07/01 Max AMPS 155 +6 43 +10 178 PMPS 252 +3 277 +4.5 279

Status
Not open for further replies.

hollymayb

Member Since 2010
Hello Everybody!

Nothing like a lively pig wrestling to get you going first thing in the morning!! This morning pig=Max, and wow, is he strong. He started coming by at 5am to tell us it was time for food, but when shot/breakfast time came around at 7am, he would not sit still for his test. He'll usually get up on the table & sit down, get his test, get his shot, get his treat, then run off to where we feed them. THIS morning, it took the 2 of us just to keep him still long enough to do everything! He wasn't being aggressive of anything, he just had a one track mind = FOOD!

DH was home with Max yesterday and misunderstood how much to feed him, so Max was getting double meals all yesterday. I decided not to feed before bed as I have been lately, so Max is back to a nice low number this AM.

Still not comfortable with the how much/how often to feed the little guys. I sort of want to feed just twice a day, it makes it easier to monitor appetite, and to see who is eating and who is not. When I feed an extra meal, Leo is not hungry enough to finish his meals and Max cleans them up. Their energy level is also higher (for better or worse) when they're fed just twice. What does everyone think?

Today is Canada Day! (Happy Canada Day! party_cat ) So I'm home and will be reporting in at regular intervals. Have a great day!

Yesterday's Thread

AMPS 155 (fed 3 oz 8% carb food)
+1 relaxing
+2 very active, play fighting
+2.5 starting to ask for food
+3 ~104 (fed 1 oz 7% carb food)
+4 napping
+5 still napping
+6 ~43 (fed 1 oz 7% carb food)
+6.25 ~58 (fed another 1 oz wet food)
+6.5 ~76 no symptoms, chilling & having a bath
+8 ~81
+9 relaxing & napping
+10 178
+11 relaxing & affectionate
PMPS 252 (fed 3 oz 7% carb wet food)
+3 277
+4.5 279 (we woke him up for a test since he looked like he was convulsing, but he must have just been having a really good dream)



Holly + the furry monkeys of doom & destruction.
 
Re: 07/01 Max AMPS 155

Final question- I know at least one of you feeds JUST twice a day. Does anyone else do this? Does it work for you?

hi!

Happy Canada day to you too!

I just wanna add some input on your question last nite.


I learned from Jill(&Alex) to feed mini meals. It does work for some kitties, but it is also suggested your kitty have food thru the day and cycles.
Small snacks thru the day can really help plus help support the pancreas. Some kitties do very well on it.

Let's see what others can suggest for you, ok?
 
Re: 07/01 Max AMPS 155

There's really no "rule" about how often to feed. It tends to fall into the ECID (every cat is different) category and how food influences your cat's numbers or how you want to use food to manipulate those numbers. One of the reasons that many of us will feed small, frequent meals is that there is less of an impact on BG. It keeps metabolism stoked. The other reason is that one large meal causes the pancreas to work harder. Providing there are still functioning beta cells (the cells in the pancreas that produce insulin), when you feed, the pancreas starts to release and produce insulin. A big meal causes the pancreas to work hard to lower BG. Smaller meals that are spread out doesn't cause the pancreas to work as hard and the work is spaced out.

I use food to manipulate Gabby's cycle. She's prone to big drops early in the cycle. To offset this, I divide her food up and feed her meals over the first several hours of the cycle. It doesn't look like Max drops this way so it may not be the best alternative for him.

As far as amount of food, if you take a look at Dr. Lisa's site in the section on feline obesity, she gives some guidelines regarding calories. This link also has info on how to figure out your cat's daily calorie requirements.
 
Re: 07/01 Max AMPS 155

First, are you loving these numbers or what?
My gut instincts are telling me he needs to be eating plenty during this food transition coupled with him headed for a decrease in dose.
He may have been aggressively hungry this morning because he went low last night. Cats know to eat when they are low.
I wouldn't mess around with trying to control how much he eats right now. When you are in safer territory you can do that.
 
Re: 07/01 Max AMPS 155

You received a lot of great information on the food thing.....great stuff, no?
Beautiful AMPS for your rambunctious Max this morning! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 07/01 Max AMPS 155

:mrgreen: Great AMPS this morning, and :lol: about DH overfeeding! ohmygod_smile My DH had a hard time with the food amounts for a while too! And I also laughed about the pig wrestling. I remember having to do that with my Max sometimes too. :-D

I'm interested to see where things go today with the nice blue number this morning and you being home to watch him.
 
Re: 07/01 Max AMPS 155 +3 104 +6 43 YIKES!

OK, tell me what to do!!

We're at +6 and Max is testing at 43. He doesn't show any symptoms, but he's been napping for the last 2 hrs. He came right away when I called him for his test, and is not wolfing down 1 oz. of 7% carb wet food.

Is this too low? Should I feed him more? Should I give him higher carb wet food? When should I test again?

This is only the 2nd green I've had and I don't know if I'm doing this right- please help.

Thanks,

Holly

PS- going to go re-read the hypo sheet.
 
Re: 07/01 Max AMPS 155 +3 104 +6 43 YIKES! Anybody out there?

he had a low carb snack after this reading, right? Then test again in 1/2 hour to see if he went up. If not, you can give a couple tsp of gravy from the high carb food. This is not too low and it's late enough in the cycle that Max's number should be heading up any time now. Yay Max!
 
Re: 07/01 Max AMPS 155 +3 104 +6 43 +6.5 76 (after food)

I was getting a little worried there, thanks for the hand-holding Libby.

So, in total I've fed Max 2 oz in the last hour, and he's back up to 76. I'll check him again in an hour or so.

Does this mean we should be decreasing his dose? We aren't usually here in the middle of the day to test or feed, so I'm a little worried.

Suggestions?

Holly
 
Re: 07/01 Max AMPS 155 +3 104 +6 43 +6.5 76 (after food)

Please test again in an hour to be sure he is staying up.

And yes, Max has earned a dose reduction! I would reduce to 1.25 units. He will probably bounce from being in the 40's, so if he is high at PMPS then you can shoot the 1.5 units one last time to help with the bounce. If he's not that high, then reduce tonight.

The food change has made quite a difference for Max. :smile:
 
Re: 07/01 Max AMPS 155 +3 104 +6 43 +6.5 76 (after food)

No kidding! I just can't believe it!!

Thanks for being there, and I'll check in again in an hour.

Holly
 
Re: 07/01 Max AMPS 155 +3 104 +6 43 +6.5 76 (after food)

I would imagine there is little difference behind the basics when talking about foods and balancing blood sugars.
Just looking online :
Why are small frequent meals better than large meals?
Small frequent meals can help with controlling portions by preventing excessive hunger. However, the need for small frequent meals in people living with diabetes needs to be assessed individually. Depending on the type of meals and snacks, eating every few hours can keep blood
glucose levels elevated. We should have 3 meals a day to provide our body with energy through out the day, but also to help distribute intake of carbohydrate over the day. Our meals should be spread 4-6 hours apart to give our body enough time to use glucose from the blood. When our body gets food at regular intervals, we can control our blood glucose better.
from - http://www.diabetes.ca/files/south-asian-faqs.pdf

You could try using an auto feeder; I use one for Shadoe, but with Oliver around, if he goes through his bucket of food, he likely helps himself to a bit of hers from the feeder. Here's the feeder I have:
Petsafe 5-meal Auto Feeder
 
Re: 07/01 Max AMPS 155 +3 104 +6 43 +6.5 76 +8 81

Thanks for the help everybody. We were thinking about a timed feeder, and I think that we'll need to pick one up.

He's back up a little to 81; is it safe to leave him at that (with no extra food) and test again in 2 hrs?

Holly
 
Re: 07/01 Max AMPS 155 +3 104 +6 43 +6.5 76 +8 81

Yes, you can leave, you are late in the cycle and he has a good rise going.
 
Re: 07/01 Max AMPS 155 +6 43 +8 81 +10 178 PMPS 252 +3 277

Wow, what a day! We have a bit of a bounce going on, + we've reduced the dose to 1.25, so numbers are a little higher this evening. I might not get another test in tonight, so see you all tomorrow!

Again & always, thank-you all for everything, especially today when I was losing it!

Holly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top