06/04/23, Mouse, AMPS 355

Status
Not open for further replies.
I would read all the yellow stickys here about Lantus/Glargine
Especially the 2 dosing methods and see which one you would want to follow.
Each one will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
@Phoenix R.
I would start to get a test @+2. then +4. and @+6 and if possible a +8 or +9
Every day or so you want to test at different times like filling in pieces of a puzzle
It will take 5 to 7 days for the depot to fill for Glargine
When you do pick a dose add it to your signature and on your spreadsheet somewhere
Did you create your spreadsheet using our directions? Only asking because if you look at mine and other members spreadsheets ours looks different than yours.
On ours there is a spot to fill in where it asks you TR or SLGS Method .
Take a look at mine Tyler's spreadsheet

On yours you can just put which method you choose where ever you can fit it
I really think you will like Lantus/Glargine
All I was asked was the shot times and the date I would be starting the insulin and mine and Mouse's names and I filled in the rest (type of meter, insulin etc.) when the spreadsheet was sent.
 
We picked up the Glargine today... I wasn't too thrilled that the pharmacy didn't put an ice pack in with the pens even though I let them know it would be about an hour before we could get home. They also only had 2 glargine pens. The pharmacist was really confusing me because she said that there were 300 units in each pen and that they would expire before I could use them all because it's only good for 28 days.
I still don't know which protocol to follow, I read them both and am not sure which would be better for Mouse. Here we go with another high anxiety day. Too bad the Vetsulin isn't working good for her as it somehow feels less confusing.
 
I would read all the yellow stickys here about Lantus/Glargine
Especially the 2 dosing methods and see which one you would want to follow.
Each one will tell you when an increase or decrease is needed
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
@Phoenix R.
I would start to get a test @+2. then +4. and @+6 and if possible a +8 or +9
Every day or so you want to test at different times like filling in pieces of a puzzle
It will take 5 to 7 days for the depot to fill for Glargine
When you do pick a dose add it to your signature and on your spreadsheet somewhere
Did you create your spreadsheet using our directions? Only asking because if you look at mine and other members spreadsheets ours looks different than yours.
On ours there is a spot to fill in where it asks you TR or SLGS Method .
Take a look at mine Tyler's spreadsheet

On yours you can just put which method you choose where ever you can fit it
I really think you will like Lantus/Glargine
Do I do the insulin injections in the same spot with the Glargine or alternate sides like I was with the vetsulin? I'm not sure how to fix my spreadsheet.
 
You do not need to start a new spreadsheet. You can just put a large horizontal area across the spreadsheet on the day that you start the Glargine -- saying Started Glargine or something like that. Then change the top of the spreadsheet to indicate that the current insulin is Glargine and be sure to also put that in your signature that you are now using Glargine.
I'm not sure how to put a line across the day I start since all of the dates are already filled in, I don't even know how to change Mouse's spreadsheet so it's set up like other members on here. I also still don't know what protocol I should use, I read both but my anxiety is so high today and I've got way too much going on in my head and haven't been getting enough sleep. I hope the Glargine pens are still good since the Pharmacy people didn't put an icepack in with them.
 
I'm not sure how to put a line across the day I start since all of the dates are already filled in, I don't even know how to change Mouse's spreadsheet so it's set up like other members on here. I also still don't know what protocol I should use, I read both but my anxiety is so high today and I've got way too much going on in my head and haven't been getting enough sleep. I hope the Glargine pens are still good since the Pharmacy people didn't put an icepack in with them.
I understand. I am sure the Glargine pens will be okay. Remember that those pens are designed for people to carry them around in their pockets. They’re not as fragile as we once thought. The manufacturers actually have quite a bot of information publicly available about the longevity of their insulin at room temperature.
 
And we have people who can help you with your spreadsheet too. And we can talk more about dosing methods and what would work for you and your schedule.
 
And we have people who can help you with your spreadsheet too. And we can talk more about dosing methods and what would work for you and your schedule.
Should I still be starting the Glargine tomorrow morning at 1.25 u? I'm very nervous about this switch. I would definitely appreciate help with the spreadsheet too.:)
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Last edited:
Do I need to shake the pen before I draw the insulin out or just draw it out and inject. Really nervous about this switch and starting it at 1.25u hoping someone can get back to me soon.... It's almost shot time.
 
Do I need to shake the pen before I draw the insulin out or just draw it out and inject.
N o rolling or mixing required with a solution insulins They are always clear) like Lantus/glargine. Mixing is required for suspension insulins like Prozinc/Vetsulin/N (NPH), Suspension insulins are cloudy when mixed and when left to settle, the there is a clear liquid above white particles at the bottom.
 
N o rolling or mixing required with a solution insulins They are always clear) like Lantus/glargine. Mixing is required for suspension insulins like Prozinc/Vetsulin/N (NPH), Suspension insulins are cloudy when mixed and when left to settle, the there is a clear liquid above white particles at the bottom.
Thank you! 1st shot of Lantus done, hoping for a smooth transition. :)
 
You can alternate sides did you pick up the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings ?
@Phoenix R.
Yes, picked them up yesterday. Is it necessary to draw back when using the u100 6mm syringes? Just wondering cause it's difficult to do with such a short needle when Mouse is not cooperating. Also when I drew back it was pulling air but plunger didn't move back down to the dose line. I hope that made sense :)
 
Yes, picked them up yesterday. Is it necessary to draw back when using the u100 6mm syringes? Just wondering cause it's difficult to do with such a short needle when Mouse is not cooperating. Also when I drew back it was pulling air but plunger didn't move back down to the dose line. I hope that made sense :)
You push the plunger all the way in then insert it into the pen and then draw out the insulin, if you get any bubbles try flicking the syringe with your finger
 
@Phoenix R.
See if this helps explaing the dosing methods
SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.
 
@Phoenix R.
See if this helps explaing the dosing methods
SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get at least one more test per cycle in addition to the pre-shot one i.e. 2 tests per cycle or 4 tests per day. You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.
Is remission possible with both protocols? I know remission isn't guaranteed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top