06/07-Dolly-AMPS 86 -97@2 -111@5 -118@6 -86@9 -PMPS 87 -103@2.25 -94@3.25

I am freaking out. Vet wants dolly off insulin today. Says I am playing with fire with those numbers under 100. Wants me to call on Thursday with her BG numbers. What do I do when I call, make up a number.? She’s doing a Fructosamine test. That gives values over a week? I know I don't have to listen to her. She says if she gets to 300 for a couple days that’s okay. OMG how can they know so little.

I just called her back and said shouldn’t Dolly be weaned off insulin. She said no either she needs it or she doesn’t. How could she believe that.? If I gave her one unit and her numbers climbed into the 200’s. This drives me crazy that they won’t even listen to common sense. :banghead:
 
Last edited:
Adrienne, I'm so sorry you're so upset, doesn't she know that human meters read lower than pet meters. When I switched from the pet meter to the Relion I gave my vet the numbers for a pet meter. She was ok with it. I showed her my SS
I don't know what to tell you, let's see what others have to say
 
Adrienne, I'm so sorry you're so upset, doesn't she know that human meters read lower than pet meters. When I switched from the pet meter to the Relion I gave my vet the numbers for a pet meter. She was ok with it. I showed her my SS
I don't know what to tell you, let's see what others have to say
Thanks for reminding me about the meter. I forgot to remind her those are human meter numbers. She saw her SS. The Fructosamine test will help her see her numbers are not so low all the time right?
 
I saw the tag, but I don't know what the question is. Dolly needs insulin - she is seeing nice numbers on 1.5 units but would climb up if taken off insulin. Some vets freak out at lower numbers, mostly because most of their clients don't home test enough to keep their cat safe. I mostly ignored my vet on dosing. Many people learn the "smile and nod" approach. Though with COVID, you might not actually see the vet.
 
I saw the tag, but I don't know what the question is. Dolly needs insulin - she is seeing nice numbers on 1.5 units but would climb up if taken off insulin. Some vets freak out at lower numbers, mostly because most of their clients don't home test enough to keep their cat safe. I mostly ignored my vet on dosing. Many people learn the "smile and nod" approach. Though with COVID, you might not actually see the vet.
Thanks Wendy. I don’t see the vet. Curbside. I just spoke with her and Dolly’s Fructosamine was 377 but still wants her off insulin to see what numbers she has. She also did a BG and got 127, a good number on a pet meter on insulin. The issue is she wants me to call with an update on Thursday with Dolly’s numbers off insulin. I don’t know what number to give her.
 
Thanks Wendy. I don’t see the vet. Curbside. I just spoke with her and Dolly’s Fructosamine was 377 but still wants her off insulin to see what numbers she has. She also did a BG and got 127, a good number on a pet meter on insulin. The issue is she wants me to call with an update on Thursday with Dolly’s numbers off insulin. I don’t know what number to give her.
I mistakenly sent her the link to Dolly’s SS. She hates that I test so much but she obviously knows how closely I monitor Dolly diabetes.
 
Create a new SS with a new link, copy over the old data and use the new SS instead and put the new link in your signature. We have people who can help you do that. Or just live with the fact that the vet can see what you are doing. I don't know how often she's going to look at it and "call you out". Dolly has been diabetic for a year and a half. Don't know how long you have been "seeing" that vet, but I stopped talking doses with my vet after a few months. I handed my vet the TR document and spreadsheets weekly for the first month or so, then just stopped sharing.

One thing you could do is skip insulin tonight, get a good night's rest and sent the AMPS number to the vet. Of course, that will still be influenced by the depot and lower than if she had been off insulin for at least 3 days. And you can pretend it's a fur shot, Dolly will recover.

Your vet isn't the caregiver for your cat, you are.:bighug: You know her best. You are the client, the vet is service provider.

Dolly is still (barely) in the diabetic cat range on the Fructosamine, but in the well controlled range. Reference Ranges for Fructosamine Test
 
Create a new SS with a new link, copy over the old data and use the new SS instead and put the new link in your signature. We have people who can help you do that. Or just live with the fact that the vet can see what you are doing. I don't know how often she's going to look at it and "call you out". Dolly has been diabetic for a year and a half. Don't know how long you have been "seeing" that vet, but I stopped talking doses with my vet after a few months. I handed my vet the TR document and spreadsheets weekly for the first month or so, then just stopped sharing.

One thing you could do is skip insulin tonight, get a good night's rest and sent the AMPS number to the vet. Of course, that will still be influenced by the depot and lower than if she had been off insulin for at least 3 days. And you can pretend it's a fur shot, Dolly will recover.

Your vet isn't the caregiver for your cat, you are.:bighug: You know her best. You are the client, the vet is service provider.

Dolly is still (barely) in the diabetic cat range on the Fructosamine, but in the well controlled range. Reference Ranges for Fructosamine Test
Thanks Wendy. I don’t think she will ever look at her SS again, it confuses her, all those colors :rolleyes: She’s been going to her since I adopted Dolly 8 years ago. A couple of months ago I tried a new vet, you could actually go in with your pet, I hate the curbside. He felt she should be off insulin as well and it was never discussed again. I decided to go back to her old vet, it cats only, all her records, they know her. I like your idea about taking her off for one time but also agree, she is my cat with my decisions. If I understand the Fructosamine results Dolly is in a good range??? Her doctor, after seeing that number, said maybe we will put her back on a low dose after she sees her off insulin numbers. So she did not see this as a good range. Am I getting this wrong? Thank you so much for taking the time to help. It is sincerely appreciated.
 
Thanks Wendy. I don’t think she will ever look at her SS again, it confuses her, all those colors :rolleyes: She’s been going to her since I adopted Dolly 8 years ago. A couple of months ago I tried a new vet, you could actually go in with your pet, I hate the curbside. He felt she should be off insulin as well and it was never discussed again. I decided to go back to her old vet, it cats only, all her records, they know her. I like your idea about taking her off for one time but also agree, she is my cat with my decisions. If I understand the Fructosamine results Dolly is in a good range??? Her doctor, after seeing that number, said maybe we will put her back on a low dose after she sees her off insulin numbers. So she did not see this as a good range. Am I getting this wrong? Thank you so much for taking the time to help. It is sincerely appreciated.
Create a new SS with a new link, copy over the old data and use the new SS instead and put the new link in your signature. We have people who can help you do that. Or just live with the fact that the vet can see what you are doing. I don't know how often she's going to look at it and "call you out". Dolly has been diabetic for a year and a half. Don't know how long you have been "seeing" that vet, but I stopped talking doses with my vet after a few months. I handed my vet the TR document and spreadsheets weekly for the first month or so, then just stopped sharing.

One thing you could do is skip insulin tonight, get a good night's rest and sent the AMPS number to the vet. Of course, that will still be influenced by the depot and lower than if she had been off insulin for at least 3 days. And you can pretend it's a fur shot, Dolly will recover.

Your vet isn't the caregiver for your cat, you are.:bighug: You know her best. You are the client, the vet is service provider.

Dolly is still (barely) in the diabetic cat range on the Fructosamine, but in the well controlled range. Reference Ranges for Fructosamine Test
Sorry, one question, do you think Dolly needs an increase, something I really don’t want to do but will if it’s what’s best for her.
 
The vet put Dolly on Meloxicam. I know it can be very dangerous, she has to have bloodwork after 7-10 days. Dolly’s kidney are in great shape but still …..but she is so stiff. Rarely Jumps or plays. Walks like a snail with a limp, right hip bothers her.

anyone ever use it?

@tiffmaxee
 
Adrienne, I'm so sorry this vet has gotten you so upset. :( I have battled this with every vet, and Ruby's seen a lot of different ones in the past year. The IM who was treating Ruby at the hospital has stopped her comments about Ruby being in remission after seeing her out of whack numbers while she was there not getting any insulin (and being fed kibble by veterinary professionals :mad:). I think Wendy's suggestion to skip her shot tonight is a good one. Sometimes they need to see if for themselves to get it.
 
Adrienne, I'm so sorry this vet has gotten you so upset. :( I have battled this with every vet, and Ruby's seen a lot of different ones in the past year. The IM who was treating Ruby at the hospital has stopped her comments about Ruby being in remission after seeing her out of whack numbers while she was there not getting any insulin (and being fed kibble by veterinary professionals :mad:). I think Wendy's suggestion to skip her shot tonight is a good one. Sometimes they need to see if for themselves to get it.
Thanks Katherine, you always make me feel better, supported and understood. 8 years with this vet, not this doctor, 2 years with her. She has always hated my testing but never outright said take Dolly off insulin. I tried explaining to her, as if it would be necessary, that these numbers are insulin driven, she doesn’t get it. She’s horrified about how I’ve put Dolly in so much danger. Thanks again for being there for us when you have more than enough to think about. Prayers for a healing healthy Ruby. Hugs for all of you, of course Olive too. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I agree with Wendy. Most vets tend to want to see cats in higher numbers than what we're used to primarily because vets do not push their clients to home test. If you had no clue what Dolly's numbers looked like and the only data was the 127 at the vet's office and that was a stress influenced number, I'd be concerned too. However, you home test! You have a huge amount of data and know exactly where Dolly's numbers are and you know how to steer those numbers if necessary. Maybe you need to ask your vet how many of her clients home test and how many of the cats she treats go into remission or are tightly regulated.

You vet may be wonderful for treating many aspects of your cat's health. She just may not be an expert on diabetes. I've had to push back with vets. Once they understood that I actually did know what I was doing and understood diabetes, they pretty much left me alone. When I moved to Columbus, I interviewed my current vet and pretty much quizzed her on TR. I also asked if she wanted to dictate my dosing or if she was comfortable being a partner in my cat's care. She took one look at Gabby's spreadsheet and commented that I knew what I was doing and to let her know if I had any questions. I really like my vet!!
 
I agree with Wendy. Most vets tend to want to see cats in higher numbers than what we're used to primarily because vets do not push their clients to home test. If you had no clue what Dolly's numbers looked like and the only data was the 127 at the vet's office and that was a stress influenced number, I'd be concerned too. However, you home test! You have a huge amount of data and know exactly where Dolly's numbers are and you know how to steer those numbers if necessary. Maybe you need to ask your vet how many of her clients home test and how many of the cats she treats go into remission or are tightly regulated.

You vet may be wonderful for treating many aspects of your cat's health. She just may not be an expert on diabetes. I've had to push back with vets. Once they understood that I actually did know what I was doing and understood diabetes, they pretty much left me alone. When I moved to Columbus, I interviewed my current vet and pretty much quizzed her on TR. I also asked if she wanted to dictate my dosing or if she was comfortable being a partner in my cat's care. She took one look at Gabby's spreadsheet and commented that I knew what I was doing and to let her know if I had any questions. I really like my vet!!
Thanks Sienne. I actually was trained on home testing at this vet with this doctors approval. Of course it was my idea, not theirs. She diagnosed Dolly, started her out on 1 unit of Lantus, helped out in the beginning when I was just looking into FD and had no idea what I was doing. When I heard she was out for a few weeks for some new training, my hopes were she would come back finally a pro in Feline Diabetes. That obviously wasn’t on the training menu. She actually felt I put Dolly on her death bed, playing with fire with my cats life. Again, thanks so much for your message.
 
Have you given her a copy of the published article documenting the TR Protocol? I wonder if she would be more accepting if she had the article and saw it was published by a leading veterinary specialist in FD and it was published in a very well respected vet journal. I've attached the article in case you don't have it.
 

Attachments

I used Meloxicam on one cat, ages ago before the dangers were known. I didn't help that much, I stopped it. Cartrophen (Adequan in the US) worked much better for his arthritis.
f I understand the Fructosamine results Dolly is in a good range???
Yes, it says you are doing a good job and should keep doing what you are doing. As for an increase, you are getting some good nadirs. I'd also want to know what your goals are for Dolly. You might be able to get more green with an increase, but with that also means more monitoring. So you have to do what suits your lifestyle as well.
 
I used Meloxicam on one cat, ages ago before the dangers were known. I didn't help that much, I stopped it. Cartrophen (Adequan in the US) worked much better for his arthritis.

Yes, it says you are doing a good job and should keep doing what you are doing. As for an increase, you are getting some good nadirs. I'd also want to know what your goals are for Dolly. You might be able to get more green with an increase, but with that also means more monitoring. So you have to do what suits your lifestyle as well.
Thanks. I gave her a copy over a year ago. Never mentioned it. Dolly just finished a series of 8 injections of Adequan twice a week for four weeks. No improvement. I would love for Dolly to be in remission again but since my accident (fractured my Femur in March, had surgery. Was told a year to completely heal) staying up late has been impossible. I’m not able to nap. I just don’t snap back like I used to. But remission has been my goal. My lifestyle had been isolation for 3 years, go out for groceries etc. anyway, my goal but don’t know if I will be able to do the all nighters. Again, thank you for your input and your help. Wishing you all the best.
 
Too bad on the Adequan. Neko ended up on full time buprenorphine for her arthritis. Other things to try are hyaluronic acid (I did brand Hyaflex) and Duralactin, if her calcium levels are fine and no allergy to milk. Neko also got monthly acupuncture for her pain.

I remembered reading about your injury. I think you are doing an amazing job with Dolly given what you are going through. :bighug:
 
Too bad on the Adequan. Neko ended up on full time buprenorphine for her arthritis. Other things to try are hyaluronic acid (I did brand Hyaflex) and Duralactin, if her calcium levels are fine and no allergy to milk. Neko also got monthly acupuncture for her pain.

I remembered reading about your injury. I think you are doing an amazing job with Dolly given what you are going through. :bighug:
Thank you. The vet mentioned the Duralactin. I can’t pill her, impossible, I get her meds compounded to a liquid. I tried Dasuquin, sprinkled on her food, she wouldn’t eat her food. We’ll figure it out. Thanks again and take good care. :bighug:
 
Back
Top