06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 PMPS 346

Status
Not open for further replies.

Iorwen & Tray

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18477&view=unread#unread

:YMSIGH: Tray went the wrong way last night, climbing into the evening. A nasty pink this morning. Perhaps he over induldged on that yummy cinnamon cake Stu baked? It was too delicious to deny. Or is it time to increase his dose? The vet thinks 4U might be the magick number but wants be to inch my way there slowly. I'm home for the next couple of days for the most part so it would be a good time to go up in dose. Advice would be much appreciated.
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

Good morning.
I am wondering if Tray was blue yesterday and all the pink is a bounce. It does look like you have room to increase to 3.25u but I would wait until some "smart" people chime in. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

Hey there! I can't give dose advice, but I do think it would really help if you had more numbers/tests on the spreadsheet so we can see what's really happening in the cycles. Plenty of times I got mid-cycle readings for Kasha that showed her going into the blues or greens but the preshots were in the reds, so I would never have known what was going on without those mid-cycle values. Since you'll be home more, hopefully you can get a little more data...

And Kasha says 365 is nothing... She spent a month or so with preshots in the reds (and blacks - ugh). During that time, a pink preshot was a happy day!!!
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

Ditto what Kasha said. :-D
I suspect that Tray is going blue or green in the mid cycle range.
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

D and Noisy said:
Ditto what Kasha said. :-D
I suspect that Tray is going blue or green in the mid cycle range.

okay, I will do a curve tomorrow and perhaps you could take a look and give me your input then? the vet wants me to bump his dose up but I don't want to go ahead without the experts here weighing in.
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

That Darn Birthday Cake!!!!! Come on down Please Tray!! Spot checks will help a lot!! Have a great day--- :mrgreen:
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

no dosing advice here ... tray, you know you look better in blue! What are you doing all the way up there? I know you like to keep mocha company but even she says you should move on down ....
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

The trick is catching him on a no bounce day, that is why it is good to get those spot checks in -- so that you don't miss the nadirs. One day he could be bouncing and pink then the next day green -- leaving you with pink PSs so you "think" you need to up dose but without seeing the whole cycle it is too hard to know and we don't like guessing. With Lantus, history over several days is the best way to find out what is going on. Long story to say get those spot checks in, especially at times that you are considering raising or lowering a dose. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

D and Noisy said:
The trick is catching him on a no bounce day, that is why it is good to get those spot checks in -- so that you don't miss the nadirs. One day he could be bouncing and pink then the next day green -- leaving you with pink PSs so you "think" you need to up dose but without seeing the whole cycle it is too hard to know and we don't like guessing. With Lantus, history over several days is the best way to find out what is going on. Long story to say get those spot checks in, especially at times that you are considering raising or lowering a dose. :mrgreen:

well unfortunately I have to work for a living so I'm not around during his nadir
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

It is so good to see all the PM cycle checks that you have on your SS...that is great that you are getting them!!
Lots of kitties go lower during the PM cycles too which is weird, (strange when the lows happen when you are ready for bed...)

If you can check him on your days off, that is all you can do, right?
You are doing a great job...it must seem impossible to deal with this when you are working full time....

So, if you can manage getting some AM cycle numbers on your days off...it would help fill in the blanks.
Hope you enjoy your days off...feels good to not have to go in, right? :YMHUG:
(thank you for your words of encouragement in our condo...that was so nice...) :mrgreen:
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

Ditto on all that was said above - it is so difficult to know what is going on without data. it was hard for me too when I was working. I gathered most of my data on the weekends, and during the evenings. It wasn't perfect, but over time it did give me a base from which to work, and know what Mannie was doing, hopefully, during the times when i could not test.

I suspect, though I am no dose expert, that this mornings pink is a bounce from yesterday's blues - and will hopefully clear quickly. You are doing a fantastic job. Hang in there - it does get better over time.

And yes: darn birthday cake! Stu and Mannie swore hat it was sugar free.... :lol:

Have a great day today!
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
If you can check him on your days off, that is all you can do, right?
You are doing a great job...it must seem impossible to deal with this when you are working full time....

Thank you for saying this. I'm just approaching burn out from wedding season and its even harder when Tray's #'s are all over the place. I'm sure I'll feel better about it all after some time to myself.
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

Sugar-free doesn't mean carb free! LOL...

I'm just weighing in the working for living comment: There's a reason Kasha gets most of her dosecreases on weekends... Cuz that's often the only time I can gather the data we need to see what's going on... I monitor at night, but I suspect she often goes lower during the day when I can't monitor to be sure) and then bounces (or just maintains at slightly higher numbers) at night... I need the day numbers then to really know what's going on.. I think she plans it that way. I'm sure if I were home all the time, Kasha would have gotten a number of dosecreases much sooner!
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

Wouldn't managing Tray's diabetes be so much easier if work wasn't a factor? But then again, there needs to be a way to pay for strips!!!

You are doing a great job getting PM checks. A couple of thoughts that may or may not be possible. If you can get a PM +11 (in other words, if you don't test immediately when you get up in the AM, if you can squeeze in a test before AMPS), it will tell you if numbers are heading up or down. Ditto for an AM +1, providing you're not out the door right after shot time. If you get home before PM shot time, an "in the door" test can also be helpful (and it looks like you're able to do these on some days). Obviously, if you are gone for close to 12 hours these strategies won't work, but I wanted to put it out there if you hadn't thought about it.

Weekends, especially holiday weekends, are ideal for running a curve or filling in some of the gaps on a SS. You do the best you can, unless you can have the butler and maid do the testing for you. (At least in my house, Gizmo refuses to help.)
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

I always do curves on Sundays when I'm home. I'm not always home on Saturdays or running around trying to catch up on errands. I like my job so I won't appologize for it. I'm doing my very best for Tray, I love him dearly.
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

Hi Iorwen, Consensus is that it is a bounce. So let's call it a bounce and you can use the Canada Day weekend to get in some curves! Stu doesn't think it was the cake!!!!!
Hang in there!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

Aww, hope you didn't feel I was picking on you for getting more tests. You are doing a great job and I totally understand not being able to get spot checks during work hours.
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

D and Noisy said:
Aww, hope you didn't feel I was picking on you for getting more tests. You are doing a great job and I totally understand not being able to get spot checks during work hours.

just ignore me. I am just very tired and feeling b*tchy. Technically supposed to be on vacation today but at work doing paper work so not in the best of moods.
 
Re: 06/30 Tray's AMPS 365 ADVICE Please

Iorwen & Tray said:
just ignore me. I am just very tired and feeling b*tchy. Technically supposed to be on vacation today but at work doing paper work so not in the best of moods.

I am feeling the same way... LOL...

If you go back to some of my early condos, I left very similar, frustrated posts like, "Hello? I have a life and work outside of the cats!". Of course, that was when I actually had a life outside of the cats - LOL!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top