? 06/13 Lexi - AMPS 70 Shot or no shot?

Yvonne A

Member Since 2020
Good morning, Last night I reduced Lexi's injection to 1.75 units. Today Lexi's pre-shot number is 70 (3.9). A similar situation occurred on June 10 with her PM shot. On June 10th I waited 45 minutes and then gave the shot and monitored her numbers closely. I am not sure if I should give a small dose (i.e. 1 u) or wait and see what happens with her numbers. Right now I am holding off.
 
Yes, stall, don’t feed and retest in 20 minutes. I would have gotten another test last night. I think Lexi likely went lower last night and the question is how low. You are getting a really good response to Lantus.
 
Yes, stall, don’t feed and retest in 20 minutes. I would have gotten another test last night. I think Lexi likely went lower last night and the question is how low. You are getting a really good response to Lantus.
Oh dear, I am relatively new to this and I forget to withhold food so she has eaten now.
 
Here’s the sticky on shooting low numbers. It’s one I copied and kept by my computer. If you do shoot a reduced dose you will still need to test at +1 and +2 as the larger depot is in play. Often when you shoot low they stay low and flat but not always. You were clearly started on too high a dose initially and the reduced dose last night still has her surfing green.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
 
Well that complicates things. The next test will be food influenced. How off schedule can you get? It looks like she doesn’t get a food spike. I can’t stay with you if you shoot. Let me tag a few people to see if they are able.
@Wendy&Neko @Chris & China (GA) @Bron and Sheba (GA)
I am home all day and it's only 9:30 am here so I can get off schedule. If I am here to monitor her can I give her 1u now and see how it goes? I do have HC food and honey if needed.
 
Here’s the sticky on shooting low numbers. It’s one I copied and kept by my computer. If you do shoot a reduced dose you will still need to test at +1 and +2 as the larger depot is in play. Often when you shoot low they stay low and flat but not always. You were clearly started on too high a dose initially and the reduced dose last night still has her surfing green.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
Yes, I definitely got off on the wrong foot. My vet was little help during the initial stages and it was only after finding this site that I realized I was overdosing her significantly. How quickly can I reduce her dose? Do I need to stay at each level for a few days? Can I just go to 1u and start again? Not sure what the right course of action is.
 
You should be fine. You won’t be able to shoot any earlier than 30 minutes to start getting back on schedule. It’s either 30 minutes every 24 hours or 15 minutes each cycle.
 
Wow! Still green. I’m thinking about what your pm dose should be. Definitely less than 2.0.
Yes, I'm testing every 2 hours now and still green. I'm think that I'll do 1 unit tonight unless there is a significant increase. I'll keep posting my numbers.
 
For what it's worth, since you are following SLGS (due to dry food) it suggests not shooting under 90 (5.0).

The larger depots can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. So their could be some influence from the 2.75 or even 2.5 unit dose. If you shoot a lower number tonight, it will help drain that depot some more, and give us a better idea where to do next with the dose.
 
It's 10pm and Lexi is 94 (5.2). She has been low all day so I am going to skip tonight's shot and see where she is in the morning. I am not able to monitor her sufficiently overnight so I don't want to take a chance she will go too low.
Will post with first reading and see what is recommended.
 
Good plan on the skip. It'll drain the depot and perhaps give us a better idea what to do with dose, based on her response. The 2.0 unit depot is still influencing today's cycle. Could you put NS (no shot) or Skip in the PMPS cell for tonight. That way we know you deliberately skipped instead of just forgetting to enter.
 
Back
Top