06/27/11 Zener's PMPS 320; +2 358 ATrack

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's Condo 06/26/11

Good morning! We are on day three at 1.25 u, I believe it is the 6th cycle at this dose, but I am a little confused on if a cycle is 12 hours, or 24. I've posted test results on Zener's SS, just in case I am not accurate with my language here. Zener's AMPS BG was below 400 for the first time since at 1.25 u, so I'm thinking that's a good thing! Are things looking pretty stable or do I need to start thinking about changing his dose?

Today 06/27/11
PSAM 379 ATrak
+3 392


Also, I am struggling a little with shot times to accommodate work and such. I read about the importance of keeping the shots at regular 12 hour intervals and have been doing a pretty good job at that, varying by 5 minutes here and there. My question is I need to move his shots from our current 8:30-8:40 times to 7-7:20 to accommodate the work schedule of our vet tech who will be taking care of (and staying at night) with Zener from 6 July - 12 July while I travel to visit elderly family. Is it best to shift gradually to that time frame by 5-10 minutes a day or is there a better way to move times when using Lantus!

Thanks in advance for any help!
 
Re: 06/27/11 Zener's AMPS 379 ATrack Help Dose and shot time

Hi Anne & Zener! I don't think I've visited your condo before!

A "cycle" is 12 hours, starting when you give the shot.

When you shift shot time, you do want to do it gradually. I believe you can shift it 30 minutes per day (in 15 minute increments - one in the morning, one in the evening) and have minimal impact on the shed. I've been a bit more conservative when shifting shot times, shifting 15 minutes per day, and doing the shift with the morning injections.

I'm going to leave your dosing question for more experienced eyes.

Have a wonderful day!

Amy
 
Re: 06/27/11 Zener's AMPS 379 ATrack Help Dose and shot time

Thanks for visiting and for the information! Zener is a special guy as he has cerebellar hypoplasia and we've had a difficult run getting him regulated and not getting the best guidance. I am so grateful to have found this group! I will wait patiently for dosing advice.
 
Re: 06/27/11 Zener's AMPS 379 ATrack Help Dose and shot time

We have never stopped by to say hello, so "Hello!" Like Amy mentioned, you can gradually move it 30 minutes per day (15 minutes at each shot). Hope you have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 06/27/11 Zener's AMPS 379; +3 392 ATrack Help Dose & tim

Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the information. I'm learning about the shed, and will start the shift tomorrow. Seems like I should have plenty of time moving the shot 30 min per day and get to the right time by 6 July. Thanks again!
 
Re: 06/27/11 Dose HELP Zener's AMPS 379;+3 392:+6 342 ATrack

Here's the values so far today.
06/27/11
PSAM 379 ATrak
+3 392
+6 342

This is Zener's 6th cycle at 1.25 u. He seems to be drinking a bit more today.

When should I think about changing his dose?

Thanks!
 
Re: 06/27/11 Dose HELP Zener's AMPS 379;+3 392:+6 342 ATrack

I would hold the dose. What you're seeing looks like a bounce from the blue and green numbers on 6/24. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear. I'd probably hold the dose for tonight and re-evaluate in the morning.
 
Re: 06/27/11 Dose HELP Zener's AMPS 379;+3 392:+6 342 ATrack

Thank you for the advice and information. I am learning so much from this group and did not know about the length of a bounce after low numbers. This makes perfect sense to me, so will stay the course and re-eval in the morning. I will continue posting his BG numbers on his SS for experienced eyes!

Fortiflora arrived today so will use this to stimulate appetite rather than the cypro. The past two days he has been eating his regular amount of food without too much persuasion, so that's a relief!

Thanks again!
 
Re: 06/27/11 Zener's AMPS 379;+3 392:+6 342;+10 380 ATrack

Unable to get the +9, so did a +10. Here is today so far, using the Alpha Trak meter.

06/27/11
PSAM 379 ATrak
+3 392
+6 342
+10 380

Holding dose at 1.25u tonight. Zener is feeling frisky this afternoon despite our warm June day in the high country. Made a lunge at a finch on the water fountain in his classic cerebellar hypoplasia swagger - no luck for him, but good luck for the finch! Will keep posting on his SS.

cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 06/27/11 Zener's AMPS 379;+3 392:+6 342;+10 380 ATrack

HI!! i think this is the first time we've visited your condo!

just dropping in to say hello, and thanks for sharing the info on meters...

celi & binks
 
Re: 06/27/11 Zener's AMPS 379;+3 392:+6 342;+10 380 ATrack

Thanks for dropping by our condo! You're welcome about the info on the meter. My vet recommended it over a human meter and at the time, I really didn't know much and went with that. I've been able to find test strips for less than $1 each at www.americandiabeteswholesale.com . They have been very fast in filling orders and getting them to me. Just in case, I am going to get a Walgreen's glucometer as a back up, after payday! There is a 24 hr Walgreen's near where I live.

After struggling with getting Zener regulated and switching to Lantus, seeing how he felt much better immediately, I found this website and message board. I was really getting desperate, I received help almost within minutes. Feel much better already, even though we're not where we want to be just yet!
 
Re: 06/27/11 Zener's PMPS 320 still going down; ATrack

Just checked Zener's PMPS BG, here is where we are this evening:
06/27/11
PSAM 379 ATrak
+3 392
+6 342
+10 380
PSPM 320

I'll get a +2 or +3, depending on how long I can stay awake tonight. I'm beginning to appreciate the sleep deprivation of friends who have/had human babies!

The fortiflora arrived today and I sprinkled it on Zener's food after his PM shot. He ate like a starving wildcat! That stuff is magic! I had to bump his shot forward by 20 minutes tonight so that I will be able to get to a morning appointment. I still have to shift it forward to accommodate the work schedule of our vet tech pet sitter (she stays overnight too) when I am out of town 6-12 July. Will do it gradually as advised on the message board here.
 
Re: 06/27/11 Zener's PMPS 320 still going down; ATrack

Ah, this must be a good thing! I'm still new to the lingo, so do you mean there's no need to check until his AMPS?
 
06/27/11
PSAM 379 ATrak
+3 392
+6 342
+10 380
PSPM 320
+2 358

Numbers not dropping so I'm off to bed. Fortiflora worked great, no problem getting Zener to eat after his PM shot!
I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top