06/10 Mouse PMPS 479, +2 332

Phoenix R.

Member Since 2023
Hello... I am new to Lantus, this is day 2 and I'm pretty nervous as this will be Mouse's lowest shooting BG (253). I could really use some reassurance that it's ok to shoot at 253...
 
Hello... I am new to Lantus, this is day 2 and I'm pretty nervous as this will be Mouse's lowest shooting dose (253). I could really use some reassurance that it's ok to shoot at 253...

253 is a very safe number to shoot. When you see low 100s, you can be more concerned :bighug:

If it eases your mind, do a BG check at +1

You are clear for takeoff!
 
How long after you shoot are you going out?

I looked at the SS, I see this is Mouse's lowest pre-shot.
Will be around 2 hours after before we can leave so I'll definitely do a +2 before we go. Should I test at random times today after that to fill in the gaps on her SS since I tested every 2 hours yesterday? Yes this is her lowest PS BG! :)
 
Will be around 2 hours after before we can leave so I'll definitely do a +2 before we go. Should I test at random times today after that to fill in the gaps on her SS since I tested every 2 hours yesterday? Yes this is her lowest PS BG! :)
You can get a test @+4 and @+6 when you get home
Try and mix up the test times each day ,like filling in pieces of a puzzle
I know you can't stay up late at night but I see you said you can get a +2 after the PMPS test, If the number is much lower at +2 you might have to get another test in.
Just post if you need help
During the day maybe you can get a +10 to see where she's at .
I'm sure you know to withhold feeding 2 hours before the AMPS and PMPS so it's not influenced by food

Just want to be sure you have your hypo kit in case Mouse ever drops too low and you need to bring his BG up to safe numbers
Such as

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
And some honey in the house

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
 
I have 4 cans of ff beef gravy lovers in my hypo kit, I have them in a special bag with her other hypo items. I'll have to pick up some medium carb cans, I do have some other canned cat food on hand but not sure what the carbs are on those. Yup, withholding food 2 hours prior to PS tests.
 
Could be a bounce from her pre-shot number, it takes a while for most cats to get acclimated to lower numbers. Some cats bounce, some don't.

Either way you're safe to go out!
Thank you... I saw your message shortly after you sent it but had to go quick so we could get back. This is definitely a rollercoaster ride of anxiety. I did a +5 now she's up to 452.
 
Welcome to the Subforum :). It looks like the starting dose of Lantus may have been too low, taking into consideration the numbers you had with Vetsulin. I suspect at the moment it’s not much in the way of bouncing, but just some glucose toxicity going on. The depot will take around 5-7 days to build so we shall see. Here on the subforum, we would suggest until you gather data and experience with Lantus that if you get a preshot of under 150, stall, do not feed and post for help, so numbers in the 200s are fine to shoot. Lantus works differently than Vetsulin, even the methodology of testing, feeding and shooting is quite different also.
 
Welcome to the Subforum :). It looks like the starting dose of Lantus may have been too low, taking into consideration the numbers you had with Vetsulin. I suspect at the moment it’s not much in the way of bouncing, but just some glucose toxicity going on. The depot will take around 5-7 days to build so we shall see. Here on the subforum, we would suggest until you gather data and experience with Lantus that if you get a preshot of under 150, stall, do not feed and post for help, so numbers in the 200s are fine to shoot. Lantus works differently than Vetsulin, even the methodology of testing, feeding and shooting is quite different also.
Glucose toxicity sounds bad... Should I be worried? If we still see the higher numbers after 5-7 days does that mean she's insulin resistant and if so then what? I'm a chronic worrier so I need to know how bad this might be...
 
Is it still ok to use the SLGS Protocol?
The SLGS dosing method is still fine to follow, it varies from TR in the length of time that caregivers hold the dose, and has a different set of guidelines for reductions and increases. With SLGS you would hold each dose for at least a week and then assess based on nadirs whether to increase. TR allows caregivers increases more quickly, and on the initial starting dose, with TR you’d hold for 5-7 days, unless we’re seeing high flat curves, in which case an increase sooner might be warranted. You have been seeing some nadirs under 300 so he’s not super high and flat, but let’s see how the next few days go. It just depends on what you are comfortable with when selecting which dosing method to follow.. There is no harm in starting with following SLGS then as you get more comfortable in how the insulin is working for Mouse, you can switch to TR, since you aren’t feeding any dry food.
 
Back
Top