06/03 Chico 212@AMPS; 295@2 - bounce

Marina & Chico

Member Since 2021
apparently yesterday in the PM cycle +3, after giving him a few drops of honey, Chico's BG never went down from it and possibly that is the cause for the higher PS today. I guess we reached our new mental "low" <70 which we need to overcome. @Gill & George do you think we should try to let him go to these values and still not give him any honey?

on the 3/3 we gave him few drops of honey when he was 86@2 and he kept on going lower until 67@3.5, meanwhile yesterday he went immediately up. How do we decide if it is still safe to let him go without honey?

PS. we still can't believe we just called 212 a high PS :D

Yesterday's thread
 
What lovely cycles yesterday! :D

Gill will do a much better job of explaining it than I can - on 3/3 and 4/3, he was breaking a bounce and there was therefore, more downward momentum and a later nadir. Yesterday's cycles were more typical Lantus with a gentler curve.

You could probably slowly lower the number at which you intervene with honey? That confidence will come with time.

PS. we still can't believe we just called 212 a high PS :D
Soon 100+ will be high! :-)
 
What lovely cycles yesterday! :D

Gill will do a much better job of explaining it than I can - on 3/3 and 4/3, he was breaking a bounce and there was therefore, more downward momentum and a later nadir. Yesterday's cycles were more typical Lantus with a gentler curve.

You could probably slowly lower the number at which you intervene with honey? That confidence will come with time.
ohhhh, that makes sense :O thanks for enlighten me :) i had no idea the cycles would be different after a bounce break and during normal cycles. To be honest yesterday was the first day when we saw 2 cycles not precedented by a bounce : D so this was a new experience

Soon 100+ will be high! :)

haha, can't wait :)
 
How do we decide if it is still safe to let him go without honey?
You need to assess, where the numbers are coming from and where they are probably heading.
You did a good job of that last night.
that 20pt drop into the 70's in 30min, at +3 so still early in the cycle (looks like he onset a little before +2), probably required some intervention to help him flatten out, the two drops of honey seemed to stall him though, he wasn't clearing a bounce, so possibly a little less honey or just LC at that point might have done the trick. The two drops worked better than the morning amount, but maybe still a bit too much.
So if he is having a more regular cycle (not a bounce clearing) next time you could try either one drop in his food or LC. Either would be safe, you have the tools, experience to manage his numbers if he drops below 50, remember 50 does not mean he is hypo.

Really you want to reserve HC/honey for when he drops below 50.

In a situation like yesterday, you might have used higher LC or MC at most to slow him down. (if you were using commercial food that you knew the carb content of)

So I would say don't use anymore than a drop of honey added to your 10g of HM (let's call that MC, though we don't know if it is), the problem with intervening too much with honey is that the depot can become overfull and you end up masking the need for a reduction and when he does finally insist on the reduction you can end up with him making a big point about it and having to intervene quite aggressively to stop him from going to low, I had that happen (well below 50)

I would reserve using any more than a drop for when he drops below 50.

The managing the curve with food, helps you hold on to the dose, flatten him out and can help with the bouncing as it sees him spend more time in green/blue numbers.

You need to also recognize when he is having a bounce clearing cycle, with those he might need a bigger nudge to make him take notice.
 
You need to assess, where the numbers are coming from and where they are probably heading.
You did a good job of that last night.
that 20pt drop into the 70's in 30min, at +3 so still early in the cycle (looks like he onset a little before +2), probably required some intervention to help him flatten out, the two drops of honey seemed to stall him though, he wasn't clearing a bounce, so possibly a little less honey or just LC at that point might have done the trick. The two drops worked better than the morning amount, but maybe still a bit too much.
So if he is having a more regular cycle (not a bounce clearing) next time you could try either one drop in his food or LC. Either would be safe, you have the tools, experience to manage his numbers if he drops below 50, remember 50 does not mean he is hypo.

Really you want to reserve HC/honey for when he drops below 50.

In a situation like yesterday, you might have used higher LC or MC at most to slow him down. (if you were using commercial food that you knew the carb content of)

So we will have to slow down with the use of honey, got it

So I would say don't use anymore than a drop of honey added to your 10g of HM (let's call that MC, though we don't know if it is), the problem with intervening too much with honey is that the depot can become overfull and you end up masking the need for a reduction and when he does finally insist on the reduction you can end up with him making a big point about it and having to intervene quite aggressively to stop him from going to low, I had that happen (well below 50)

I was actually wondering how long can we hold him above 50 with honey and how would we understand when is time to reduce. Now i understand it can be dangerous as well to hold him above 50 with any cost.

I guess that is the case when George measured 20...i can't imagine that coming on to Chico and not being able to stop it, must have been frightening :nailbiting::nailbiting:

I would reserve using any more than a drop for when he drops below 50.

The managing the curve with food, helps you hold on to the dose, flatten him out and can help with the bouncing as it sees him spend more time in green/blue numbers.

You need to also recognize when he is having a bounce clearing cycle, with those he might need a bigger nudge to make him take notice.

@Bandit's Mom as well mentioned the difference between bounce clearing and normal flat cycle. thank you very much for the clarification, since we never had it before it was hard to sense the difference.
 
He appears to be bouncing in the yellow this morning, maybe you could have a little break this Saturday morning/ early afternoon. :)

Grab a +10 so your ready for the pmps
Now i understand it can be dangerous as well to hold him above 50 with any cost.
More than dangerous is that you need to be aware of what you are doing, how hard you are having to work to keep him up. If you find that you are starting to work very hard to keep him up, it can be a sign that he's getting ready to earn that reduction.

In an ideal world they would earn their reductions by spending a week in green, that can start to happen once you get them regulated.

Just keep posting, you keep excellent notes so it's much easier for anyone helping you to see what's going on.

We can see what you feed, when and we can relate that to BG, you have a lot of data to work with.
 
He appears to be bouncing in the yellow this morning, maybe you could have a little break this Saturday morning/ early afternoon. :)

Grab a +10 so your ready for the pmps
He was pretty flat all morning cycle. +10 and PMPS are almost identical. We expect him to clear the bounce but doesn't have to as well, he taught us he decides what happens and when haha

More than dangerous is that you need to be aware of what you are doing, how hard you are having to work to keep him up. If you find that you are starting to work very hard to keep him up, it can be a sign that he's getting ready to earn that reduction.

In an ideal world they would earn their reductions by spending a week in green, that can start to happen once you get them regulated.

We are still not morally prepared for him to show us he needs a reduction but i guess no one ever is. We will have to deal with it even if he doesn't go the "book" way.

Just keep posting, you keep excellent notes so it's much easier for anyone helping you to see what's going on.

We can see what you feed, when and we can relate that to BG, you have a lot of data to work with.

Thank you for the positive feedback :) I actually got the advice how to modify it from @Bandit's Mom and i would do anything to show the gratitude we feel for all your support, there is no way we would be able to manage it alone at home without your guiding and the guiding of this forum.
 
Just checked in on Chicos SS, doesn't look like the bounce lasted long.

Tonight's cycle is looking like a bounce breaking cycle. He may nadir later than usual.
Don't worry about feeding in the latter half of the cycle if you need to.
 
Back
Top