05/26 Henry AMPS 84 +5.5 82 PMPS 79 +3.5 81 +5.5 90

Golf2015

Member Since 2020
I revised my (1) unit measurement from 0.055" to 0.052" (Remarks column on spreadsheet explain little more detail)


0.055" = 1.397mm or ~ 1.40mm

0.052" = 1.321mm or ~ 1.32mm

Raised dose slightly - 0.004", which = 0.10mm (PMPS 05/21/2022)

Also might add the U100 Syringe (by Ultimed) markings for units have actually shifted as a group as much as 1/4 (0.25) units, so having said that you could have given a preshot of either a 1/4 less or 1/4 more units which can complicate one's efforts to have a consistent dose which will lead to a inconsistent analysis of your Cat's BG reading. I use my calipers to measure where the plunger bottoms out inside the syringe (WHICH IS VISIBLE TO THE NAKED EYE) as the ZERO POINT.

I have emailed Ultimed





Previous Thread
 
Last edited:
20220526_180918.jpg
20220526_180938.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20220526_180918.jpg
    20220526_180918.jpg
    32.7 KB · Views: 113
  • 20220526_180938.jpg
    20220526_180938.jpg
    27.9 KB · Views: 120
The sticky on Dosing with calipers has the 1U mm for Ulticare VetRx at 1.25mm. So this is much lower than the 1.40mm which you have calculated.
That's why I have emailed Ultimed to confirm what that actual measurement for (1) unit

I revised my (1) unit down to 0.052" (1.32mm) starting PMPS 05/21/2022

Now to give some concept of size with respect to 0.003937" (0.1mm) this is equivalent to the thickness of a post-it-note

Below is a sheet of printer paper measuring 0.0043" which is 0.109mm

The question is 1.25mm really the actual unit measurement representing (1) unit on the U100

When I first measured a U100 24 months ago it measured 0.055' but I noticed over time the markings on U100 have shifted as a group

So that's why I use Dial Calipers and measure from where the plunger bottoms out inside the syringe. So I really have totally ignored the markings because of the variance of the markings. Using the Dial Calipers I always will get the correct dose relative to the measurement on the calipers (NOT THE MARKINGS ON SYRINGE)

20220526_230842.jpg
20220526_230833.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20220526_230842.jpg
    20220526_230842.jpg
    23.2 KB · Views: 92
  • 20220526_230833.jpg
    20220526_230833.jpg
    17.4 KB · Views: 103
Last edited:
What you could try to do is measure 10U (from the 0 mark on the syringe to the 10U mark) with the callipers and then divide by 10 to see what you get? Ideally, this should be the same across syringes.
 
What you could try to do is measure 10U (from the 0 mark on the syringe to the 10U mark) with the callipers and then divide by 10 to see what you get? Ideally, this should be the same across syringes.
Only if the manufacturing facility maintains a high quality of tolerances on their syringes otherwise it's meaningless
 
Last edited:
Ultimed replied in an email stating they cannot give out the amount of travel (distance) required for (1) unit
 
I used this syringe for today's PMPS preshot as you can see the plunger is not aligned with the zero mark it is roughly a 1/4 unit shy

The plunger is at bottom

The Dial Calipers I use still allowed for the correct dosage

YES that plunger is at BOTTOM, NO GAMES



20220527_174022.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20220527_174022.jpg
    20220527_174022.jpg
    26.4 KB · Views: 100
I used this syringe for today's PMPS preshot as you can see the plunger is not aligned with the zero mark it is roughly a 1/4 unit shy

The plunger is at bottom
Yes. I know what you mean. I use CarePoint Vet and I'm lucky if 3 of 10 syringes aligns. That is why we use callipers to dose, because the bottom of the plunger does not align with the zero mark when fully pressed.

How did you arrive at your mm for 1U if not by measuring the mm for 10U or 30U from 0 and dividing by number of units?

Here's a photo I have taken of faulty syringes. The one on the left is off by 0.5U!

syringe error.jpg
 

Attachments

  • syringe error.jpg
    syringe error.jpg
    33.8 KB · Views: 212
Yes. I know what you mean. I use CarePoint Vet and I'm lucky if 3 of 10 syringes aligns. That is why we use calipers to dose, because the bottom of the plunger does not align with the zero mark when fully pressed.

How did you arrive at your mm for 1U if not by measuring the mm for 10U or 30U from 0 and dividing by number of units?

Here's a photo I have taken of faulty syringes. The one on the left is off by 0.5U!

View attachment 64374

Bhooma,

I measured all (30) units travel (distance) and the result was 1.615" total travel

Per (1) unit measure would be 1.615" divided by 30 = 0.0538" (per unit travel)

Converted to (MM) 0.0538 * 25.4 = 1.367mm

Who knows whether this is correct

I suppose one could cut in half a syringe and measure the Inside Diameter of the syringe and divide the diameter by (2) which would be the radius

Volume would be calculated by (Height - (travel distance) times Radius squared times pie (3.1416)

Then one would have to find how the result of this number relates to the volume of (1) unit of Insulin

Having said that I think 0.0538" or 1.367mm per unit might be slightly high

So I would not recommend those who read this link not to take the current calculation (1.367mm) as the actual unit of travel for (1) of travel on the syringe
 
I measured all (30) units travel (distance) and the result was 1.615" total travel

Per (1) unit measure would be 1.615" divided by 30 = 0.0538" (per unit travel)
Thanks Robert. Were you, by any chance, able to check this for more than one syringe to see if the mm/inches for 30U were the same across syringes?

I suppose one could cut in half a syringe and measure the Inside Diameter of the syringe and divide the diameter by (2) which would be the radius

Volume would be calculated by (Height - (travel distance) times Radius squared times pie (3.1416)
This would be way too much work! :-)
 
Bhooma,

I measured all (30) units travel (distance) and the result was 1.615" total travel

Per (1) unit measure would be 1.615" divided by 30 = 0.0538" (per unit travel)

Converted to (MM) 0.0538 * 25.4 = 1.367mm

Who knows whether this is correct

I suppose one could cut in half a syringe and measure the Inside Diameter of the syringe and divide the diameter by (2) which would be the radius

Volume would be calculated by (Height - (travel distance) times Radius squared times pie (3.1416)

Then one would have to find how the result of this number relates to the volume of (1) unit of Insulin

Having said that I think 0.0538" or 1.367mm per unit might be slightly high

So I would not recommend those who read this link not to take the current calculation (1.367mm) as the actual unit of travel for (1) of travel on the syringe

No I checked just (1) syringe.

You are correct it would appropriate to check several syringes and established an average dimension which would be more accurate to establish the (1) unit of travel
 
Back
Top