06/20 Eddie AMPS 331 +2.75 169 +6.5 220 PMPS 427 +2.75 387 (!)

A little nervous to go to work!! He's dropped from AMPS 331 to +2.75 169.

I won't be back until +6!!
Will feed him now with some LC & a little gravy...
 
I was reading your signature and I really like how you have different options for a reduction. Going all the way down to 68 (or lower) is scary for me, but I feel comfortable with the 70s. I feel like I need that little bit of wiggle room.
So we only customize TR for cats with special conditions that may require the extra padding. In this case, Eddie's a fairly complicated acro and IAA cat, post-treatment for the acro tumor. Both the IAA and treatment can cause BG/dose to randomly come way down, hence the special reductions points and criteria you may see. Max (Lori) is another one, my cat was as well until he went into remission.

For other cats, TR has proven to be very safe and effective provided you can monitor. I haven't popped into a Taz condo in awhile but I do think TR will be good for him...but if it's just too uncomfortable you can always go back to SLGS with a lower reduction point (like Carla, she also posted in this condo above).
 
I haven't popped into a Taz condo in awhile but I do think TR will be good for him...but if it's just too uncomfortable you can always go back to SLGS with a lower reduction point (like Carla, she also posted in this condo above).

We just started doing TR last week. It's super confusing to me but I "think" I'm starting to get it. Lol. The low numbers scare me still, but right now he's still too high for my liking so I had to try something else.
 
Behave Eddie!

@SaraMV One other major difference between Taz and Eddie is size of dose. The depot of Eddie's 11.0 unit dose is a lot more of a pain to deal with than Taz's 2.75 unit dose. So in addition to Eddie's dose being able to change rather randomly and quickly due to his secondary conditions, there is a much larger depot to deal with. Hence the suggestion to change Eddie's reduction point a bit for a bit more margin. Most of us doing something different have either "custom dosing" or "do not copy dosing" in our signature. It's not a general suggestion for all following TR, but specifically an Eddie modification. I too did the higher reduction points, but only if the reductions were coming fast and furious (ie. every 2-3 days), and went back to the regular reduction point when things slowed down. Neko's IAA broke, I suspect, around the same time the treatment for her acromegaly kicked in. It was a bit of a roller coaster!
 
Behave Eddie!

@SaraMV One other major difference between Taz and Eddie is size of dose. The depot of Eddie's 11.0 unit dose is a lot more of a pain to deal with than Taz's 2.75 unit dose. So in addition to Eddie's dose being able to change rather randomly and quickly due to his secondary conditions, there is a much larger depot to deal with. Hence the suggestion to change Eddie's reduction point a bit for a bit more margin. Most of us doing something different have either "custom dosing" or "do not copy dosing" in our signature. It's not a general suggestion for all following TR, but specifically an Eddie modification. I too did the higher reduction points, but only if the reductions were coming fast and furious (ie. every 2-3 days), and went back to the regular reduction point when things slowed down. Neko's IAA broke, I suspect, around the same time the treatment for her acromegaly kicked in. It was a bit of a roller coaster!
That makes a lot of sense. I just liked the concept of reducing if you see numbers consistently close to the reduction number (but not quite reaching it or going lower).
 
We also have seen lots of cases where caregivers reduce if numbers are close, but not below the reduction point, and have that reduction fail. Meaning the dose has to go back up. TR uses the numbers they do based on research of what works.
 
Home again, home again +
So we only customize TR for cats with special conditions that may require the extra padding. In this case, Eddie's a fairly complicated acro and IAA cat, post-treatment for the acro tumor. Both the IAA and treatment can cause BG/dose to randomly come way down, hence the special reductions points and criteria you may see. Max (Lori) is another one, my cat was as well until he went into remission.

For other cats, TR has proven to be very safe and effective provided you can monitor. I haven't popped into a Taz condo in awhile but I do think TR will be good for him...but if it's just too uncomfortable you can always go back to SLGS with a lower reduction point (like Carla, she also posted in this condo above).
thanks for this. I saw it before I left for work and didn't even have the time to write the ECID message. :cat:
 
Behave Eddie!

@SaraMV One other major difference between Taz and Eddie is size of dose. The depot of Eddie's 11.0 unit dose is a lot more of a pain to deal with than Taz's 2.75 unit dose. So in addition to Eddie's dose being able to change rather randomly and quickly due to his secondary conditions, there is a much larger depot to deal with. Hence the suggestion to change Eddie's reduction point a bit for a bit more margin. Most of us doing something different have either "custom dosing" or "do not copy dosing" in our signature. It's not a general suggestion for all following TR, but specifically an Eddie modification. I too did the higher reduction points, but only if the reductions were coming fast and furious (ie. every 2-3 days), and went back to the regular reduction point when things slowed down. Neko's IAA broke, I suspect, around the same time the treatment for her acromegaly kicked in. It was a bit of a roller coaster!
I took the cue here, Wendy, and added "Do Not Copy Dose" on signature, just as a way of indicating the particularity of Eddie's situation and ECID.
 
ed952176a12107e55a5f69405947b286.gif
 
Back
Top