06/03 Bodie AMPS 431 +5 348

sadye claxton

Member Since 2020
Question about "mid cycle readings"...Poor Bodie's ears are a mess in that he's got chronic ear infections and hates having his ears messed with, much less stuck multiple times a day. However, I was alerted to the fact that his high sugars here and there COULD be caused by his sugar getting too low mid cycle, causing him to "bounce" high. So I need to get some mid cycle readings. Suggestions on the most important hours in addition to the AMPS/PMPS to get readings? Every two hours is really going to stress him out which I don't want to do either...?
 
Hi! I think this is your previous post - just linking for continuity - https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/urgent-question-missed-lantus.247569/#post-2792459

On SLGS, it's advised to hold a dose for 7 days and then perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours.

With that said, a +2 or +3 is often a very telling test (for the AM and PM cycle) no matter the dosing method. Lantus typically onsets around then and the reading can give you an indication of an active cycle.
  • If the +2 is about the same as the Pre-shot, usually they're going to have a fairly "normal" cycle...slowly dropping to nadir and then slowly heading back up until the next PS
  • If it's higher than the PS, that can indicate the beginning of a bounce and those are the cycles where you can usually get by without testing as much
  • If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "early warning"....those are the cycles where it's important to try to get more tests in...but if you can't, you might want to leave some higher carb food down for him
In addition, most often increases are by 0.25u (and that's after curve day). I am by no means an expert but when I read SLGS, it only advises increases by 0.25u whereas TR has an option for 0.5u increases when nadirs are >300. In other words, I personally wouldn't have increased to 1.5 from 1u since we don't know how low 1u was taking Bodie (remember, lantus is dosed on how low it takes the kitty which generally is not at preshots). It looks like @Wendy&Neko stopped by last time and @tiffmaxee did too - maybe they will stop by again when they are online and can help advise.

Hope that helps a little bit :bighug: Hugs to you and Bodie :cat:
 
Even with SLGS it’s advised that you get the AMPS and PMPS plus one other test each cycle. As Susanne mentions a +2-3 is helpful to predict if there’s a chance there could be a bigger drop later in the cycle. If it’s lower than the preshot, especially at night, I would suggest setting an alarm for a test mid cycle. That’s the only way to see if he’s going lower and Lantus is dosed based upon the nadir, lowest point in the cycles.
 
thank you everyone! we are starting the tests +2-3 tonight. It's been hard with work schedule but my husband is going to help me. He has climbed expontentially over the past week, and I don't know why!! Does this happen sometimes? Is Lantus not working anymore? I suppose I'll make a vet appt but he's acting just fine. and honestly my vet seems to be "off" a lot on her suggestions as to what to do compared with the info I get here... which of course I trust
 
Back
Top