06/22-Dolly-AMPS 101 -53@2 -51@2.5 -49@3 -70@3.75 -63@5 -66@7 -103@9 -PMPS 116 -61@2 -65@3 -70@4

Our Dolly Girl (GA)

Member Since 2019
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...7-54-2-60-3-58-4-25-72-5.248877/#post-2807628

Good Morning:):cat:

sending healing prayers to all the kitties and their caretakers that are not feeling their best :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

@Pamela & Amethyst sending prayers of hope and love :bighug::bighug:
@Butters & Lyla Sending loving prayers for good results at the
Cardiologist and dental for Butters :bighug::cat::bighug::cat:
@PerfumedCatMom Sending loving prayers for Ruby and Olive :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Suzanne & Darcy Sending loving prayers for healing Darcy's intestines and belly and that he is eating and pooping, so worried!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Dolly is not eating again. Last night she played with her toys. First timer in months. She bats her foil toy then runs after it batting away. She was actually running. Then picks it up in her mouth places it where she wants it and bats away. When we play together, I throw it to her and she bats it back to me. Then she started rolling over and over. One happy cat that just won’t eat more than a bite or two. Her AMPS is almost there.
 
I believe I could have avoided that lime by giving her the mc @+5. but I still believe she needs a reduction, been getting those 50’s + too often.


I gave her the wrong treats :p I think that’s why she came up so much. :D
 
Last edited:
I assume it is pretty scary when kitties get low numbers and they won't eat. Hope your girl gets her appetite back, Adrienne. I would love to play more with Susie but every time I try to one of my pups will run up and steal her toy then slobber all over it. They just want to get in the game, too. Hope a nice afternoon and evening.
 
@tiffmaxee Hi Elise, is it normal for their appetite to lessen with lower numbers. She will eat but no where near her normal. I just can’t remember. Once Dolly started eating wet food really well, the best she’s ever done, I’ve totally forgotten what it was like before. In the beginning of her journey post remission, I gave her Mirtazapine several times. I hesitate to do that, her Mirtazapine has expired, but I have cyproheptadine that is primarily a antihistamine with appetite stimulant. Don’t know if I should be playing doctor :rolleyes: Other than that she has been playing for the first time in months (a little the other day as well) and has been so happy, a new cat that isn’t eating well. IDK. Has she earned a reduction? Gave her pain meds, maybe that’s the solution.
 
Last edited:
I assume it is pretty scary when kitties get low numbers and they won't eat. Hope your girl gets her appetite back, Adrienne. I would love to play more with Susie but every time I try to one of my pups will run up and steal her toy then slobber all over it. They just want to get in the game, too. Hope a nice afternoon and evening.
 
is it normal for their appetite to lessen with lower numbers.
This is definitely the case with Fred! He still eats, but he's not nearly as hungry. It's why I worry because I'm afraid he'll happily lay there nearing hypo and not be hungry enough to eat. He tends to get hungry AS the numbers are falling, but not so much after that. If I'm not home, I start calling through the cameras..."Go have a snack for Mommy, Freddie! Go eat. Go EAT!!" :rolleyes:
 
This is definitely the case with Fred! He still eats, but he's not nearly as hungry. It's why I worry because I'm afraid he'll happily lay there nearing hypo and not be hungry enough to eat. He tends to get hungry AS the numbers are falling, but not so much after that. If I'm not home, I start calling through the cameras..."Go have a snack for Mommy, Freddie! Go eat. Go EAT!!" :rolleyes:
Boy do I understand that Kathleen. Dolly won’t eat if we are not home. She is a social eater. Leave out a bowl of food and she doesn’t touch it. Our other cat that crossed the bridge was the same. Thanks for sharing that with me, makes me feel not so alone with the food problems. Have a great day and again, thank you for sharing.
 
Last edited:
It’s definitely normal to not eat as much when regulated. Let the scale be your guide. I used cyproheptadine for my cats.
Thanks so much Elise. She is slightly overweight, a pound or two. If I can get a pill down her it will be with about 1/4 of a pill pocket, I know they are high carb. I gave her 1/2 of a 4mg tablet that way a few weeks ago, didn’t notice any rise in her BG from it. I know her congestion makes it worse because she can’t smell. Still…she has no problem with the little bit of mc :p.
 
I'm so happy to hear that Dolly was playing with her toys, sounds like she was having a good old time. I wish I could have seen her.
I'm glad she's eating even if it's a little bit at a time .
Please eat some more for us Dolly.♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
They know what they like to eat that’s for sure. Since she is a little too fluffy, don’t worry f she occasionally eats a little less as long as she’s not under 50 or headed there of course.
 
No reduction, I guess Dolly likes this dose. Ate maybe 1/4 can of FF today + a tsp of mc in total. Gave her Mirtazapine per the vet. Just gave her Creamy Delights for dinner. Don't know if she likes it or the Mirtazapine is making anything taste good. Higher by about 2% carbs. Yesterday we had a happy playful kitty :cat:. Today, even with pain meds, she seems to still be in pain. :(

upload_2021-6-22_19-8-38.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-6-22_19-8-38.jpeg
    upload_2021-6-22_19-8-38.jpeg
    87.6 KB · Views: 71
Back
Top