06/17 Ducky AMPS 75 +1 73 +2 65 / PMPS 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angel and Ducky

Member Since 2010
Ducky is very sensitive to the insulin, any time i have shot him when close to 100 he gets into the greens really quick... I can't be here this morning and he is going to be a lone... very worried about giving a shot... suggestions?
 
Re: 06/17 Ducky AMPS 75 - Should i give shot?

Hold on Angel. Let me check you ss. Don't feed just yet. Can you test again?
 
Re: 06/17 Ducky AMPS 75 - Should i give shot?

Ducky is making such great progress I would hate to see him miss a shot. How much time do you have to stick around and stall testing? If you test his BG and it is rising you should be good.

Here are a few options:
-stall, don't feed and keep testing til the BG starts to rise
-give a reduced dose (please get a +1)

Make sure you leave out plenty of food while you are gone. If you are worried you can leave out MC to be safe.

I will wait to see what you say to these questions. Breathe.... ;-)
 
Re: 06/17 Ducky AMPS 75 - Should i give shot?

Unfortunatly I already fed him :( I just tested again and it was 74 70 73... I tested three times to check the meter... I think it is pretty accurate...
 
Re: 06/17 Ducky AMPS 75 - Should i give shot?

Ducky is doing awesome btw. He seems to be sliding down the scale *antijinx*

Going down the dosing scale was the scariest part for me. Just stay calm and we can make a decision for Ducky. If you are scared you can shoot 0.25. But make sure to get a +1. Does he seem to rise well with LC?
 
Re: 06/17 Ducky AMPS 75 - Should i give shot?

You can give a token dose so the shed isn't totally depleted if you aren't comfortable giving the full 0.5u.

For the future, don't feed if you have a question about shooting.
 
Re: 06/17 Ducky AMPS 75 - Should i give shot?

Thanks,

No he doesn't really seem to rise very well with LC. But he does eat alot and is hungry pretty much all the time.
 
Re: 06/17 Ducky AMPS 75 - Should i give shot?

Sienne and Gabby said:
You can give a token dose so the shed isn't totally depleted if you aren't comfortable giving the full 0.5u.

For the future, don't feed if you have a question about shooting.

"token Dose" Like .25 or something?
 
Re: 06/17 Ducky AMPS 75 - Should i give shot?

:mrgreen: Yes 0.25 And since you will be gone you can leave out MC while he is alone.
 
Re: 06/17 Ducky AMPS 75 - Should i give shot?

You can go ahead and give the shot now. He has already eaten so you are good. :mrgreen: I am going to have to leave shortly but will get back on in about 30 min. Just test him at least +1 after shot, k?
 
Re: 06/17 Ducky AMPS 75 - Should i give shot?

You can do either. If you don't feel comfortable giving the full dose 0.25 is okay too. You just don't want to skip because that will deplete the shed.
 
Re: 06/17 Ducky AMPS 75 - Should i give shot?

If you are going to be home, I'd give the full dose. You shot in the 90s and Ducky had a lovely green surf. As long as you're around, this is a good way to see how he'll do. Just get a +1 and +2. (And I assume you have strips and HC should you need them.)
 
Re: 06/17 Ducky AMPS 75 - Should i give shot?

Okay.... I gave him the .50, I will be able to get the +1 and +2 and I have HC and Strips.... be back in a while

Thanks all!
 
Re: 06/17 Ducky AMPS 75 - Should i give shot?

The road to the Falls is paved with balls of steel! - someone wise once told me.
Go have a look at Kathy/Kitty's SS or Tizon's for that matter.... you have to shoot low to stay low.

If you're home, armed with strips and gravy.... Go! (mostly go.... shouldn't shoot very low 50s IMO)
Nicely done!
 
Re: 06/17 Ducky AMPS 75 - Should i give shot?

Hi all,

I am off to work now, I gave him the shot and his +1 was 73 +2 63. The LC food really doesn't raise his numbers so I have left out some MC & LC food for him and will be back on my lunch to take his numbers. Thanks for all the advice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top