06/03 bailey uk leaving him overnight for the first time in 2 years

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...nking-more-if-bg-is-good.138272/#post-1426128

its ridiculous I know but tomorrow im leaving the most presious thing in my life overnight.....for the first time in over 2 years!
ive got my bestest friend ever whos been in baileys life from day one looking after him. she actually used to stay with him while I went on holiday for a week but that was b4 he was diagnosed!

so bless her after endless amounts of 'training' testing, shooting, numbers (her brains addled) shes ready ..................BUT I AM NOT!!! I hate it.im worried sick! its crazy but his numbers are so all over the place and nose dive aat any point. I know how to deal with it. she doesn't. ive just said if ur worried give him him yoghurt and the old saying.........its better to be high for a day than low for a minute!!

also what an I use in the shringe as a bench mark for her to go on. ive said il leave a shringe in the fridge to show her where on another needle the insulin needs to be.x
 
Is she just doing the PM and then AM shots and then you're home?

If it's just those 2 shots, I think he'd be totally fine if you just had her shoot 3U (and since that's "on the line" it'll be easier for her to see)

You could pull up a "sample" syringe using any type of colored fluid (coffee, tea, grape juice or just water with coloring in it) for her to compare against

He actually looks like he could stand to go back to 3.5 when you're home again.
 
I know it's hard and I have a live in partner who knows what to do. I think using the colored liquid in the sample syringe is a good idea, that way they won't get mixed up.
 
Have fun Anna - Bailey will be fine. :bighug: Your friend is an angel.

I like the idea of the coloured liquid in a syringe. And I like Chris's idea of the increase when you get back. He's been too long away from normal numbers.
 
yeah that - 3.0 and an increase when you get back.

and have a great time. Unless Bailey doesn't eat while you're gone, i don't think your friend is likely to see low numbers. I hope you can relax and enjoy evey minute off without worrying about bailey.
 
You need this time away, anna, so please try to relax and enjoy the freedom it'll give you. I'm sure your bff will take really good care of your precious baby.
 
I thought I posted this earlier, but don't see it. I got invited to a conference with my job, and the first thing I did was call the hotel where the conference is being held and ask if they accepted pets. They take dogs up to 50 pounds, but no cats! I am still going to the conference, but not staying in the same hotel. Found another one close by that allows cat, and the lady I spoke to was so friendly and understanding about the situation.
 
How fantastic that you get to go do something! and your bestest friend is so generous to help. Sounds like everything should be great....it's a short departure and she's testing and shooting.... a rare thing for substitues.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top