Re: 06/12 J.D. AMPS HI, +2 HI, +3.75 546, +4.5 410, +5.5 365
Dyana said:
The vet telling me to back off on the "forced" (as he called it) feeding, just goes against my thoughts that not enough food and not enough insulin and not enough fluids and possible infection and/or stress causes ketones.
i agree with amy. go with your gut instinct on assist feeding. you know how it is when you diet... it almost feels like your stomach shrunk... you feel satisfied with less food? i figured something similar was happening to alex. it was like she got used to eating less. syringe feeding helped her not to forget what it feels like to have a full tummy.
i've been syringe feeding alex for awhile now. well, at least it started out as what most of us know as syringe feeding. once she started leaning into the syringe i syringed the food onto the back of my hand for her to lap up. she liked that much better than having an oral syringe stuck into the side of her mouth. it wasn't too long before she graduated to letting me put 10 mL at a time of the blended mixture into her dish. that's where we're at now. i empty her syringes into her bowl 10 mL at a time. it's not ideal,
but she's eating! the plus side is i have a good idea of about how much she has eaten every day. sometimes she'll eat out of my other kitties' dishes. those mini-meals stolen from others dishes are a huge bonus!
one thing i wanted to mention because i recently saw a post that said not eating 2 hours before a shot was "a hard and fast rule" in LL.
it's not!!! that
"suggestion" came about to
prevent those who are new to feline diabetes... those who do not yet have a good handle on
their cat's response to insulin and food... from unknowingly shooting a preshot number which was artificially high due to eating right before a shot... resulting in an unexpected fast drop after a shot.
those of us who have sick cats know the worry, the stress, and the real concern of not being able to get enough food into their little bodies. most of them are losing weight or have lost weight. fwiw, my advice: feed your cat.
feed your cat whatever and whenever they'll eat. if you're comfortable shooting a food spike,
forget that 2 hour rule suggestion! i believe making eating a priority is a huge part of why she's still alive today. by all rights, alex has used up her 9 lives... and then some.
you and JD and amy and trixie have been in my thoughts and prayers. i haven't had much time to post because i've not only had to focus an alex, but i'm also nursing along her sister, brianna. they're litter mates. fortunately, brianna "only" has bad kidneys.
sending healthy vines and many, many hugs to both you and amy!
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: