06/22 Rocky/AMPS 319

Paula and Rocky

Member Since 2020
:D So happy that my vet agreed to switch Rocky to Lantus! I was about to change vets but when I went in today for what was going to be my last visit to this vet it was a new vet that agrees that Lantus is a superior insulin!!! I will be sending this script to Canada to be filled, the vet asked me which type I wanted and I had her write it for the vials instead of the pens as I am used to that method now. Any opinions? Also, she said he will be getting 2 units every 12 hours for a certain amount of time then will most likely switch to once a day, does that sound correct ? Thank you so much for any input.:bighug:
 
No insulin lasts in a cat for 24 hours, so you will need twice a day shots. I'm glad you're switchin.
So going from 1 unit 2x a day of Novolin to 2 units of Lantus 2x a day shouldn't scare me? It sounds like a lot of insulin comparatively. Also she said it is a stronger insulin that's why he will go to once a day and that it will build up in his system?? :confused:, from everything I have been reading it doesn't seem stronger it seems more balanced and slower acting not necessarily stronger.
 
So going from 1 unit 2x a day of Novolin to 2 units of Lantus 2x a day shouldn't scare me? It sounds like a lot of insulin comparatively. Also she said it is a stronger insulin that's why he will go to once a day and that it will build up in his system?? :confused:, from everything I have been reading it doesn't seem stronger it seems more balanced and slower acting not necessarily stronger.
why are you going to raise the dose from Novolin dose though? You should be doing 1 unit of lantus twice a day.
Actually Novolin hits harder and faster than lantus, but only lasts about 6-8 hours. Lantus is slower release and gentler action but lasts longer. I suggest you read the yellow stickies at the top of the lantus forum for more info on how lantus works.http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-basaglar-glargine-and-levemir-detemir.9/
 
Lantus is a longer lasting insulin, not necessarily stronger. We take the dose of the existing insulin in mind when switching, so yes, 1.0 units would be the starting dose. Side note, if you were brand new to insulin (which you aren't), the starting dose for a cat on dry food if using the SLGS dosing method is also 1.0 unit.

BTW, pens are much better in my opinion. You drop one, you ruin less. You can use a pen to the very last drop. Vials time out after 6 or so months - though some people have used them longer. If you send the prescription to Marks Marine - they won't care if the vet writes "vials". You can still ask them to send pens instead.
 
My worry is that the vet prescribed 2 units 2x a day . Great to know that I can ask for pens! thank you.
why are you going to raise the dose from Novolin dose though? You should be doing 1 unit of lantus twice a day.
Actually Novolin hits harder and faster than lantus, but only lasts about 6-8 hours. Lantus is slower release and gentler action but lasts longer. I suggest you read the yellow stickies at the top of the lantus forum for more info on how lantus works.http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-basaglar-glargine-and-levemir-detemir.9/
I agree I don't know why she would prescribe 2 units 2x a day!!
 
I agree with the others. The starting dose for the Lantus should be 1 unit twice a day if you have been giving 1 unit or Novolin twice a day.
Good luck with the Lantus, I’m sure you will love it!
 
My vet initially prescribed 2 units of Novolin when I started too, and after finding this board, I was also told to drop the dose down to 1 unit also, and I switched to Lantus a few weeks later. Blaze never got back up to 2 units so I’m sure that was too much to start with. It’s better to start with 1 unit and have to go up in the dose instead of starting too high and the insulin bring your kitties BG too low. You will love Lantus!
 
My vet initially prescribed 2 units of Novolin when I started too, and after finding this board, I was also told to drop the dose down to 1 unit also, and I switched to Lantus a few weeks later. Blaze never got back up to 2 units so I’m sure that was too much to start with. It’s better to start with 1 unit and have to go up in the dose instead of starting too high and the insulin bring your kitties BG too low. You will love Lantus!
Wow Blazes' SS is amazing it looks like he is doing so much better on the Lantus :bighug: I am definitely going to start Rocky on 1 unit it just makes sense to start lower! BTW you got married in Maui??? That's so wonderful!!! Congrats:joyful: I rented a house in Lahaina for my 40th birthday, best place on Earth!!
 
Wow Blazes' SS is amazing it looks like he is doing so much better on the Lantus :bighug: I am definitely going to start Rocky on 1 unit it just makes sense to start lower! BTW you got married in Maui??? That's so wonderful!!! Congrats:joyful: I rented a house in Lahaina for my 40th birthday, best place on Earth!!
Yes! 1 unit is a good starting place and if you have to increased or decrease, you’ll do it in 0.25U increments. And yes! I got married in Maui last September! We got married in Kapalua Bay but spent a ton of time on our honeymoon in Lahaina! What an awesome 40th birthday trip. It’s AMAZING there!
 
Lantus is a longer lasting insulin, not necessarily stronger. We take the dose of the existing insulin in mind when switching, so yes, 1.0 units would be the starting dose. Side note, if you were brand new to insulin (which you aren't), the starting dose for a cat on dry food if using the SLGS dosing method is also 1.0 unit.

BTW, pens are much better in my opinion. You drop one, you ruin less. You can use a pen to the very last drop. Vials time out after 6 or so months - though some people have used them longer. If you send the prescription to Marks Marine - they won't care if the vet writes "vials". You can still ask them to send pens instead.
BTW is administering insulin for less than 2 weeks time considered a novice? I still feel quite new at insulin I have read every doc posted and still may need guidance I apologize if that annoyed you Wendy.
 
Yes, still a novice, but we do have some data now on ow 1.0 units of Novolin does, so not brand new. When were you planning on starting the Lantus?
 
Could you please add a date to your title? The recommendation for titles is in this format: Date/Kitty Name/ AMPS - please read the PSA at the top of this forum. It's so helpful to those of us who just get to scan the forum... thanks so much!
 
Back
Top