? 06/21 Mouse PMPS 390, +2 343, +3 256

With those string of greens yesterday, it looks like your insulin is good :cat:. Mouse is just bouncing today from the long stretch of greens and pretty nice blues last night. Great job with all the testing.
You've probably answered this question already and I apologize if you have, but have you considered TR?
 
With those string of greens yesterday, it looks like your insulin is good :cat:. Mouse is just bouncing today from the long stretch of greens and pretty nice blues last night. Great job with all the testing.
You've probably answered this question already and I apologize if you have, but have you considered TR?
So does that mean the pen isn't contaminated from the syringe plunger? I just don't want to give her something that could hurt her.
Thank you... Am I worrying too much about checking her numbers? I pretty much didn't get anything else done yesterday, I feel like I'm being a helicopter mom, I just still don't know when I should and shouldn't worry.:nailbiting:
I'm not sure how I feel about TR , it makes me nervous to think about changing her dose so often and I'm not sure I fully understand it:facepalm:. With the SLGS I feel like there's less of a chance to screw something up. Also I've started on some new meds myself so I'm not sure if changing things up would be a good idea right now.
Do you think TR would be better for her?
 
does that mean the pen isn't contaminated from the syringe plunger?
I think that at this point the BGs are showing that your insulin is effective :cat:

Am I worrying too much about checking her numbers? I pretty much didn't get anything else done yesterday, I feel like I'm being a helicopter mom,
This made me smile. I've been there too. It get easier with time. Its said here that FD is a marathon not a sprint. Be patient, with yourself ;) You are doing very well!

With the SLGS I feel like there's less of a chance to screw something up. Also I've started on some new meds myself so I'm not sure if changing things up would be a good idea right now.
Do you think TR would be better for her?

IMHO, the best method for managing feline diabetes is as much about the Caregiver as it is about the Kitty. You pick the dosing method that works best for You And Mouse. (emphasis added)

TR is much more aggressive. The biggest difference between TR and SLGS is the reduction point. I think that once you have more data on how Mouse responds to insulin (onset, nadir, duration, carb sensitivity, etc) and the more comfortable you are with the Green BGs, you'll be able to relax and not worry so much. :bighug:
 
Thank you:D. I think she's doing pretty good today with that bounce, she got down to blue at this last test!she did throw up atleast part of her +2 snack earlier. She ate a decent amount for +5.5 so we'll see how it goes.
 
I think the real issue with not shooting insulin back into the pen (or a vial for that matter) is that the syringes contain lubricants that help the plunger to slide more easily -- and you don't want to take a chance on contaminating your insulin with that. Your insulin is definitely still working to lower BG though.
 
Is she feeling better today? I see you mentioned a little vomiting today.
I thought she was starting to do better after she threw up and now she's refusing to eat after a 2 hour fast... I'm ready to cry I'm so tired and frustrated... Her PMPS is 390 but I'm still not sure about giving her shot cause I can't stay up all night again... She won't even eat the fish flavor of friskies that she ate last night!
 
Last edited:
390 is high enough to be able to shoot. With insulins like Lantus, you have time till onset to get her to eat. Do you want to try a different food and see if she will eat it?
Do you test her for ketones?
I can't stay up all night again to make sure she eats. I tried several different kinds of food including turkey baby food the friskies fish kind that I got her to eat last night when she was being finicky. I tried last night and earlier today to test for keytones and I can't seem to catch her at the right time when she has to pee... I even tried to test off the piddle pad she peed on earlier (came up negative )and somebody on the FD Facebook group said the urine needed to be fresh to be accurate. We're now 20 minutes past shot time and I still haven't given her shot... I don't know what to do anymore... Is 390 still high enough to shoot even if I can't get her to eat later?
 
I would give the full shot and get a +2. If she dives, you can always apply a little honey to her lips if she doesn't eat. Diabetic cats who don't eat can run the risk of developing ketones. Better to be cautious and give her insulin.

If the vomiting, diarrhea and inappetence continues, you might want to consider taking her to the vet.
 
I would give the full shot and get a +2. If she dives, you can always apply a little honey to her lips if she doesn't eat. Diabetic cats who don't eat can run the risk of developing ketones. Better to be cautious and give her insulin.

If the vomiting, diarrhea and inappetence continues, you might want to consider taking her to the vet.
I gave her her .75 units... looked like it didn't all go in ... I just want to find her a better home than what I can give her cause I clearly can't stop screwing things up.
 
I'm sure that's not true. :bighug:


That's good. Hopefully whatever was bugging her is on its way out.
I really hope it's not keytones cause I can't get her to cooperate with the test for that and I can't afford the treatment for that. I really need her to be ok and feel better by morning because it suppose to be in the 90s here tomorrow and the ac in our truck doesn't work so that would make for an even more stressful trip to the vet that's almost an hour away. :(
 
Finally got her to eat. Going to bed now, will try my best to wake up in 3 hours to get a +6 but not positive I can. Even if I can't I think she should be ok. Thank you all for putting up with me.
 
Back
Top