? 07/02 Mowgli AMPS=276, +6=197 Dose Increase?

Jaime & Mowgli

Member Since 2021
Last Thread

Long time no see! Just wanted to update everyone on Mowgli's status.

As I mentioned in our last thread, Mowgli was displaying inappetence in the beginning of June when we started him on Cabergoline. Around the same time he began to make it more difficult on my mom to both test him and to give him his insulin. So we decided to stop administering Cabergoline until we could get everything back under control.

At the same time I tried to get a hold of our vet but he was on vacation. We decided to switch Mowgli's food from a raw diet with bones to one with egg shells in order to reduce the phosphorus just in case the higher serum phosphorus level seen in his last blood test had anything to do with his reduced appetite. Well I am happy to report that slowly but surely his appetite came back to normal! :)

In the meantime, our vet returned my call (even though he is still no vacation) and we discussed the situation. He recommended that we gradually re-introduce Cabergoline and to consider EOD dosing. We decided on this strategy and right now we are giving Mowgli 0.4mL every other day compared to the full dose of 0.6mL, and have not seen any ill effects yet!

Fast forward to today, and we have had to increase the Levemir dose to 15u. The day of 06/28 Mowgli had his first set of greens in almost a month even though we made use of R insulin to help get his BG down. We decided to hold the dose of 15u for a little while longer since it had been so long since he had any greens, but I am wondering if we should increase his dose to 16u tonight. What do you all think?

@Wendy&Neko
 
I'm glad you've got a cabergoline solution that seems to work. Maybe later on you can try every day again. And as you said, maybe the diet and phosphorus also were contributors.

As for dose, I'd be tempted to sneak it up a bit, but not much. Maybe a 0.5 unit increase in way of an experiment? But only when you've got a stretch you know you can get those later PM tests in.
 
I'm glad you've got a cabergoline solution that seems to work. Maybe later on you can try every day again. And as you said, maybe the diet and phosphorus also were contributors.
Hi Wendy! Yes, we're going to try working up to a full dose every other day and see if we can go to every day at some point. My mom was very clear with me that she would not give Cabergoline if she noticed Mowgli's mood or body language go down. I told her I agree, after all she is the one that sees him day to day and can notice how he's feeling.

As for dose, I'd be tempted to sneak it up a bit, but not much. Maybe a 0.5 unit increase in way of an experiment? But only when you've got a stretch you know you can get those later PM tests in.
I think increasing tonight to 15.5u is good timing considering we have the long weekend ahead.
 
Back
Top