06/11 Tray's AMPS 389 PMPS 461 Vet visit

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 06/11 Tray's AMPS 389

I second your "ugh". Kasha has Tray beat today. What's gotten into them?
 
Re: 06/11 Tray's AMPS 389

I don't know what's up with him. He seemed sleepy and there was a bit of gunk in Tray's left eye this morning. I cleaned it out, maybe he's fighting a cold or something. I'll see how he's doing tonight then maybe take him in to the vet. I do think it's time to open a new cartridge too, so maybe that's playing into his high BG. :YMSIGH: Sometimes I feel its all just a guessing game and I have no control.
 
Re: 06/11 Tray's AMPS 389

UGH is right! I know the pain from that number ... I hope tray isn't coming down with anything .. mocha likes to get gunk in her eyes too .. we call her the boogy machine .. I hope tray comes down for you today ..
 
Re: 06/11 Tray's AMPS 389

I took Tray to the vet because his eye was still gunky and his BG was 434. The vet said his temp was slightly elavated but nothing to concern him about. He prescribed lysine twice a day. He said it would boost him immune system. Anyone hear of it? He suspects the insulin maybe old though and told me to open a new cartridge tonight so I'll be giving him his shot in about 10 minutes from a new insulin. Hope all of this helps, seeing red again is very disheartening.
 
Sorry about the Red for Tray. Hopefully it is from pooped out insulin.
I am not familiar with meds but others will be by with their knowledge.
 
not sure about eye drops, hopefully someone else can answer that for u

also, remember fresh insulin packs a punch, hopefully u can grab a couple checks tonight.
 
it's not eye drops, its an oral gel, I put it on my fingers and let him lick it off. Not that he wanted any of it, I had to smear it on his tongue tonight and got a disdainful look from him.
 
Lysine is used for the herpes virus which I think is pretty common in cats. Hopefully it will clear it up. How long did you use your last cartridge? I have only been getting 30 days max out of mine, though some people get a lot more days than that.
 
+2 362
At least he's coming down a bit. The cartridge was 31 days old so opening a new one was probablly a good idea. Hope it gets him back in better numbers, keep your fingers crossed for us.
 
I've been giving lysine to my kitties for years. It's in some of the immune boosters I was taking as well, so I take some in a glass of water daily as well.

Years ago, Big Cat came down with goopy eyes after I returned from a trip. I took him into the vet after my home remedies didn't work and my vet said it was probably the herpes virus, some large percentage of cats carry it. I said, "But where did he get it? He's an inside cat!" and my vet said that he'd probably been carrying it and the other cats as well. Apparently it's pretty textbook for the caregiver to go away, the cat stresses which triggers a flare-up and then boom... I told my vet I'd never noticed anything with the other cats and he asked if they ever got the sneezes for a few days here and there. Which reminded me that a couple times a year, Kasha gets the sneezes for a few days and then it goes away. Probably feline herpes.

You can buy lysine powder and stuff online or in health food stores. Supposedly some cats like the taste, but it's cheap and mixes into their foods. Tastes a little salty to me, but the cats don't mind too much. They're not getting it right now because I want to make sure they eat and they're already taking enough stuff (probiotics to balance the ABs, etc.).

You can either use it when you see symptoms, or you can use a smaller amount daily. I think the daily works well to prevent symptoms and as far as I know, it's very safe.
 
kryskat said:
You can either use it when you see symptoms, or you can use a smaller amount daily. I think the daily works well to prevent symptoms and as far as I know, it's very safe.
current thinking seems to be to give it only when there are symptoms. see this discussion on the old board.
 
What's with these kitties? shadow was +8=386 so he got an increase in his dose tonight.
Is it the New Moon? :YMSIGH: I don't know what to say anymore.... Hope Tray comes down soon....
 
WCF and Meowzi said:
kryskat said:
You can either use it when you see symptoms, or you can use a smaller amount daily. I think the daily works well to prevent symptoms and as far as I know, it's very safe.
current thinking seems to be to give it only when there are symptoms. see this discussion on the old board.

I disagree. At least for people, there seem to be many, many sites that recommend the use as a preventative (and most people would prefer to prevent rather than treat outbreaks, I'm sure). I've also noticed that a lot of cat foods contain l-lysine, because it is an essential amino acid. Here's some more info and a link I found (there's obviously a lot more info available online):

How Do L-Lysine Supplements Work?

Viral infections grow when an individual virus takes control of a host cell and makes it use its resources to manufacture more viruses. The virus does this by injecting its DNA into the nucleus of the host cell. This strip of genetic material contains instructions that the cell's chemical machinery can use to build more viruses. The host cell, unable to distinguish between the viral DNA and its own, will continue to make more viruses until it bursts, releasing the viruses into the body to infect more cells.

An uninfected cell usually does not use much of a particular amino acid called arginine, while cells that are infected use a lot of it to make more copies of the virus. The cell's natural chemical process that uses arginine is limited by the quantity of L-Lysine (another amino acid) that's available. By giving daily L-Lysine supplements to your cat, you increase the quantity of L-Lysine available for the cat's cells to use, which means that the cell uses more arginine for its natural functions. This leaves less arginine available for the production of the cat herpes virus, thereby slowing the growth of the infection.

While the respiratory form of feline herpes is an uncomfortable and contagious infection, still more unbearable for a feline is an ocular rhinotracheitis infection. By administering a daily L-Lysine supplement, you can both help slow an already present infection in your cat, and prevent your cat from contracting future infections.

Controlling cat herpes l-lysine
 
+4=338

hmm all interesting info, thanks.
I know my other cat, Percival is herpes positive. They told me at the shelter when I adopted him, but I've only had to deal with one visible outbreak in the 5 years I've had him. I guess that's where Tray picked it up, if indeed it herpes I'm dealing with. He's a little blue tonight though, not his usual social self. He's just sitting staring out the window. But he ate and purred when I gave him a little treat with his shot. So hopefully he'll come out of this soon.

My vet did tell me I could give the lysine to both my cats everyday or just when symptoms pop up. I guess he left the choice up to me. I'll have to do some more reading on it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top