07/03/14 Jake's AMPS 127 @ 6:15am

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi! I want to add my welcome to you and Jake! Are you Cory? Just want to make sure i'm calling you by the right name! :mrgreen:

Here's your post from yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=121179

I'm not sure what you ended up doing this morning, if you shot late or skipped the shot. If you did skip, it was fine, but i want to tell you a little bit about how Lantus works. Lantus works better with lower numbers than it does with higher numbers. When you shoot a lower number, Lantus can hold the blood sugar basically flat, so the curve is either very gentle or even a straight line throughout the cycle. it's a whole different game to shoot low numbers than it is to shoot high. It's very counter-intuitive to me, but that's how it works.

When you have a little more data, you'll be ready to shoot lower numbers. Experienced people shoot most everything over 50's. When i see a low preshot, i think "OPPORTUNITY!" It's like a gift - shooting low lets you reduce the entire blood sugar range and helps flatten things out. When that happens, the pancreas can heal and begin producing its own insulin again. Here are a couple of spreadsheets of cats that have recently gone off of insulin (OTJ = Off The Juice). Scroll down and look at the amps for the point where the people begin shooting green numbers under 100 - then look at the rest of that cycle and what the numbers do in the following 12 hrs. It's amazing how it flattens things out. When that happens the cat feels better and cats begin to go down the dosing scale.

Davidson, Peyton, Dimitri

You'll have another opportunity - i just want to give you these now so you can consider what you want to do in advance. Some folks just jump in and go for it, some want to gradually reduce their no-shoot number to 150, then 100, then 50. Your choice - just choose the time to shoot low when you can be available to monitor. We always encourage a +1 and +2 every time you shoot lower than you have before. If you get another low preshot, post here and ask for help. while you're waiting, don't feed Jake. Here is a post with complete info on what to do if you're faced with a low preshot: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Glad you're here! It's a steep learning curve at the beginning, but we'll help you figure it out, and before long you'll have it.
 
Thanks, this helps a lot! I'm glad you explained how Lantus works. But, when it's low, should I give him his existing dose of 2 units?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top