07/02 Kiki's Charlie AMPS 86, +4 31, +4,5 40

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kiki's Charlie

Member Since 2014
Can I reduce the dose twice in two days? Charlie went under 2,8 (European numbers) yesterday so I lowered the dose from 1,5 to 1,25. Today she went down to 1,7 (but actually seemed perfectly fine)... It's a record low and I'm a bit worried. So my question is: Should I reduce the dose tonight to 1,0?
Kiki
 
I would say, that normally we don't recommend two dose reductions in a row as Lantus is a depot insulin and some of the BGs you are seeing now are still from the larger depot built up from the 1.50 dose, as the depot takes a while to drain just like it takes a while to build up (a couple to a few days probably). But, with the two 30s in two days and todays being 31 (Good Catch, by the way) and that's pretty low, I tend to think that doing the extra reduction to 1.00 would be okay as you can always go back up. Let's see what other opinions you get, first throughout the day.
 
i'm reading your notes and wondering about using the vet's meter. Was it an Alphatrak? Those are meters made for pets and they read a little higher (somewhere from 18 points to 30%) than human meters. If you are using a human meter (which i think you are) and the vet's meter is for pets, his meter is going to read higher than yours. It's probably going to be less confusing if you just stick with your own meter.

As far as your dose goes, i agree with Dyana. Typically we would say to hold the dose after the first dose reduction and assume that if she went below 50 in the next few cycles, it's the previous dose still causing the low numbers.

But it looks to me like Charlie is mostly flattening out. I'd really encourage you to make certain you get a pm cycle check every evening - she is starting to move down the dosing scale, which is wonderful, but it means you have to be even more aware of her low numbers. And with so many cats having their lowest numbers at night, that makes it even more important.

I think i'd go to 1.0u tonight and try to hold it there for a few cycles, if possible. When cats are going down the dosing scale you have to just follow their lead. If she trends back up, ie, not just a bounce tomorrow or tonight, but in the next couple of days not during a bounce, if her numbers go up, go back up to 1.25u without delaying.

overall, charlie's looking great! congratulations.
 
I'm using a 'g-pet' meter from Woodley. It's definitely for animals. I don't know the make of the one from the vet. Every time they screw up my order of strips (and it happens a lot), they let me borrow theirs, that's why I go back and forth. But now I'm stocked up on test strips for a while, so that shouldn't be a problem.
I'll give her 1 unit tonight, and yes will try to get more PM tests in. I'm aware of it, it's just not that easy with my schedule.
Thanks for the advice and encouragement!
Kiki :-D
 
ok, yikes - if that's a pet-calibrated meter, 68 becomes the equivalent of a 50 on a human meter. 31 is dangerously low on a human meter but even lower equivalent on a human meter. You want to try to keep her above 68 and reduce if she goes below 68.

Would you make a giant note that you're using a pet meter on your spreadsheet, please?

edited to correct sentence "equivalent of 50 on a human meter."
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top