06/25/2020 - GIDEON BLUE - AMPS = 432 - Another inc tomorrow

Shiloh567

Member Since 2020
My Gideon Blue is pretty much staying in the RED. Tonight will be his 6th cycle on 1.5 units BID. The plan is to increase to 1.75 units BID tomorrow AM. I sure hope we will see some improvement. The vet initially prescribed Lantus 2 units BID. Other than the first shot, I never did 2 units again. We have bounced from 1 unit down to 0.5 unit when he dipped into the GREEN. So, now we have slowly been increasing his dosage. We started this journey 05/12/2020. Was hoping we would have had better results by now. Also hoping I am doing everything I can for my boy.

Correction - AMPS was 426 this morning, not 432. His +3 test was also 426.
 
Last edited:
Since you are following TR, and if you don't see anything below 300 before tomorrow morning, you can go up to 2 units in dose.
 
Ok. So, I am at 1.5 units and you want me to go right to 2 units, skipping over 1.75 units in the AM, correct? Just want to make sure. Thank you very much.
 
Yes, 2 units tomorrow, unless you see something below 300 tonight. From the TR protocol:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
 
Got it. Thanks for the info. If he is still above 300 tonight and tomorrow morning, we will increase Lantus to 2 units BID. My order from Mark's Marine Pharmacy (5 pens) should arrive tomorrow!
Have a great night! Off to work I go!
 
Back
Top