Re: 05/25 Boomer AMPS 15.1
one thing you can always do, judy, is leave low carb canned food out when you go to bed, especially if you're at all concerned that he might go low. He's moving slowly now - that was only 15 points in the past hour.
For tomorrow . . . it's always so hard when you have to go to work. The reason Dyana is suggesting a test before +12 when you would ordinarily give his shot is that it will allow you to see if he's rising between then and the preshot test, or if he's dropping. even 1/2 hr will help tell.
what would it take to persuade your husband to do some testing?
some people manage things on their own, but it takes some creativity.
Sienne has moved her shot time so that she can get a +2 before she has to leave for work. That's a good strategy.
When you have low numbers, your first tool is food - that's our first tactic if there are low numbers. So sometimes people feed the cat at regular intervals while they are gone to work.
Many people get a timed feeder, which will open at times that you have set. we used the PetSafe 5 Compartment Timed feeder (available on Amazon, or i got mine at the local PetCo) - it has several handy features. You can choose the times you want set and there are 4 covered compartments, so the food tray can rotate and open 4 times. I tried it with punkin while we were home to make sure he would eat from it when it opened. It is very loud when it rotates and it first he was very startled by it, but he soon figured out that there would be FOOD in it! The main complaint on Amazon is that it doesn't open fully, but we found that if you always replaced the food tray in the base and then pressed a button to manually rotate it, that would let you know it's fully seated. As long as it is fully in the base unit, ours always opened.
If your husband is home during the day, perhaps he could be the timed feeder until you can get one! ;-) you could have him give a couple of teaspoons of low carb canned food every half hour from +3 until he's past his nadir. We don't really know what Boomer's patterns are yet. It's important to figure out when Boomer's nadir (low point) typically is, but you need a few more days to see that. It can change too. What would be ideal is if your husband would do some testing. I got my husband to hold punkin for me at first while i tested, then eventually he gave it a try. Before long, he was a full partner in it and i was able to have a little bit more normal of a life! I hope you can convince your husband to try.
Punkin had food from the timed feeder at +3 every day, and if his preshot was low, I also set it to open at +3.5, +4 and +4.5. Then either my husband or i ran home at lunch, checked him, fed him if needed, and reset the feeder with more food in it. sometimes we put high carb food in the feeder too. It was a crazy way to do it and took my entire 30 minutes lunch time, but that's what we did.
Some people make "catsickles" out of low carb canned food. Mix the food with some water and freeze in either ice cube trays or muffin tins, then store in a ziplock bag. Leave some out when you go to work - the larger ones will take longer to thaw than the smaller ones, so a combination of both might help. This is also another one that you'll want to try when you are home. If a cat will eat it immediately in spite of being frozen, that's not going to help, so you need to know that Boomer will wait and eat it when it thaws.
If you're confronted with a low number in the morning at preshot, you can post here - Dyana said that she's shooting at the same time as you and she usually checks in for people who need help before she goes to work. If you need help, put something asking for help in your subject line "should I shoot?" or "help" or something like that. There are guidelines in the
Shooting & Handling Low Numbers on what to do when faced with a low preshot number if no one is available to help you.
Keep in mind that you can always skip a shot or give a partial dose if you are really unnerved at shot time. Boomer's looking great right now and I'd hate to lose his good momentum, but keeping him safe is the first priority.