06/19 Abbott AMPS 538 +2 468 --?

AbbottTheCat

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-17-abbott-amps-305-2-414-5-373.264741/#post-2964640

Happy Fathers Day but this dad is freakin out. We went from blue just Friday morning to an AMPS today in the black, higher then I’ve ever seen. Even at the vet he was in the high 300’s. His Fructosamine test at DX was only 404. just feeling super frustrated right now, like how did it manage to become worse. I feel like I don’t know what I’m doing or where to go from here. It’s only week one.
 
+2 at 468.

Ketone strip checked out ok so no ketones, although he is really skittish if I come anywhere near him at the litter boxes and will run out. I have to come in afterwards and grab a drop after it’s been soaked through the pine litter. So don’t know if that an accurate reading.
 
Should I be giving a token dose? I’ve never done a token dose before, I’ve never seen numbers in the black. like I said— week one so brand new to this. Could really use some help if anyone is around today.
 
He's bouncing, bounces can take six cycles to get out of the system. Annoying but perfectly normal for newly diagnosed cats. Today is cycle 5. Stick to the 0.5 unit dosing.

Like many cats, Neko saw black at the beginning. As an example of how it can change, take a look at GuMung's spreadsheet.
 
I guess I didn’t realize it could bounce that high. That spreadsheet is a good example. I know that prolonged numbers up there are damaging. +2 at 468. Should I continue testing at +2 intervals and/or be testing for ketones today? I have errands to run but can stick around if you think i should be. Thanks
 
I guess I didn’t realize it could bounce that high. That spreadsheet is a good example. I know that prolonged numbers up there are damaging. +2 at 468. Should I continue testing at +2 intervals and/or be testing for ketones today? I have errands to run but can stick around if you think i should be. Thanks
Now he’s going crazy with his ball toy. I haven’t seen him this active in a long time. Maybe breaking the bounce at this very moment? One can hope…lol
 
Please update the spreadsheet. When we offer suggestions on dosing or testing, looking at the spreadsheet is the first thing we do.

Abbott is coming down, that's a good thing. So he's not staying in those really high numbers. BTW, from personal experience, when the meter reads "Hi", it means over 600.

As for going out, you have a couple options. You could go out now probably for 3 hours, then BG test when back. Or you could get a test in a couple hours and post to ask if it's good to go out the rest of the day. It's early days yet, so we don't have much data yet on how Abbott will use the Lantus. Once we do, it'll be easier to know when to test. Since he has no history of ketones, you can probably wait a day to test again for them.
 
He's bouncing, bounces can take six cycles to get out of the system. Annoying but perfectly normal for newly diagnosed cats. Today is cycle 5. Stick to the 0.5 unit dosing.

Like many cats, Neko saw black at the beginning. As an example of how it can change, take a look at GuMung's spreadsheet.
Thanks for that example, it’s helpful to see some other examples. I’ve read countless other threads to try and get a better understanding but haven’t looked at many spreadsheets. What was it that finally got GuMung in the green? Remission?
 
Please update the spreadsheet. When we offer suggestions on dosing or testing, looking at the spreadsheet is the first thing we do.

Abbott is coming down, that's a good thing. So he's not staying in those really high numbers. BTW, from personal experience, when the meter reads "Hi", it means over 600.

As for going out, you have a couple options. You could go out now probably for 3 hours, then BG test when back. Or you could get a test in a couple hours and post to ask if it's good to go out the rest of the day. It's early days yet, so we don't have much data yet on how Abbott will use the Lantus. Once we do, it'll be easier to know when to test. Since he has no history of ketones, you can probably wait a day to test again for them.
Thanks for reminding me. Ss updated. I’m going out to grab some MC and HC snacks so I can be better prepared if he dips again.
 
Every Cat is Different (ECID), but here's my take on GuMung. He was in higher numbers and his body developed glucose toxicity. Basically the body gets used to higher numbers. More reading here if you want. When that happens, you keep increasing the insulin to get over it, and when you do, there can be some rapid decreases in dose for a bit. Who knows why it happens, but you'll often see a cat's body suddenly respond really well to the insulin and go all or mostly green when they hit a fitting dose. GuMung is trending towards remission. On the other cats, there are some cats that are just really bouncy and bounce practically to remission.

It's a good exercise to look at other people/cat's posts. Try to find some of the newer ones, or look at the early days in other spreadsheets. I found it quite interesting when I started. Plus a lot of new people have the same questions you have or will have. Reading other posts when people are dealing with lower numbers can also be helpful.
 
And remember, you're chasing a moving target and frequently, just when you think you've got it figured out, the furball throws you a curve. Any of us who has the ability quickly become test junky data nerds just to try to make sense of it all.

Go easy on yourself, this boogie's a mess :bighug:
 
When that happens, you keep increasing the insulin to get over it, and when you do, there can be some rapid decreases in dose for a bit.

Do you mean rapid decreases in numbers? Or rapid decreases in dose? As in going down .25 every shot or something like that?
 
Back
Top