? 06/15 Lexi - Dose for tonight?

Yvonne A

Member Since 2020
If there is someone around who can look at Lexi's chart can you let me know if you would shoot 1 or 0.5 units?
 
Just wondering why you didn't give any insulin this AM? It looks like you shot 2 units with the (68) on the PM cycle on 6/10.

You have had a lot of different doses in the past 3 days, so I would just ask you what dose you are comfortable giving and say to just give it and stick to that dose for a few days.
If 0.5 means you won't feel like you have to skip some of the other numbers under 100- then start there. I don't think the 1 unit got enough of a chance though, so if I could stay up and monitor/feed when necessary- I'd try that.
 
I gave 0.5 units tonight. I know the doses have been all over the place and I'd love to get settled on a number but she keeps having low readings where I worry about getting too low. I was away at the doctor's for several hours this morning so that was why I didn't give her a shot. Didn't want her to did when I wasn't here.
 
Hi Yvonne,. The last 8 cycles you have given 4 different doses of Lantus and skipped twice. Lantus likes consistency so you need to settle with one dose and stick with it for a week if you are following SLGS. You also reduce the dose if the BG drops under 90.
Now that you have given 0.5 units tonight, I would stick with that dose for a week and see what it does. Otherwise you will get wonky numbers as the depot can't settle.
 
Okay - I will settle in with 0.5 units. I know there has been no consistency so that will be my goal for the next week. How often should I be testing her on a daily basis during this week? I'd like to give her a bit of a break from testing as much as I have been as her poor little ears are taking a beating.
 
I’d get a PMPS unless low grab a +3. You could have stopped testing at +9 today since you were seeing a flat blue cycle.
 
Back
Top