06/27/14 Mom-mom AMPS 410, +7 422, Not feeling good

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom-Mom

Member Since 2014
Mom-mom has not been eating as much as usual the last 2 days. She probably eats 2 of the 3oz. cans per day, she usually eats 3 or more. I haven't changed her food. Could this be from the heat? I do have central air but it still gets hot in here. And all of a sudden, she is starting to hide under the bed again.
 
Laura

Have you tested her for ketones?

You've done a good job of getting more tests since the p.m. cycle of 6/22 and I don't see anywhere in there that she could have had time to go low and come back up. I'm worried that she could be having some dental issues and if she has an infection and she's not eating and the insulin is not enough, she could be at risk for developing ketones and if they do develop, then DKA.

My suggestions would be:
--test for ketones at least every single day; if you can catch her twice a day, I'd do it as long as her numbers are this high,

--get her in to see a vet to look at her mouth, check her temp, etc. and see if there is any potential infection going on; unfortunately, if there is a stray root that was left behind that has become infected, the vet might not be able to tell without digital dental X-rays which require anesthesia

--raise her dose of insulin but keep testing as much as you have been; she's been low enough on this dose to have earned a reduction (although it wasn't taken); but there is something else going on now that concerns me. These aren't bounce numbers at this point. I'd raise her dose to 2.5u as long as you can keep testing a few times during each cycle; we don't want her crashing down on you but her nadirs are pretty high right now.
 
I was thinking the same thing Marje about a possible dose increase. I have to pick up some keytone test strips, Oh yea what does DKA mean? Do you think this is just a little something, in other words she will be fine in a few days ? This cat is my whole entire world, you have no idea. I just think it possibly could be the heat. Maybe ??
So tonight go to a 2.5 then ????
 
Laura

I have no idea if it could be something that will pass and I doubt it is just the heat. But I would go to Walmart or another pharmacy immediately and get the urine ketone test strips and test her. DKA is diabetic ketoacidosis. Not to scare you but it can kill. And fast. The recipe for DKA is infection + not enough insulin + not enough food/water.

Every CG should have urine ketone strips in their home at all times. I think it is really important to test her for ketones as soon as you possibly can....which means you have to wait until she pees and you have to catch some.
 
Please update us on the ketone test....
teeth are such a major part of a cat's health.... they just have to be in good shape.

If you have trouble getting urine samples, there are lots of different methods .....
we are all very creative about it around fdmb. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top