? 07/03 Jaxon AMPS 277 +4 221 +6 299

Allison K

Member Since 2021
Noticed during the cycles so far, the +6 is still over 200. We have only been on insulin since June 30 (in the evening) though, so not sure if I should just stick with the 0.5 or up it to the prescribed 1 unit. This is the 6th 12 hour cycle on insulin.
 
With both dosing protocols, we hold the starting dose for a week for the Lantus depot to build.

Since you are feeding LC wet and test enough, you could actually follow TR. It allows for faster increases in the dose, thereby getting the cat to it's optimal dose sooner. Is that something you'd be comfortable doing? SLGS is more suited to people who either feed dry or are unable to test every day.

Link to your previous post.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...297-6-293-10-239-pmps-320-3-223-6-302.249316/
 
Hi Allison. You are doing a good job at testing. You might want to consider the TR after your initial week. You will be able to increase more often.
 
I am able to test this frequently for a limited time, due to limited supplies. I also do not have supplies to test for ketones which TR indicates is required. I am not worried about increasing too often, just concerned that the 0.5 dose is too low based on the numbers I am seeing. I plan on waiting till at least the 7-10 days for it to be proper depot levels to ensure I am correct in that though.
 
I am able to test this frequently for a limited time, due to limited supplies. I also do not have supplies to test for ketones which TR indicates is required. I am not worried about increasing too often, just concerned that the 0.5 dose is too low based on the numbers I am seeing. I plan on waiting till at least the 7-10 days for it to be proper depot levels to ensure I am correct in that though.
Allison, I do not test for ketones. Only when I have Susie at the vet. I probably should but Susie is rarely really high. I think it is more for kitties in really high numbers and your Jaxon is not. Yes, wait the full week and then, even with SLGS, we can take you up. You are doing fine. Glad you are here!
 
I also do not have supplies to test for ketones which TR indicates is required
Allison, I do not test for ketones.
Allison & Summer - *please* test for ketones. Testing for ketones is not tied to a dosing method. I mentioned this in a previous reply to Allison (link) but I'll try to provide even more info here:

I pulled up the dosing methods (link) and testing for ketones is listed for both dosing methods as diabetics are especially prone to them - even if you are not following a dosing method here and you have a diabetic cat, you should still test for them. The basic recipe for developing diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA) = an insufficient supply of insulin + inappetance + infection OR other systemic stresses. I'll re-post two great resources -

Ketones, Ketoacidosis, and Diabetic Cats: A Primer on Ketones
Ketones, Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA), and Blood Ketone Meters (I like the graphic in this one...the info is basically the same as the first link)

All diabetics should be tested for ketones (when Jax was in higher numbers, I should have been testing daily but didn't know anything about ketones at the time; once I learned about ketones, I tested him weekly as he was tightly regulated and had no known history of ketones).

Please test. Use the ketostix (or similar where you dip in fresh urine; just read the instructions for the specific brand you buy as you need to read them at a specified number of seconds after dipping them). You could save your kitty's life by catching ketones early :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Sorry for repeating myself but it's very important to test for ketones :cat:
 
Ketostix for testing ketones are very cheap and easy to find at most human pharmacies. I totally agree with what Susanne said. Ketones can be very dangerous, and lead to an expensive hospital stay if DKA happens. Especially when kitty is new to diabetes and in higher numbers, testing is important.

As for dosing, the depot takes 5-7 days to build when you first start insulin. And since you've seen numbers under 300, you would hold at least 5 days on TR, 7 if following SLGS.
 
Back
Top