06/14 Poopers AMPS 1.3(23)

Poopers and Catia

Member Since 2021
Hi everyone... unfortunately Poopers numbers are at 1.3 (23). We've dropped his insulin the other day from 3U to 2.75U and stopped giving him dry food for 3 days now and now his numbers dropped. Today im buying the Fancy Feast classic pate. I shouldnt give him any insulin right? Should i drop his units again?
 
Yes, please skip the dose this morning, feed him some high carb food.

With the food change in play, I am wondering if you should take a larger reduction that 0.25U.

@tiffmaxee
 
Thats what i was thinking, do you think i should only feed him wet food or have some dry involved as well?
If he is managing without the dry, it makes sense to keep him on wet and reduce the dose instead.

He is still getting the Royal Canin food which is 14% carbs, right?
 
Will the Fancy Feast drop his levels a lot?
His levels are high from the high carb food (wet and dry). The switch to a low carb food like Fancy Fest should bring down his numbers and his insulin requirements - which is good. No point in feeding high carbs and then keeping him at a high dose to offset that!

Just taking out the high carb dry is making a big difference.
 
His levels are high from the high carb food (wet and dry). The switch to a low carb food like Fancy Fest should bring down his numbers and his insulin requirements - which is good. No point in feeding high carbs and then keeping him at a high dose to offset that!

Just taking out the high carb dry is making a big difference.
How much insulin should i give him tonight?
 
What are you going to feed him today and tonight? I think I would continue with the 14%, stop the dry, and get some ff lc. You need to add the new foods slowly to avoid intestinal upset. Has he had issues with new foods ever?
 
What are you going to feed him today and tonight? I think I would continue with the 14%, stop the dry, and get some ff lc. You need to add the new foods slowly to avoid intestinal upset. Has he had issues with new foods ever?
Catia has stopped giving the Hill Dry which was HC but Poopers is till on RC wet which is 14% carbs (MC).

Do you think she can go down to 2U tonight?
 
What are you going to feed him today and tonight? I think I would continue with the 14%, stop the dry, and get some ff lc. You need to add the new foods slowly to avoid intestinal upset. Has he had issues with new foods ever?
Hes pretty good with food but i can mix them for a couple days
 
I can give him 2U tonight. Just making sure, i cant drop from 2.75U to 2U? i dont have to go down by .25?
We normally reduce by 0.25U, but because the food change, he probably needs much less than he's getting right now. We are being cautious and reducing by more than 0.25U. He may need even less than 2U as his diet is changed to low carb. We'll take it as it comes.

From tonight, please go down to 2U.
 
We normally reduce by 0.25U, but because the food change, he probably needs much less than he's getting right now. We are being cautious and reducing by more than 0.25U. He may need even less than 2U as his diet is changed to low carb. We'll take it as it comes.

From tonight, please go down to 2U.
Ok will do and i will keep updating the spreadsheet and update everyone tomorrow morning! Thank you everyone :bighug:
 
I'm glad others suggested 2.0 units, I would have said the same. We want you to get to a dose you can shoot consistently without skips, hopefully 2.0 will let you do that and we can figure out from there if you need to increase back up. Good luck with the new dose.
 
I'm glad others suggested 2.0 units, I would have said the same. We want you to get to a dose you can shoot consistently without skips, hopefully 2.0 will let you do that and we can figure out from there if you need to increase back up. Good luck with the new dose.
Thank you so much!
 
Back
Top