06/09 Ducky AMPS 238 +3 89, +4 100, +7 87

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angel and Ducky

Member Since 2010
Hello All,

Ducky is doing pretty well today on 1 unit of Lantus. I do wonder though that if his number is around 100 tonight before I give him his PM shot, should i give it to him anyway... he doesn't ever seem to go up very fast... and he is hovering around the greens now...does any one here give their cats 1u in the AM and .5 units in the PM? Or is it always the same amount of Lantus per AM/PM and is it always 12 hours apart?
 
Hi there

if possible get a +11 and post, we'll see what others say about the dose, that'll give them an hour before shot time.
Lantus works best on a 12/12 schedule, so you'll want to stick to that as much as possible.

Check in around +11 and go from there.
Nice +7 by the way!
 
Re: 06/09 Ducky AMPS 238 +3 89, +4 100, +7 87 +11 dose advice

Okay, he's at 128 +11. I'm about to feed him, but I'm wondering if I should lower his dose or keep it at 1 unit when it's time for his shot?
 
Hello,

per your SS, 128 is your PMPS... and your post is +11 - could you pls clarify?

It's always best to shot the same dose morning and night. It's normal to be nervous at first.
If Ducky were my cat and if I was around with strips and gravy, I would likely shoot the right dose, which is the dose which was worked up or down the scale per the protocol.

BUT, let's not put the cart before the horse right now. Don't feed Ducky for the next hour and post your +12. Someone should be able to guide you.
Does that help?
 
Sorry, it's the husband posing as Angel on here right now! That was the +11 number, I just put it in the wrong place. I'm going to feed him, then check his level half an hour later.

OK, it's 129 now. I'm going to stick with the 1 unit.
 
ok, lemme get this straight...129 is the +11 and you gave some food?

if thats the case, you'll prob get a food induced preshot number at +12...we try to encourage no food between +10 and +12 preshot time, just because of food on board when you take the test.

Let's see what you're PMPS (+12) is
 
I apologize for any confusion,
I see 128 under +11
and 129 under PMPS, is this correct? 129 is your shot number?
 
I guess Ducky didn't want to stay in Rebound City for very long.

Since this is your lowest preshot, can you get a +1 and +2 tonight, so we can see where Ducky is going with this?
 
I did not see if anyone replied on the dose question - giving 1u at am and .5u at pm is not a good idea. You want to be consistent in the dose you give because of the shed.
If you give 1u for the required number of cycles, Ducky's shed will be filled and your shots won't be split between filling the shed and bringing Ducky's numbers down. The shed's gotta stay filled, so if you give a lesser shot, some of the shed gets drained, then you give a larger shot and the shed's gotta be topped up again. Fill the shed, drain the shed, fill the shed, drain the shed, get nowhere.

You have gone with 3 cycles of 1u, and you are aiming for green numbers. Your ss does not show any nadir on this dose that is low enough for a decrease I don't think, but others more experienced can say what's really going on. To me, it looks like Ducky has gotten the hang of this insulin stuff and is heading in the right direction.

if you are ever wondering about a number being too low for the shot, just post and put dose question in your subj line.

So to address the food thing now. There is a reason that we say no food for 2 hours before the shot is so that the number you get at ps is really a pure number. If you give some food, odds are very good that you will get a higher number at ps, but it won't be a true number. As soon as that food wears off, you will have a lower number.

Let's say you feed at +11 and then test an hour later. That number will be higher, artificially because of that food you gave at +11. You look at that number and think oh yeah I am ok with it, but it's sort of a false high.

What I do is give Oliver some foods just before that 2hr cutoff, and in the morns, I give him a couple chunks of raw chicken or Shadoe gets some steamed chunks. It should not upset their numbers and it calms them down for a bit until it's ps test time.

So that's that. Stick with this dose for every shot until Ducky gives you some nice green around 50, and hold the food 2 hrs prior to your shots.
 
Hello!! I see that Ducky's +1 is 101. Can you get another spot check before you go to bed?
 
Hi, it's Tim again sitting in for Angel. The Duck's at 110 +3.5 hrs from his last shot. I usually feed him around 5, and give him the shot at 5:30, is that problematic? I really appreciate all the help you all have given us!
 
The feed and shoot as you outlined it isn't a problem providedyou test prior to when you serve Ducky his breakfast. Think in terms of test - feed - shoot and you'll be fine. (I test Gabby and then when she's preoccupied with her meal, she gets her shot. The only difference between what you do and what I do is that there's probably 5 min. between my testing and shooting)
 
Hi Tim,
Very nice number for the Duck tonite!
Well, about the food, you could always compromise a wee bit.
You could test at 5:15, then feed at the same time, and shoot at 5:30, but what I do is get the foods ready, test my two, put the foods down, then get their shots ready and shoot while they are eating.
If the Duck is really starving, see if you can feed right at the 2hr mark or maybe give a small snack like a couple pieces or chicken.

Maybe some others around here have some tricks they can share.
 
Hi all, Tim again. I'm sorry I'm not that clear with the process, but we always test first at 5, then feed, then shoot him at 5:30. Ducky is a renowned eater, so any whiff of food or treats before testing makes him squirmy. I'm pretty bad at testing, but my ear-pricking skills are improving! Thanks again, I'm still trying to get the hang of this and really appreciate all the support. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top