06/23 J.D. PMPS 470

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

I hope this works today. This computer is so slow.

Last night I went to the store and bought plain yogurt, canned 100% pumkin, and some what they call prawns here (large shrimp). J.D. licked up about a spoonful of the yogurt, and then didn't want anymore. At around +2.75, I put a glop of pumkin in a bowl and added about 1/2 can of beef FF and he ate some of that. He also ate a shrimp. At about 3:00am, which would be about +8, J.D. seemed to not be feeling well, and wouldn't eat any cat treats. I took him for a short walk outside, because he feels most comfortable in the deepest of the night for walking.

This morning at AMPS, he seemed a little more hisself and was purring a little and ate some of his treats and some food. I was hopeful, and knew it might be a looooong wait for a poo, since I figured he had emptied himself yesterday. Because he was 399, and possibly sick, I worried about his BG, and at +1.5 I gave him 0.05 or R. Then he pooed almost liquod.
I knew I would need to take him to the vet and patiently waited for my parents to get up...pacing the floor...
When we left for the vet at +2.75 he was 297, waiting in the waiting room at +3.5 (45 minutes later) he was 169.

The vet was very good. She seemed to know a lot (more than our regular vet, anyway) about diabetes. Right away, she said he needs a dental. She said she could refer me to someone. That we should go to a regular (vet) dentist, I guess she forgot that I wasn't from around here. Anyway, that's for the future, when we get home.

She examined him, and we went over his most recent blood work, discussed food, and my thoughts on what may have possibly caused this diarreha. She asked if I had any urine work (whatever the correct words are, I don't know) during his last exam, and I said no. I told her he gets bloodwork done twice a year. She said he should get urine work (again, what the terminology is, I don't know) done, too. That's a first I ever heard of that. Anyway, she suggested we do that, and I said go ahead. I told her that I had tested for ketones last night and the urine was not as clear as normal, and more yellow than normal. She asked if I wanted to watch, and I said no, but I was in the room. I told her that the last time they did a sterile sample at the ER that as soon as they had him on his back he peed in their face. He did it again to them :lol:

The urinalysis came back with blood in the urine. She will call me regarding whether the culture grows anything tomorrow (I think she said), and in the mean time he got Antirobe/Clintabs (which I think is Clindamycin), and something called Bio-Sponge Capsules which I'm supposed to sprinkle 1/4 capsule of the powder on his food twice a day. She also gave me some Metronidazole Tablets which I am supposed to wait for her phone call tomorrow, to start to give or not give.
Because he was falling so quickly at the vet, and I was worried about his not feeling well enough to eat enough, she said it was okay to give him some mirtazapine as we left the vet's office and to feed him when we got home.
He ate some food when we got home, and got his pills, and was last at 92, and under the influence of Mirtz.

Hopefully, this will do it. Crossed Fingers, and Knocking On Wood, and all that.

Meanwhile, my step mom is waiting patiently for J.D. to go up, so we can go shopping :roll: I need to get pee pads, J.D. has soiled all the ones I brought with me and used around his litter box to protect their carpet.
 
Re: 06/23 J.D. AMPS 399, +6 92 - back from vet

oh poor J.D. ... sorry you aren't feeling so well bud .. but your beanz got you the right meds to work on you and before you know it you'll be eating those big old shrimp like there's no tomorrow!
 
Re: 06/23 J.D. AMPS 399, +6 92 - back from vet

Dyana, I am sorry J.D. is not feeling well. Hopefully the meds will help clear up whatever is in his system. He is in my thoughts and prayers.

Pattie
 
Re: 06/23 J.D. AMPS 399, +6 92 - back from vet

Dyana, so sorry to hear J.D. is sick. She sounds like a good Vet. Sending some healing vines for the meds to kick in and help J.D. feel better.
 
Re: 06/23 J.D. AMPS 399, +6 92 - back from vet

Dyana,
could it be the change in climate and/or food that's doing that to J.D.?

sending prayers your way and for J.D. to feel better soon!
 
Re: 06/23 J.D. AMPS 399, +6 92 - back from vet

Bless your heart Dyana.....I'm so sorry JD is under the weather right now.....especially when you are on vacation and away from home.

Sending healing vines for JD.
 
Re: 06/23 J.D. AMPS 399, +6 92 - back from vet

Hugs to you and JD. Glad you got a vet you were confident in. Did you mention your Civvie having a little inappetance before you left? Her poop was all normal though right?
 
Re: 06/23 J.D. AMPS 399, +6 92 - back from vet

sorry J.D. isn't feeling well. I guess he felt like he wasn't getting his fair share of your attention while you're visiting with your dad. It sounds like he had a pretty thorough exam so hopefully the meds will fix him up easily.
 
Re: 06/23 J.D. AMPS 399, +6 92 - back from vet

Sending massive amounts of healing vines to JD. Does he want KTSS????? I hope he is much better soon, Dyana. I know this isn't how you pictured your visit with your dad. Hugs.
 
Re: 06/23 J.D. AMPS 399, +6 92 - back from vet

Marjorie, I've always wondered what KTSS stands for, but been too embarrassed to ask.
 
Re: 06/23 J.D. AMPS 399, +6 92, +7 120, +10 347 Dose Help Pl

If he has an infection, should I increase his dose, and to what? He is currently on s1.00.
 
Re: 06/23 J.D. AMPS 399, +6 92, +7 120, +10 347 Dose Help Pl

I also wanted to know if I should give him some more R, now, or in an hour, or at PMPS, or not.

He's still not eating a ton, like he normally does on Mirtz. On hindsight, I probably should have waited to give the Mirtz, because now he doesn't get anymore until Sunday. I was just afraid of his dropping, and should have resorted to something else instead, I guess.
 
Re: 06/23 J.D. AMPS 399, +6 92, +7 120, +10 347 Dose Help Pl

PMPS is in one hour. I guess, I'll just go up to a f1.00, unless anyone advises differently.
I think f1.00 will be okay. Any thoughts?
 
Re: 06/23 J.D. AMPS 399, +6 92, +7 120, +10 347 Dose Help Pl

sorry Dyana, I'm having computer issues. I'm online, but for some reason I can't open spreadsheets. Annoying! I see that J.D. had 90s today. In general, how low has he gotten on this dose recently?

It sounds like you have two options, use R or increase his Lev. I wouldn't do both at the same time, especially if you can't guarantee he'll eat.
 
Re: 06/23 J.D. AMPS 399, +6 92, +7 120, +10 347 Dose Help Pl

He hasn't had any greens on this dose. His last dose was ff1.00 (a slight bit of light after the 1 unit mark) and he went to 26 on that.

I was discussing J.D.'s bloodwork with the vet today and his BG was 436 the day he had his bloodwork done. She said have you ever heard of symolgy? I kind of nodded my head.
He was at ff1.00 and not much was happening, and then I increased to 1.25 and right away (that very cycle) he went to 36. I reduced the dose after shooting through the bounce (1 cycle) and he had another 36, but I did not reduce again.
Six cycles after the second 36, he had a 26, so I reduced to s1.00.

The vet and I did not discuss anything about dose. I just want to make sure his BG is not too high, with the not eating and the possible infection. I think going up with the Lev would be the best thing, since he dropped so fast today using the 0.05 of R. How much less R can I give, besides 0.0? I make my parents work around his BGs and shot schedule, and I feel guilty about it, but what can you do? I made sure they have Karo, and I have some HC.
 
Re: 06/23 J.D. AMPS 399, +6 92, +7 120, +10 347 Dose Help Pl

And, his shed was depleated when we skipped a dose for the long flight and car travel on Sunday.
 
Re: 06/23 J.D. AMPS 399, +6 92, +7 120, +10 347 Dose Help Pl

got the spreadsheet open (had to reboot, how annoying!). He hasn't had green in quite a while other than today, so I think you're fine to increase. If he is at the beginning of a bounce, then some R should be ok. You know J.D. much better than I do in that respect, so I'll defer to your judgment there. :smile:
 
Thanks Libby, I haven't shot yet, but will in a minute. My parents are waiting on the shot to go out to dinner. :roll:
I am going to increase his Lev. dose, and hope and wait patiently. Fingers crossed.
So, is R okay for tonight or tomorrow morning? I'm sorry, I'm in a hurry, and will not check back until after going out to dinner. Thanks for you help and support and advise.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top