06/27 Blackie PMPS 213, +2 166, +4.5 143

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46340

She's a bit lethargic due to the higher #s; her appetite's great, but I don't want to increase her food anymore than 8 oz. As it is, she's 12 lbs. Currently the 4th cycle on 3.75u. I forgot to get a check before bedtime.

How long does it take for an increase to show good #s?

Could it be that I failed to see anything when she was on the old insulin (vial), that her shed depleted so far back that I need to increase her doses to refill that shed?

MY WISH: For God to continue to help those who have gone through disasters... For God to heal the broken hearts of those who have lost a beloved pet and/or human... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ. Thank you, God, for helping Sienne's make a full and speedy recovery, and please continue to help her get rid of the ailment permanently.
 
Re: Questions: 06/27 Blackie AMPS 174

I think that you're asking a good question. I'm guessing your insulin was pretty toasty if it was 3 mos. old. If you look at Blackie's SS, numbers look like they may have been rising about 2 weeks ago.

I have no idea if my thinking is right on this but at least here's my logic. We ordinarily give a dose 3 days/6 cycles to evaluate whether it's working. However, with a cat starting on insulin, we give the dose from 5 - 7 days to fill the shed. With the new pen, you had 4 cycles at the old dose and now 4 cycles on this dose. I suspect the shed is refilled. However, I would give the current dose at least 6 cycles to see if it's working. With blue/green nadirs, you can hold the dose for up to 5 days according to the protocol.
 
Re: Questions: 06/27 Blackie AMPS 174

Sienne and Gabby said:
I think that you're asking a good question. I'm guessing your insulin was pretty toasty if it was 3 mos. old. If you look at Blackie's SS, numbers look like they may have been rising about 2 weeks ago.

Yeah, that's what I was seeing, too. Only I was simply not paying attention.

Sienne and Gabby said:
I have no idea if my thinking is right on this but at least here's my logic. We ordinarily give a dose 3 days/6 cycles to evaluate whether it's working. However, with a cat starting on insulin, we give the dose from 5 - 7 days to fill the shed. With the new pen, you had 4 cycles at the old dose and now 4 cycles on this dose. I suspect the shed is refilled. However, I would give the current dose at least 6 cycles to see if it's working. With blue/green nadirs, you can hold the dose for up to 5 days according to the protocol.

I think you're thinking is correct on this, Sienne. It's been a long time since I've done any dosecreases of any kind.
 
Re: 06/27 Blackie PMPS 213

PMPS 213, 3.50f (accidental dose), 1.20 oz. FF T&G, 0.30 oz. Evo 95% C&T (the amount of Evo will be decreased once the transition is completed, or perhaps sooner... Currently getting help with the feeding schedule by Julia).

The PMPS # is not a surprise to me as she cleaned up the contraband before I realized what had happened. So, I expected a high #, and she didn't disappoint.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top