06/08 Furball AMPS=276 Vial vs. Pen ? PMPS=276

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 06/08 Furball AMPS=276 Vial vs. Pen ?

Morning Carla,

I'm glad that Furball and MC are doing okay this morning. They may need some extra pats and scritches today. And (((hugs))) to you too.

Vial vs. pen - I don't have the link, but wanted to share my experience. I hesitated to switch from the vial to the pens in the beginning, and our vet didn't want to give a script for the pens. Then the pharmacist tried to talk me out of the pens because I wouldn't buy the pen needles. It was all worth It though, and I am so glad that I switched. The first pen last 78 days, but Zeus was on a higher dose back then. The second pen lasted us 100 days, good right up to the last drop. We've been using the third pen for 25 days and still have lots to go, plus I have two pens waiting in the fridge.

Take care,
Kathie
 
Re: 06/08 Furball AMPS=276 Vial vs. Pen ?

Morning Carla, glad you are good this morning.

I switched to the pens from the vial as well and love the pens. More economical as well. To me the vial was more difficult to use. True I do have arthritis and the nerve damage in my hands - so that may have contributed but the pens are so much easier. I don't use the needles for the pens either, just the regular ones I have been using. I seem to get more life out of the pens as well.

Have a good day.

Jo
 
Re: 06/08 Furball AMPS=276 Vial vs. Pen ?

Morning Carla, hugs to you today and glad Furball and MC are hangin in okay. I may be one of the very few here that uses the vial and am okay with it. The vial I am using now is on its fifth month, and it is still good. As long as it's stored properly and not dropped, etc. Mags is only on three drops though, and it may not work out as well financally for someone's kitty on a larger dose. I'm stretching it a bit, as my pet insurance automatically renews June 23, and I've used up all my coverage until then. I normally get a new vial after the fourth month.
 
Re: 06/08 Furball AMPS=276 Vial vs. Pen ?

I was fine with the vial, too. It lasted about 5 months, so I never had the opportunity to get the pens. I would have considered it because we traveled every week, and the pens would have been easier to transport cold in a smaller space. I ended up using a little insulated lunch box with a bag of ice and the vial in the box in a coffee mug. But most people don't have to transport insulin as often as we did.
 
Re: 06/08 Furball AMPS=276 Vial vs. Pen ?

Morning Carla ~O) ~O) ~O)

A nice start for Furball today, a sunny yellow. I am glad that MC and Furball are doing OK today. I was so sorry read earlier today about Lucky. I hope they will adjust OK. I so know on how one feels when one deosn't have to get that bowl of food ready. Hugs to you.

I initially was a vial user. switched to the pens. For me it was better, as I was wasting less insulin with the pens. I remember having to toss alot with the vial, with the pens I didn't. It took a while to convince the vet, and the pharmacist, but once I took the time to explain it all they were on board. I was glad I made the switch - For Mannie I got about 45/60 days our of a pen, down to the last drop. I don't have the link either....

Have a great day today. so sorry about Lucky....
 
Re: 06/08 Furball AMPS=276 Vial vs. Pen ?

Michelle and Mannie (GA) said:
I genitally was a vial user.

Michelle, I have to say, your typos are always amusing, but this one truly takes the cake :lol:

Carla, wishing you comfort after Lucky's journey to the Bridge. My Butthead had ear cancer as well, and despite multiple treatments, it still spread and could not be stopped :sad:

MJ
 
Re: 06/08 Furball AMPS=276 Vial vs. Pen ?

We switched from vials to pens. I dropped one vial - ouch, that was expensive. Now we keep the vial in a neoprene sleeve. :roll: I think the pens are easier and there is an online coupon for $25 pens. Just make sure that Furball is 18. :lol:

If you feel like sharing, how did Lucky get his name and how did he come to be with you?
Liz
 
Re: 06/08 Furball AMPS=276 Vial vs. Pen ?

Good afternoon Carla and sweet babies,
Again, I'm so sorry it was Lucky's time to cross - the next few days always seem the hardest for me. BIG HUGE LOOOONG HUG.

Vial vs Pen - I've used both, actually AM using both right now. I used pens first then was given 3 vials of Lantus well over a year ago when a sweet GA's MamaBean changed her kitty to Levemir. I'm now half way thru that third one with KT, it's still just fine, kept them stored in fridge drawer wrapped well in towel to keep constant temp as much as possible. When Dakota finally arrived here May 25th, he came with his own Lantus pen. So until this vial is gone, I use vial for KT and pen for Dakota. After that, I'll go back to the pens, I like them much better. They're easier for me to handle altho' I have to put on my glasses to be sure I hit the smaller seal with the syringe...I tend to hit the bitty metal ring sometimes...trashes points on needles... :roll:

Another BIG HUG!!!!
 
Re: 06/08 Furball AMPS=276 Vial vs. Pen ?

Hey Carla - I know how you feel about not fixing up an extra food dish. We had to help our eldest drooler cross a few weeks ago and I don't know what to do with the extra time in the morning. More hugs and scritches for the living I guess!

I used to have vials and I switched to pens. I really like the pen much better. It seems like a tighter vessel - no jiggling the juice because it's vacuum packed. Many people say they can get 3 at a time, but I can only get 1. I have been able to use every last drop. I even dropped a new one in the pharmacy parking lot and it worked all the way through. If you switch, make sure you check out the video on how to handle it and draw the insulin because it's a little different.

Hope you're having a good weekend!
 
Re: 06/08 Furball AMPS=276 Vial vs. Pen ?

Thanks everyone for your thoughts on vial vs. pen and support about Lucky.

Lucky was a stray that I took in. Years ago I had an outside cat. I was visiting her one morning and heard another cat meowing and there was Lucky. He had a collar on that he had tried to get out of and it was wrapped under one front leg and still around his neck. I took him in and doctored him up (the collar had rubbed his leg raw) and when no one claimed him, he became my cat. That was in 1998. He had a long, happy life here. He was named Lucky because he was lucky to be rescued and have a good home. I always thought someone dropped him because they didn't want him.
 
Furball was wanting lots of loving this evening. cat_pet_icon I increased her dose to 2.25 units to see if we can get back on track.
 
Carla, Lucky was indeed lucky to find you. Furball is trying to make you feel better cat_pet_icon Hope your memories keep you smiling through the tears.
 
Awww Carla, maybe Furball knows you're sad. :cry: When Check's sister, Sammie crossed, he looked for her, for days.
They were littermates. I hope Furball's not sad, and missing Lucky.
 
(((((Carla))))

I'm so sorry I issued your condo yesterday and the very sad news that Lucky crossed the bridge. He was lucky to have found you and have such a long, happy life. I'm glad he was at home with you and his friends.

Fly free Lucky....

Come down Furball!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top