06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 +4=227 +10.5=270 PMPS=229

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=98136

Furball was happy & purry this morning. Having to juggle her shot time since I got off yesterday is very confusing. It is also making it hard for me to see how she's really doing on the dose increase. Is it a really bad thing to just move her back to her normal shot time tonight so I can at least have Sunday and Monday to see how she's really doing? Otherwise I'll be going back to work before she's back to normal and I won't be able to see what's going on. She's off 1 hour and 15 min. from her normal shot time right now. Thanks for your thoughts.
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 Dose Time ?

Morning Carla,
Sorry, i'm no help with your question. Just wanted to stop by say hello and send good wishes for today and Furball's new dose. Are you ahead or behind your usual shot time?
hugs and scritches from us.
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 Dose Time ?

Usually we don't suggest moving a shot by that much time earlier since it acts like a dose increase and could make for a wild cycle. If Furball is in high numbers, then it's a more feasible strategy. Usually, I wouldn't suggest an early shot unless numbers are over 300.

You could skip a shot and get back on track which is a safer alternative with lower numbers. (Think of it like a fur shot -- it seems to make it easier to consider vs. "skipping.")
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 Dose Time ?

Hi Carla,

I agree with Sienne, especially since you just gave a dose increase. It could act like "double whammy" if you give a really early shot this evening. But then there is the problem that if you skip the shot to get back on Furball's normal schedule, you still will not know how she is handling the dose increase! (Catch 22!!). I think that you might just accept the fact that you will not be able to monitor the dosecrease until you get back on your regular schedule, and therefore move the shot time gradually--15 minutes a cycle, or 30 minutes once a day.

Have a good weekend,

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 Dose Time ?

Morning Carla, nice report on the purry Furball. I know thay's a bummer with the late shot. I've done that with getting mixed up on DST. Have a nice weekend and good luck with what you decide.
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 Dose Time ?

Thanks everyone. Furball's shot is late right now. I'll have to consider if I will skip her shot tonight. It sounds too dangerous to shoot early.
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 Dose Time ?

Morning Carla ~O) ~O) ~O)

I can't add much more to what has already been said. I do agree with the others. Good luck with it all.

Surf well today Furball.

Enjoy your day Carla, I hope it is a good one.
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 Dose Time ?

Hi Carla,
Yeah.... shifting shot times confuses me too.
Good luck with the new dose.
And I sending vines to Furball that she will get back on track quickly if you are going to "fur-shoot" her tonight.
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 Dose Time ?

Morning (or should I say afternoon!) Carla,

Happy Furball is her usual happy self :-D Wish we could "play" with our shot times! I would sleep till 7:30 every weekend! :lol: At least, I am now able to go BTB for a few hours. At first I was too awake once I drew up the insulin to fall back to sleep :? Not sure why.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 Dose Time ?

Carla

The other option is to shoot 30 mins early tonight and 30 mins early tomorrow night and then just shoot on time on Monday morning. I've done that a few times and haven't seen a discernible change in numbers; in other words, I think you will still be able to see what the dose is doing.

Of course, if she goes up above 300, I agree with Sienne, I'd shoot on time and just monitor her closely this weekend.
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 Dose Time ?

Good morning Carla,This will give you practice for when daylight saving comes back,have fun with this, it make for a rough couple days. :smile:
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 Dose Time ?

I moved her shot 30 min. this morning. By the time I found the syringe yesterday and gave her the shot, it was 1 hour and 45 minutes late. I will have to move her shot 30 minutes tomorrow morning, 30 minutes Monday morning and 15 minutes Tuesday morning to get back on track. If I had to work Monday, this wouldn't work.

I have another complication. The power company has decided to do some work in the area tomorrow. They will be shutting off our power at 6:30 a.m. until who knows when. The latest they say it will be off is until 2 p.m. If I don't shoot at Furball's normal shot time, I will have to draw insulin in the syringe and leave it sitting out for about an hour with no a/c on. It is supposed to be 90 and it is humid. I don't know if this will damage the insulin. I went to Wal-Mart and bought a couple of battery powered fans. I'm not looking forward to tomorrow.
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 Dose Time ?

Carla

Sorry if I misunderstood that you shot early today. I hadn't had enough ~O) ~O) ~O) yet.

You know, I would shoot early 15 mins tonight or tomorrow night and be done with that extra 15 mins. Actually, I have sometimes shot early 45 minutes at one time and I think if she's mid 200s, you could do that tomorrow morning or Monday morning. I'd probably do it tomorrow morning so you have Sunday and Monday to watch her.
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 Dose Time ?

Marje,
I don't think I stated I shot early this morning and I hadn't updated her SS yet. It was probably me making things confusing. Thanks for the advice.
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 +4=227 +10.5=270

Hi Carla,

Darn on the late shot... it happens. I hope you have an easy time getting back to normal shot time. Hope you're having a good night.

Kathie
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 +4=227 +10.5=270

Flat yellows, not bad but we'd like some blue, Furball. Never satisfied. :lol: Good luck getting back on time. We get used to a shot time and it is annoying to have a different one. Ugh on the power being out. Could you draw up the dose before the power goes out and then leave the vial in the fridge without opening it?
Liz
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 +4=227 +10.5=270

I got off track again tonight. I'm not used to shooting late and forgot to shoot. Her PM shot was 15 minutes late. This is too confusing. Furball is sensitive to small changes and all I'm seeing is yellow because I keep having to move her shot. Tomorrow morning I'm either going to skip her shot or shoot a reduced dose (probably 1.0 units) at her normal shot time. I have to get back on track. It's not doing Furball any good to get a dose increase but have her shot time keep moving. Hopefully by Monday she'll be back on track and I'll get to see what she's doing on the new dose before I have to go back to work. Also, her normal shot time is before the power company is going to shut off the power.

I appreciate everyone's advice and support on the shot times.
 
Re: 06/22 Furball +10.5=232 AMPS=257 +4=227 +10.5=270 PMPS=2

Carla, We are such creatures of habit! I have to write it down in bold letters, if I have shot a different time. I literally cannot remember! 5:30 is carved in my brain! Hope you can get back to your normal time without too much trouble and Furball comes down for you!
Yucky on the power outage in heat and humidity :-x
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top