06/10 Aries AMPS 158 - No shot???

AriesCat

Member Since 2020
Aries has been doing well. Her AMPS was just 158, I wasn't going to give her shot? Is that correct? This is our 14th day at home testing. Also wondering if I should decrease her dose from 0.5 to 0.25?
 
Hi!
Will you be available to test today after injecting? And are you using the SLGS method? If yes to SLGS, you could have reduced after you saw Aries go under 90, both on the 6th and the 8th. Tight Regulation has you reduce when kitty goes under 50 (human meter).
158 is a safe number to shoot, especially if you will be around. One possibility is to go ahead and reduce the dose (if on SLGS and if you won't be around to test). Another option would be to give full dose, as long as you can check BGs early in the cycle and around nadir. Aries might earn a reduction, especially if you are using SLGS and reduce under 90!

ETA: if you won't be around to test enough, I'd definitely shoot .25u
 
Yes, I'm using SLGS. Okay, I'll be here to test in the morning but not in the afternoon. I just gave her a .25 dose. Thank you!

A special word of caution since you are new to this: the depot (a little subq insulin under the skin) is "full" of a .5U dose, SO, you might see numbers a bit lower than you might expect with this .25u dose. Get a test in an hour or two, and right before you leave. If Aries is lower than you like, leave out a snack(s) and choose the carb amount to leave based on her BG.

I hope it's a good day for you and Aries! You might want to get a +1 to see what's going on, or a +2. You guys are doing great.
 
Back
Top