06/25 J.D. AMPS 379, +2 416, +4 400, +5.5 409, +10.5 382

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

06/24
337 PMPS
409 +2 (gave 0.0R)
270 +6.5

J.D. was strange last night. At PMPS he was acting kind of tired, kind of weak like (a little stumbily), not looking at me (and holding his head down), just not his happy self.
Although, he was eating, his tempurature was normal 100.9, and no ketones. At +2, I gave him some R and went to bed. At +6.5 we went for a walk, just mainly so I could see him walk and react (and because he likes midnight walks), and we cut it short because he was just not acting himself. When we got back to bed, he had his first poo since we went to the vet and it was solid!
He has peed maybe 5 or 6 times since we went to the vet, and from those I have gotten 4 ketone tests (all negative).
At AMPS he was fine, crawling all over me. Walking fine, hungry, anxiously ate treats. Gave me a sandpaper face wash on one side of my face until I could stand it no more, and I turned my cheek so he could do the other side. He's purring and back to normal, now. We had a nice walk outside this morning, and he was trotting, and just acting normal again.
I wonder if it's a side effect of the drugs (Clindamycin and Bio Sponge). I've tried to google it, and have found nothing relevant. Or is it his BGs?
I left a message this morning, for the vet to call me back. I partly don't understand why she wants us to keep giving the antibiotic (which doesn't even seem to be for UTIs in my google searches) when he doesn't have a UTI. Well, we are supposed to wait for Monday to be sure nothing has grown on the culture, but as of yesterday nothing had.

I'm just wishing for him to keep being happy and active and his normal self (like this morning) and for his numbers to come down, on their own, without (me messing with his liver's fright sensor by) giving R.
 
Re: 06/25 J.D. AMPS 379, +2 416

maybe he just needed that first poo to feel to better.
hope you are otherwise enjoying your visit.
come down from the sky JD
 
Re: 06/25 J.D. AMPS 379, +2 416, +4 400

dian and wheezer said:
maybe he just needed that first poo to feel to better.
hope you are otherwise enjoying your visit.
come down from the sky JD

Oh, I do hope so. Fingers crossed hard.

I do keep feeding him, so he's eating a lot more than normal. But, you're supposed to feed a starving (high BG) cat, right?
Maybe I shouldn't. :roll:

Okay, dose question: Should I up his dose again, tonight, or just be patient? He had a dose increase at PM on Thursday, so he's had 4 cycles on this dose. Maybe, if I'd stop giving R, he'd stop hanging out in red. So, I'm not planning on giving him any today, and see how he does.

I called the vet and just spoke to a receptionist and I was the only one talking and told her about all my concerns, and she just listened, and at the end I said "Could the antibiotics be causing him to feel nauseated (or strange)?" and she just said in a sweet little voice "It shouldn't". So, I made an appointment for Monday morning. I hope everything has resolved itself by then..or already has.
 
Re: 06/25 J.D. AMPS 379, +2 416, +4 400

J.D. luv, come on down from there so you and Mommie can relax and enjoy your vacation!

Tawny was way down at 65 this morning (which meant no shot cuz I had to leave) and she misses you. You don't belong up there in the sky high numbers!

Desi, Tawny & the Gang
 
Re: 06/25 J.D. AMPS 379, +2 416, +4 400

well, we know AB's can make cats feel ill. some nauseated, some diarrhea, some both, some will not eat. so I think it can play a part in feeling bad. then their is the higher numbers which can also make him feel yucky. I would feed if hungry but maybe a lesser amount? dunno. he could be stressed eventhough he does not appear to be. so many things we cannot tell with the little boogers
 
Re: 06/25 J.D. AMPS 379, +2 416, +4 400, +5.5 409

He feels relaxed enough to not spend all his time hiding under the bed and in the closet. The last I saw him, he was laying (sitting up laying, whatever that's called) on my bed, enjoying the fan.

We're off to go do the dreaded clothes shopping. :roll:

It is always nice to see you Desi and Tink and Tawny :-D You too, Dian. Thanks for visiting :-D
 
Re: 06/25 J.D. AMPS 379, +2 416, +4 400, +5.5 409

the way to tell if it's the AB is to discontinue it . . . i don't understand why they'd have JD on AB if he doesn't have an infection. that isn't logical. i guess monday you will get some answers, but if i were you, i think i would persist on "why are we giving AB?" until i felt satisfied that there was a legitimate reason.

in the meantime, sending JD well-wishes for him to come down from the rafters!
 
Re: 06/25 J.D. AMPS 379, +2 416, +4 400, +5.5 409

I don't know if you found this link on clindamycin. It can cause nausea and diarrhea.

I hope J.D.'s all done with feeling lousy. You don't need to feed high BG numbers. You don't want J.D. packing on weight. He should be getting his normal amount of food.
 
Re: 06/25 J.D. AMPS 379, +2 416, +4 400, +5.5 409

I'm glad to hear JD is feeling better but clindamycin is definitely not the AB of choice for urinary tract stuff. Usually baytril is a much better choice but you have to be careful with it and get the right dose. None of my cats
that have had baytril have ever gotten sick.

I hope his numbers come down and he continues to feel well. Poor JD!! Sending healing vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top