06/01 Jax PMPS 166, +2 118

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Nick&Jax, Jun 1, 2024.

  1. Nick&Jax

    Nick&Jax Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2024
    A few days ago:
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...dl-3-64-mg-dl-5-85-mg-dl.290597/#post-3183511

    Good afternoon. Per my last post above, I had lowered Jax’s dose to 1.5u. His numbers have been looking pretty good. Tonight’s PMPS was 166. Based off of the past few days I made the decision to shoot 1.5u. I just wanted a second opinion now that I’ve gotten some data collected. Am I moving too fast? And or should I have not shot tonight since he was at 166? I was planning on getting a +1 or +2 to see what happens. Just want to make sure I’m
    Doing this correctly and not moving too fast. Thank you! Hope everyone is having a great weekend!
     
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    It's good that you shot the 166. With SLGS, you can shoot any number over 90 - especially if you can monitor. Lantus/Glargine is very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot low.
    166 is within meter variance of 177 which you shot a couple of days back. It's possible he might bounce from the greens he saw this morning.
     
    Nick&Jax likes this.
  3. Nick&Jax

    Nick&Jax Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2024

    Thank you! That’s exactly what I was hoping for. Just still trying to get used to the SLGS method.
    And what does bounce mean again? I’ve seen talk of that on here but not sure what that means. As in he would bounce back down into the greens? Or the other way around?
     
  4. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    The other way around. Newly diagnosed diabetic cats are used to spending time in higher numbers, so a drop to lower numbers causes their bodies to react to them.

    "Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". Usually, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles). "
     
    Nick&Jax likes this.
  5. Nick&Jax

    Nick&Jax Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2024

    Oh I see. That makes complete sense now. Thank you for all the information. I know I could have googled that but I trust answers on here more than google.
    Is there anything that should be done differently when that happens? Or just continue with the usual dosing and monitoring?
     
    Staci & Ivy and Bandit's Mom like this.
  6. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Sharp drops in BG also contribute to bouncing. We suggest feeding snacks in the first part of the cycle - every hour or two - to flatten the curve. Some people feed at +2 and +4. Some at +1, +2 and +4 etc. ECID. Once you get a sense of your cat's patterns, you know when he tends to drop and when you need to intervene with food. A timed auto-feeder helps!

    Using Food to Manipulate the Curve
     
    Staci & Ivy and Nick&Jax like this.
  7. Nick&Jax

    Nick&Jax Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2024

    That is all great information. Thank you very much!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.

Share This Page