i thought that if you shot a 250 and the cat nadired at 50, so a drop of 200 points, on any particular dose, that meant that "this dose = 200 points." So if you shot a 50 at that dose, the cat would go to zero and die. but it just doesn't work that way.
It's a hard idea to wrap your head around. it's very counter-intuitive and i can't think of anything else that works that way. Perhaps it's because insulin is a hormone rather than a "drug." I don't know - but i've seen it happen over and over again, and it really does do that. you can't get complacent and think it means you don't have to test, because the cat will settle into a dose and work its way down, but it doesn't mean you have to test every 30 minutes either. I do think it's something you just have to try with your cat and see what the result is.
btw, when i'm saying "you" i just mean "people."
I tell people that the lower preshot is like a little gift - it's an opportunity to flatten out the cycle and lower the entire range of blood sugar numbers. The opportunity will come again, though, so if you aren't ready the first time, you'll get another chance.
If you aren't comfy shooting a 50, perhaps you could shoot a 100 the first time, then move your threshold to 80, then to 60, then to 50 to get more comfortable and learn how Boomer's body will respond to it. You've shot a couple of times in the 120's. What might help with the early morning decision is to decide the night before what your threshold is, write it by the syringes and if it's over that number, go for it.
Whenever you shoot a number that is lower than you've shot before, get a +1 and a +2, just to make sure he isn't diving. He doesn't typically do that, but it's a good rule of thumb. If you're nervous, get a +0.5u. If you haven't reread the sticky on "Shooting and Handling Low Numbers" you might want to do that as well.
We're cheering you on! It is nerve-wracking, but you'll be able to do it!