them.
She has had excess glucose in her urine all 3 times she has urinalysis done. Each time it has said GLU 1000 mg/dL and KET negative... but isn't sugar spilt over into the urine a sign of keytones? Honestly I'm even more confused now.
 
Last edited:
Sorry...got pulled away.

No, sugar spilling over into the urine means he's over renal threshold. Renal threshold is the point where the blood glucose is so high that the kidney's can't filter it all out so it "spills over" into the urine
 
Sorry...got pulled away.

No, sugar spilling over into the urine means he's over renal threshold. Renal threshold is the point where the blood glucose is so high that the kidney's can't filter it all out so it "spills over" into the urine
We're a little over +4 and she's at 139
 
Looking like a repeat of the AM cycle of 7/2. Bounce clearing cycles can have later nadirs. Did she get some food at +4?
I gave her a snack after +4 test... Already been struggling with no sleep and no way to make it up during the day but mouse loves throwing lower numbers at night lol.
 
Back
Top