Phoenix R.
Member Since 2023
Hello... I am new to Lantus, this is day 2 and I'm pretty nervous as this will be Mouse's lowest shooting BG (253). I could really use some reassurance that it's ok to shoot at 253...
I would say it's safe to shoot at 253 , are you going to be home to monitor Mouse todayHello... I am new to Lantus, this is day 2 and I'm pretty nervous as this will be Mouse's lowest shooting dose (253). I could really use some reassurance that it's ok to shoot at 253...
Hello... I am new to Lantus, this is day 2 and I'm pretty nervous as this will be Mouse's lowest shooting dose (253). I could really use some reassurance that it's ok to shoot at 253...

That's fine ,you can leave some lc food out before you leaveWe do have to make a trip into town today. Shouldn't be gone for more than an hour and a half.
Ok thank you... time to shoot... Wish us luck!253 is a very safe number to shoot. When you see low 100s, you can be more concerned
If it eases your mind, do a BG check at +1
You are clear for takeoff!
We do have to make a trip into town today. Shouldn't be gone for more than an hour and a half.
Ok thank you... time to shoot... Wish us luck!
Will be around 2 hours after before we can leave so I'll definitely do a +2 before we go. Should I test at random times today after that to fill in the gaps on her SS since I tested every 2 hours yesterday? Yes this is her lowest PS BG!How long after you shoot are you going out?
I looked at the SS, I see this is Mouse's lowest pre-shot.
You can get a test @+4 and @+6 when you get homeWill be around 2 hours after before we can leave so I'll definitely do a +2 before we go. Should I test at random times today after that to fill in the gaps on her SS since I tested every 2 hours yesterday? Yes this is her lowest PS BG!![]()
Her BG is really high now... +2 422.
Thank you... I saw your message shortly after you sent it but had to go quick so we could get back. This is definitely a rollercoaster ride of anxiety. I did a +5 now she's up to 452.Could be a bounce from her pre-shot number, it takes a while for most cats to get acclimated to lower numbers. Some cats bounce, some don't.
Either way you're safe to go out!
Thank you... I saw your message shortly after you sent it but had to go quick so we could get back. This is definitely a rollercoaster ride of anxiety. I did a +5 now she's up to 452.

Glucose toxicity sounds bad... Should I be worried? If we still see the higher numbers after 5-7 days does that mean she's insulin resistant and if so then what? I'm a chronic worrier so I need to know how bad this might be...Welcome to the Subforum. It looks like the starting dose of Lantus may have been too low, taking into consideration the numbers you had with Vetsulin. I suspect at the moment it’s not much in the way of bouncing, but just some glucose toxicity going on. The depot will take around 5-7 days to build so we shall see. Here on the subforum, we would suggest until you gather data and experience with Lantus that if you get a preshot of under 150, stall, do not feed and post for help, so numbers in the 200s are fine to shoot. Lantus works differently than Vetsulin, even the methodology of testing, feeding and shooting is quite different also.
Thank you, I'll start my new post soon@Phoenix R.
Yes you can still follow SLGS. Mouse may be experiencing glucose toxicity. Many cats do at the beginning of their diagnosis. Stay on course for the next 3 days, and then you can increase if the numbers are stagnant.
Don't forget to log the readings on the SS, and start a new post for today.
Thank you, I'll start my new post soon![]()
The SLGS dosing method is still fine to follow, it varies from TR in the length of time that caregivers hold the dose, and has a different set of guidelines for reductions and increases. With SLGS you would hold each dose for at least a week and then assess based on nadirs whether to increase. TR allows caregivers increases more quickly, and on the initial starting dose, with TR you’d hold for 5-7 days, unless we’re seeing high flat curves, in which case an increase sooner might be warranted. You have been seeing some nadirs under 300 so he’s not super high and flat, but let’s see how the next few days go. It just depends on what you are comfortable with when selecting which dosing method to follow.. There is no harm in starting with following SLGS then as you get more comfortable in how the insulin is working for Mouse, you can switch to TR, since you aren’t feeding any dry food.Is it still ok to use the SLGS Protocol?
She was down to 4.5 lbs when diagnosed with FD 05/17 but when we took her to the vet for followup 06/07 she was 5.4 lbs.If you see the numbers sticking too high, above 350, all the time, you can post and ask about increasing before then, but we do want the glargine to build up, so we can see what the dose is going to do.
How much does Mouse weigh?
She was down to 4.5 lbs when diagnosed with FD 05/17 but when we took her to the vet for followup 06/07 she was 5.4 lbs.